$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

PUBLIC Chicago

4 stars
1301 N. State Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
great and easy hotel

great energy, historic building near the center of town which was walkable. atmosphere was fantastic. See full review

  • tfp1
  • Mar 7, 2014
valentines couple

awesome, enjoyed it and great location close to everything See full review

  • valentine couple
  • Feb 16, 2014
Stylish accommodations in downtown Chicago

Public Chicago, an Ian Schrager hotel, offers discerning visitors understated glamour, sophisticated setting and deluxe accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. The central location of Public Chicago Hotel makes for an ideal starting point for exploring the shopping and nightlife options along Michigan Avenue, Oak Street and Rush Street. Tourists can frolic on Lake Michigan Beaches or venture to The Magnificent Mile and marvel at the impressive architecture of Wrigley Building, John Hancock Center, Chicago Water Tower and Tribune Tower.

To ensure personalized service and relaxing comfort, Public Chicago features The Living Room, Library & Coffee Bar and Screening Room for in-house socializing, dining and drinking opportunities. The trendy atmosphere of Pump Room Restaurant and Pump Room Bar serves as a backdrop while diners savour sumptuous cuisine based on the food concept by James Beard Award-winning Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Valet parking is available for a fee.
3 Reasons to Stay
  • Chic and contemporary accommodations
  • Near the Loop business district, shopping areas and The Magnificent Mile
  • Pump Room Restaurant and Bar with food concept award-winning chef
Public Chicago Rooms

The 285 spacious rooms and suites are designed with comfort and relaxation in mind and effortlessly combine classic and modern pieces for a soothing environment. All of the units are done in warm color palette and appointed with Frette linens, 42-inch HD TV, complimentary Wi-Fi access, and custom drapery and lighting.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (13 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Things To Do
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (0.7 mi / 1.12 km)
  • Civic Opera House (1.7 mi / 2.72 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.8 mi / 2.88 km)
  • Grant Park (1.9 mi / 3.04 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.9 mi / 3.04 km)
  • The Field Museum (2.8 mi / 4.48 km)
  • United Center (2.9 mi / 4.64 km)
  • Wrigley Field (3.2 mi / 5.12 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (5.3 mi / 8.48 km)
Policies and fees

  • Valet parking fee is $56 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9063 -87.6284
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport - 16 miles. Midway International Airport - 13 Miles.
Area description
Centrally located in the heart of the exclusive Gold Coast at the intersection of Goethe Street and North State Parkway. Within walking distance from the shopping and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile and Michigan Avenue, the nightlife and restaurants on Rush Street, Lincoln Park and the beaches of Lake Michigan. Just a short distance to Millennium Park, museums and cultural centers, and the Loop business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed PUBLIC Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

PUBLIC Chicago Rooms

Standard Queen
Standard Queen room offers 1 Queen Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Standard Queen: 225 sq ft - Classic city view - light and airy - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic handpicked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette Linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
Standard King
Standard King room offers 1 King Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Standard King: 275 sq ft - Classic city view - light and airy - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
Superior Queen
Superior Queen room offers 1 Queen Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Superior Queen: 275-295 sq ft - Classic city view - light and airy - generously scaled - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
Superior King
Superior King room offers 1 King Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Superior King: 300-325 sq ft - Classic city view - generously scaled - light and airy - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
Superior Double
Superior Double room offers 2 double Beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Superior Double: 300-325 sq ft - Classic city view - generously scaled - light and airy - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. One Bedroom Suite: 600-650 sq ft - Classic city view - generously scaled - light and airy - separate living room - many with pull out sofas - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery -55" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Second City: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Macys: 1.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.7 mi
  • State Street: 1.7 mi
  • Opera House: 1.7 mi

Dining

The Pump Room
The new food concept was created by world-renowned and James Beard award winning chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. The restaurant will offer reasonably priced, delicious favorites in a relaxed, comfortable environment. A selection of the original Pump Room classics from 1938 will be re-created by Jean-Georges. He will also support local purveyors, regional flavors and offer a "farm to table" experience as well as a daily special chef's tasting menu of the most unique creations. At night, the restaurant's bar will be transformed into a supper club recapturing the glamor of the 30's and 40's with a modern twist. Offerings will include light tapas style food including Asian, Indian and other global specialties, exotic cocktails, international and domestic bottled and draught beer and great music. Guests can enjoy the Pump Room for Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, after work Happy Hour, Dinner, Late Night Supper and midnight omlettes.
Library
Reminiscent of 1950's American and European coffee houses and French patisseries, The Library houses a coffee bar during the day offering coffee drinks from around the globe (cafe con leche, latte, cappuccino, cafe au lait and more) with La Colombe Coffee's wide variety of traditional and exotic coffees from Brazil, Columbia, Honduras, Mexico, Ethiopia, El Salvador, Sumatra, Tanzania and Rwanda as well as housemade, morning and afternoon baked goods, pastries, sandwiches, sushi, and other specialties by Jean-George Vongerichten. Custom blackened steel coffee tables with custom handmade concrete tops and bleached oak cocktail tables with oil-rubbed bronze bases are perfect for enjoying coffee and a snack or an evening drink and light meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for PUBLIC Chicago

