$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
709 reviews
Weekend

Great hotel in a great location! Friendly staff and great experience. See full review

  • Keith P.
  • Aug 26, 2015
3 day away trip

I would highly recommend the Palmer. They were very accomadating! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous.... See full review

  • Cindy
  • Aug 21, 2015

Exquisite brass peacock doors welcome guests to The Palmer House Hilton, which is a National Landmark Historical Hotel. The old-world elegance of the lobby belies the modernity of a stay in Chicago's Loop. Guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs and ample space for unwinding and relaxing and pets are also allowed within the building.

Executive suites provide private check-in, elevator service and other perks. Guest rooms are decorated based on different themes, and you can choose the atmosphere you desire. Whether you want a room blending the hip with the historical or one that is convenient, accessible and business-oriented, you can get a room that fits your needs.

Highlights

The Palmer House Hilton is right in the middle of Chicago's financial, business and theater districts. Guests can easily walk to the Willis Tower, Grant Park, Millennium Park, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Art Institute of Chicago. Numerous subway lines located nearby also make getting around Chicago a breeze.

The on-site Lockwood Restaurant and Bar serves three meals daily with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Afternoon tea services in the lobby pay homage to a time gone by, and for a drink in the evenings, guests can head to Potter's Lounge.

A fitness center provides a perfect place for guests to unwind, and the Balance Spa offers massages, pedicures, skin therapy and hair styling. 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
3.3 / 5 1,174 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 272 reviews
★★★
$103
4.1 / 5 542 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.1 / 5 321 reviews
★★★
$179
4.3 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$116
4.0 / 5 301 reviews
★★★
$145
3.2 / 5 304 reviews
★★★
$107
4.0 / 5 557 reviews
★★★★
$146
4.0 / 5 268 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ceil and Friends
Friends
Schuylkill Haven, PA
Sep 16, 2013

Great night in Chicago!

Great location, great service, wonderful lobby bar and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The train from the O'Hare airport to the hotel was a breeze and only $5.00 one way vs a taxi or a shuttle bus. Clean and easy access.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keith P.
Friends
Naperville
Aug 26, 2015

Weekend

Great hotel in a great location! Friendly staff and great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy
Couples
N/A
Aug 21, 2015

3 day away trip

I would highly recommend the Palmer. They were very accomadating! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. I will go there again in the near future!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arie R.
Friends
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

21st Stay

I went with a friend for his 21st birthday! It was fun, the location was okay we were right across from an American Apparel so we did shopping. However we weren't really that close to any bars (which is essential for a night like that). Overall though it was a good experience! Also we couldn't find the wifi or a code for it even though it talked about it a little bit on our room tablet. Either way we both had a good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
richard m.
Couples
Boise
Aug 2, 2015

Fantastic 4th of July Week

We were in town for the week of July 4th 2014. The location was fantastic if you utilize the public transport. 4 stops within a block of each hotel exit. The lobby is fun with a full bar and huge lounge. Grant park is an easy walk. Big Star tacos to the NW at Wicker park is easy access on the red line just steps from the hotel. The story continues wherever you want to go accessing the rail from the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jon J
Business
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Not recommended

My two night stay was not what I expected. I arrived at 1:30 am and had to wait in line for at least 20 minutes while the desk clerk tried to resolve an issue with a family taht was also checking in. I was exhausted and asked the clerk to find someone else who could help me while he took care of the family, but he said there was no one else available. The small room he gave me was next to a very noisy ice machine room, so the next day I asked to be moved. The desk clerk said management wouldn't permit me to move because the hotel was to be full that night. I had to ask for the manager, who agreed to move me, but the room was tiny. And the elevators are a nightmare. I often counted 10 - 15 people waiting on my floor to catch an elevator down, and when it would arrive it couldn't fit all those waiting. The same was true of the elevators ging up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa G.
Couples
Indianapolis
Jul 26, 2015

Loved it!

We always stay at the Palmer House and it never disappoints! The Libby is amazing and the scene is very comfortable and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robyn W.
Couples
Seattle
Jul 17, 2015

Great trip to Chitown

We really enjoyed our stay at the Palmer house. There were a few things that some may consider a little out dated but we thought it added to the charm. This hotel is part of Chicago's history which the main reason we stayed here. Location was awesome for walking to attractions. Would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ALONSO O.
Business
LUTZ
Jul 15, 2015

ACEP 2014

Very small room. Old fashion history hotel, Its ok, just walk in, look at it. but do not stay... VERY TINY ROOMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoAnne M.
Business
N/A
Jul 14, 2015

Business comfort in heart of Loop

Beautiful lobby and well appointed room. Extremely comfortable linens and bed.... slept better than I do at home! Only issues were online pricing. Was originally told only room available was a one double bed room and that I would have to pay $40 per night for a roll away. When I arrived was able to get a room with two double beds for a $25 per night up charge. Wish they would have had that on the web and there would have been less confusion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ MD
Couples
N/A
Jul 13, 2015

Unexpected costs

Overall it was an excellent experience, however it would have been nice to be informed of the parking situation because that was an extra 100 dollars we were not expecting to spend. Also the Palmer offered free wifi in the lobby but there was an additional 13 dollars for in room wifi. Also we checked in early and they charged an additional 25 dollars again not expected. The hotel itself was excellent but the unexpected extra costs were not very good. Recommend that when customers book they are informed of the additional costs up front so you can budget the additional costs. That would have been the difference of staying at the Palmer or not

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top