$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laura L.
Friends
Philadelphia
Aug 4, 2014

Wonderful hotel, Perfect Location

This hotel had everything - it was perfectly situated in the River North area - close to great restaurants, shopping, bars, next to the Gold Coast, a short walk to the Navy Pier, beach, etc. We were upgraded to a suite - the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was great (large shower and jet tub). The staff was so friendly and the hotel restaurant/bar was great. We spend a lot of time there! Would definitely go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sable was wonderful - great food, impeccable drinks, friendly staff. Highly recommend

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D. Clark
Friends
Florida
Jul 9, 2014

Just perfect

We only stayed one night. The room was great. The location was within walking distance to everything as long as the ladies in your party weren't in uncomfortable shoes. Just a pleasent experience with great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling family from MN
Family
Minnesota
Jul 9, 2014

Great hotel

It's very rare even in high rated hotels is that the room immaculate; temperature control perfect; beds, towels, and linens smooth and plush. We were delighted with this hotel, and would definitely stay here again. Great location, too. Only downside was noise during the night, but it is a big city. There was wine in the afternoon and coffee in the morning. We also ate at the restaurant next door and it was great, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sable was great. There is also an Italian restaurant, Quarntino, nearby that the staff recommended. We really enjoyed it, too, and ate there twice!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jake1317
Couples
lansing mi
Jul 7, 2014

Great hotel and staff

Great room and friendly staff. Could not be happier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stef from Chicago
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jul 3, 2014

Near perfect place, great value

This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The staff is beyond friendly and the location can't be beat. Rooms are very nice and the pet-friendly option was much appreciated, as we stayed here because our Chicago condo got flooded and we needed to vacate the whole family for five days. :) No fees for dogs or anything. Really a nice and rare feature. The Sable bar downstairs is super swanky and delicious. I'll be recommending this place to all out-of-town guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Sable bar has very exotic drinks and the food is delicious. We had the pea shoot and asparagus salad, which was completely bizarre and delicious. Short rib sliders were rich and delectable, and the sausage flatbread has some really interesting flavors. Amazing all around!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveVacations123
Couples
New York, NY
Jun 5, 2014

Long weekend getaway

Great location!!! Modern hotel with comfortable bed and great stuff. Enjoyed staying at the hotel. As an extra plus they serve wine every evening from 5 to 6 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark traveller
Family
Miami, FL, USA
May 27, 2014

Excellent Staty

Great Location, excellent Service (Excellent!!). I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing Dining all around.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChicagoanAtHeart
Business
NYC
Apr 29, 2014

10 out of 10

Staff was so courteous and genuinely helpful. They welcomed us, including our energetic puppy, warmly. Brandon @ the front desk, was professional and just all around wonderful. Great boutique hotel in a terrific location. Without hesitation, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glazed and Infused crème brulee donuts are sinfully delicious. A must try! It's a short walk on N. State St., so don't miss out.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sank72
Business
Mexico
Apr 29, 2014

Ideal location

Easy access to anywhere in downtown. Staff was feiendly, attentive, nice peiople. Roof top is a great view of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaurant....worth it

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
decent stay
Couples
Chicago
Mar 31, 2014

Great location

Close to everything and reasonable rate. Rooms very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top