$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fat cat
Business
Formby Nr Southport, England
Jan 14, 2014

Brilliant stop over

We had stayed at Palomar hotels before so knew what to expect and weren't disappointed in any way. The staff were brilliant nothing was too much trouble,room lovely and location was great with plenty of excellent restaurants close by ,the best of which is the hotel one,The Stables ,where the food is fantastic and staff very knowledgable,brunch is a great experience but for evenings book in advance if you want the restaurant but otherwise you can eat the same food in the fun,busy bar, We would definitely use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Every morning there is a lovely variety of free coffee,tea and wonderful hot chocolate available in the hotel lobby and at 5-6pm a fab gathering for guests with free wine and nibbles provided.This is a great chance to chat to fellow travellers while enjoying a few glasses of excellent wine.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Perfect for couples
Business
Midwest
Dec 3, 2013

Wonderful experience!

This hotel gets a top rating in all categories! The location, price and amenities can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Batigoals16
Business
Caribbean
Oct 17, 2013

Great location, in the heart of Chicago

Overall, the hotel is in a great location, with fantastic restaurants and shopping on your doorstep. The rooms are a little noisy in terms of traffic noise (sirens in particular), the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. We definitely recommend the Palomar hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamiLyn
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Very nice for the price!

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel, with few exceptions. We weren't notified that it would cost an additional $58.00 per 24 hours for valet parking if we brought our car. Other than that it was a great hotel with wonderful staff and a great location in downtown Chicago. There was a small piece of garbage left in one of the closets and the belt loop on the robe in the closet was broken, which I thought was a little off considering this is a very pricey hotel. Considering I saved $100-$150 on the luxury sweet by booking with the booking company, I can't complain too much. It was really a great value for the money I spent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's is amazing! Delicious, inexpensive, and a staple of every trip we make to Chicago!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jays getaway
Business
Chicago, il
Sep 1, 2013

Romantic getaway

This was just a nice night out. Super nice hotel room for a great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Godaveygo
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 1, 2013

Last night in Chicago

The staff were great and very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Would have made for a great extended stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many El train options in just a couple of blocks.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 26, 2013

Pricey but good

We enjoyed our stay at the Palomar - great staff, great location. It's pricey and we've had much nicer rooms for less $. There's a pool (no spa), a small outdoor sun deck, a work out room. Free coffee in the lobby in the morning and a wine hour (5-6) in the afternoon. Lots of great places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Purple Pig on Mag Mile!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicagogirl from Texas
Business
Texas
Jun 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel

The Palomar was an excellent hotel! Great location, in fact, it is perfect location to mass transit (across the street), on the route for free trolley to Navy pier (comes by every 15 minutes), in the heart of downtown. Really enjoyed the 5 pm wine tasting and wonderful coffee in the morning. We loved everything about the hotel and now fans of Kimpton Hotels! My advise is to STAY at the Palomar. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Navy Pier is a happening place day and night, from the live music to the fire works on Wed and Saturday night, Navy Pier, the stain glass museum, the rides, the boat rides are amazing!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDSSSS
Business
Phila
May 2, 2013

Overall excellent

Hotel is clean, rooms are spacious. Overall a good value, but a bit out of the way depending upon which business district you are operating in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MAB1
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Apr 1, 2013

Excellent location

Pros: hotel is located in River North, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping; clean and well maintained; excellent water pressure; indoor heated pool for kids; Cons: beds are extremely uncomfortable; only 2 elevators; pool area not well maintained, no towels available despite calling front desk; front desk agent promised to place the "goldfish on loan" in our room for our 6 year old, not delivered; there were no appetizers in the lobby during supposed happy hour;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over to Xoco and Slurping Turtle

Back to menu Return to top