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tfp1
Business
ny, ny
Mar 7, 2014

great and easy hotel

great energy, historic building near the center of town which was walkable. atmosphere was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jan mom of many
Grand Rapids, MI
Mar 3, 2014

Geat family weekend

we had 4 rooms with our group. Three of them were very nice, one was small and cramped. We were very happy with the staff. They went out of their way to help us. The location is a little out of the way but we had no trouble getting cabs to where we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
valentine couple
mn
Feb 16, 2014

valentines couple

awesome, enjoyed it and great location close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DobbsRyan
Minneapolis
Nov 18, 2013

Girls Weekend

Overall we had a good experience at the hotel. If you are up for a bit of a walk and/or using public transportation options it is easy to move around between the Near North neighborhoods and the Miracle Mile for shopping and great dining options. Some minor quirks - the lighting in the rooms and throughout the hotel is pretty dark and shadowy, however the all white rooms are quite bright in the morning sun - tough for sleeping in. Also everything in the hotel from the lounge furniture to the beds to the toilets are very low to the ground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cheryl A.
monte sereno ca
Sep 9, 2013

Minimal is right!

This used to be the beautiful Ambassador East and was renovated. The room was the biggest disappointment! It looks like someone threw an Ikea bed in and walked away! There are no amenities: no bathrobe, no makeup mirror, no conditioner, no bed quilt, no artwork on the plain white walls, no alarm clock, radio! Anyone who likes this place is used to Motel 6! Also, the sink faucet was broken and the towel hook fell off the wall. We were only given 2 bath towels. There is no coffee and the coffee bar in the lobby charged $9.00 for a latte. We will never go back and when the Sutton Place reopens as the Thompson we will head over there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen bunny
Michigan
Sep 3, 2013

Review

Loved everything except our shower was clogged. Location was great and pump room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Corner bakery

Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sbgceg
Florida
Aug 26, 2013

Perfect location!

I was able to walk everywhere and was only a block from the water. I will definitely stay in the "Gold Coast" area again the next time I visit Chicago! Biggest complaint about this room is that it was SMALL. Furniture is also very low to the ground which was a bit strange. King room was perfect for just me, but for two people would have been tight quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to great shopping and restaurants!

Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler 50
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 23, 2013

MIxed

Visually, the hotel is lovely as are the rooms. Very clean. On the negative side: 1. The location is not "really" within walking distance to the city center, Navy Pier, Merchandise Mart etc. Especially if you would be walking in the evening. I was attending an event at Navy Pier which meant a 2+ miles walk or a cab ride. Not a big deal, but still important to know as I was a woman traveling alone. Which meant I did not feel comfortable to walk back to the hotel after dinner. 2. I found the staff (with the exception of the young man at the coffee bar who was delightful) to be pretentious and perhaps a bit too "hip" for the clientele who choose a boutique hotel. I travel a great deal for my work and often stay at Kimptons or when in Chicago at the Amalfi. In my experience, those hotels who identify themselves as Boutique Hotels are extremely friendly and welcoming. NOT my experience here. Granted the weather outside was quite warm and I was not dressed to the nines, but, I did not receive a smile or a welcome back glance from anyone in the three days I was there. 3. The lobby is EXTREMELY NOISY. It is TOO OPEN to utilize any of the spaces to actually have a conversation without raising your voice; let alone talk on the phone or work at the large computer desk. 4. One of the evenings I had decided to eat at the hotel. It was about 8:30 P.M. There was a woman standing at what appeared to be the hostess station at the entrance to The LIbrary/Coffee Bar. I approached her to ask where I could order a light dinner. She had no idea; she was a volunteer! Apparently, there was a fundraiser going on in this area. I then approached to reception desk (there doesn't appear to be a concierge) where I was directed to the dining room which is very dressy...I felt totally out of place as I was under dressed for such a space. I elected to sit at the bar. It was 5 minutes before I was acknowledged.. one bartender even made a number of drinks while standing directly in front of me. I ordered the whole wheat flatbread with spinach, fresh herbs, goat cheese and olive oil. What I received was a round pizza with a somewhat thick crust (burned) with spinach...no herbs unless beet leaves are considered herbs and melted goat cheese ??? with puddles of olive oil. Not at all what I expected. I did have a delicious drink: Ginger margarita and the bartender who did wait on me was attentive and professional. 5. NO coffee maker in the rooms. 6. Signage would be helpful in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna1242
Chicago, IL
Aug 20, 2013

Lovely Room

We stayed here for a weekend, and it was wonderful. Only thing we missed was a pool or some sort of rooftop to hang out in. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rymacmi
Grand Haven, MI
Jul 1, 2013

One Saturday Night

Just a quick trip into the city from Michigan, only stayed one night. The hotel was nicely located and was within walking distance to Michigan Ave, as well as many restaurants in the Gold Coast area. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few block away from Lou Malnati's Pizzeria, Gibson's, Tavern on Rush.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search