$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
1,092 reviews
Perfect in everyway.

Was really impressed with staff very friendly. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. Restaurants... See full review

  • Bev the explorer.
  • Jul 10, 2014
weekend getaway

best hotel ever. nice facilities, location, and service See full review

  • ScarlettSun
  • Jul 10, 2014
Step into the lobby of Palmer House® A Hilton hotel and gaze at the famous frescoed ceiling of this landmark Chicago, Illinois hotel. This AAA four-diamond rated hotel has been hosting visitors to the Chicago Loop for over 140 years. Today, the Palmer House Hilton continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. A short walk away is Grant Park where summer festivals take place. Family attractions like the Chicago Children’s Museum and Navy Pier are just a quick cab ride away.Enjoy comfort and elegance in your Guest room or suite at this Chicago hotel. Amenities include flat-screen TVs and wireless internet access. Elegant suites feature abundant space with comfortable seating and wet bar areas, creating an ideal setting for entertaining. On the Executive Level you can enjoy private check-in, complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby, is open throughout the day serving contemporary American cuisine. Small plates and classic cocktails are served in Potters Lounge. Balance Spa features 14 treatment rooms including hydrotherapy services for the ultimate pampering. The fitness center offers over 10,000 sq. ft. of cardio and free weight equipment, an indoor pool, whirlpool, and saun

Hotel Map

41.8801 -87.6269
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.16, MI, NE; Gary RegionalAirport, (GYY), 25.00, MI, SE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1092)

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
1092 out of 1092
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Akron
Mar 18, 2010

Be warned.

If you are booking this hotel because of the free valet parking, don't do it.[...]The room itself was ok, if small, but the light-switch in the bathroom was smashed and had exposed wires (great for in a bathroom, eh?). Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Problem solver
Business
Indy
Jun 4, 2010

Grab the cash hotel

Unfortunately, htisw is the typrical big city "grab the cash" experience. Valet parking was an undisclosed, and unbelievable, $51.00 per day. Yes,I could have asked, but did not. My bad. Then I upgraded to the executive floor, that still required $14.95 per day for internet access. Check-out time was grudgingly moved one hour to noon. All in all, just too much focus on the cash. I'll find another hotel next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 27, 2010

Are you kidding me?

No roomserviceNo 24 hour sundriesNo mini barHow is this a 4 star hotel on [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Brunswick
Aug 25, 2008

Pool and gym

Amenities included pool, gym, fitness center... There was no pool and the Hilton no longer owned the gym, so there was an $18 per day charge to use it. I left the hotel and found one one more suitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Aug 9, 2010

Not worth it!

Booked my room more than three months ahead and then they tell me they don't have what I paid for??? So I get a king size bed in a tiny room but they offer me a rollaway bed. However they failed to mention the extra bed was an extra $40 dollars. This hotel is ridiculous. The staff is unfriendly. The rooms are tiny. The furniture and bathrooms are outdated. The best thing I can say is the location was within walking distance to popular attractions. Please, look elsewhere when going to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't eat the hotel!!! SO expensive. The starbucks is awful, and the cafe right outside is really overpriced.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nickvirca
Business
san diego
Apr 25, 2013

tough for business

This was a very frustrating experience...because of poor to non-existent cell phone reception throughout the hotel. I could not do my business without leaving the hotel..missed important calls, etc. As a result, I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Problem solver
Business
Indy
Jun 4, 2010

Grab the cash hotel

Unfortunately, htisw is the typrical big city "grab the cash" experience. Valet parking was an undisclosed, and unbelievable, $51.00 per day. Yes,I could have asked, but did not. My bad. Then I upgraded to the executive floor, that still required $14.95 per day for internet access. Check-out time was grudgingly moved one hour to noon. All in all, just too much focus on the cash. I'll find another hotel next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Aug 9, 2010

Not worth it!

Booked my room more than three months ahead and then they tell me they don't have what I paid for??? So I get a king size bed in a tiny room but they offer me a rollaway bed. However they failed to mention the extra bed was an extra $40 dollars. This hotel is ridiculous. The staff is unfriendly. The rooms are tiny. The furniture and bathrooms are outdated. The best thing I can say is the location was within walking distance to popular attractions. Please, look elsewhere when going to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't eat the hotel!!! SO expensive. The starbucks is awful, and the cafe right outside is really overpriced.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mixed on this one
Kansas City MO
Feb 22, 2010

The tradition changes....

We stay at the Palmer House when we attend conferences in Chicago. It is a stately building. But this year, there were problems we have not had before. First, they now have wi-fi available, but it is not free. The cost is $7.50 per hour. On-line it indicated that Hilton hotels charge about $4, but this was almost double. Many hotels have free wi-fi. Wi-fi is wi-fi, so the level of service is not a factor that could justify this exorbitant cost. They also charge for their fitness center, even when you are only going to use the machines. There is no business center in-house for copies, etc. Our bed was against a wall that separated us from the bathroom in the next room. It did not separate us from the bathroom noises. When someone took a shower (at 5:30 a.m.), the pipes "sung" like old pipes do,but very loudly. An empty wine glass sat outside someone's room door for days without being picked up by housekeeping. The concierge desk had only one person and there was always a line. If you called down, you were put on hold while they dealt with the people in the line. The staff were all very nice, and the location can't be beat, but the luxury prices for normal services felt like a ripoff this year. I doubt we'll return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Feb 21, 2010

The Palmer House Hilton is a rip-off!!

This package which I purchased on [...] was not a deal! The money which I "saved" was forfeited because the Palmer House Hilton charged me $51 a day to park my car! For a three-day stay, that was $153 out of pocket. I was never informed by [...] Palmer House that I'd received this charge until I received my bill the morning of check out. Rediculous considering I had to tip the valet each time I left or arrived at the hotel. And $15 dollars a day to use the internet! I will never use this "hotel" [...] again the future! This is criminal activity in my opinion!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top