$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

PUBLIC Chicago

4 stars
1301 N. State Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
37 reviews
My Favorite Hotel in Chicago

Everything about this hotel is perfect for me as a designer and a business traveler. The staff is... See full review

  • Sultan of Style
  • Nov 28, 2014
Great Hotel

It was my first time in this hotel but I'm sure not the last one. See full review

  • misha2665
  • Sep 11, 2014
Stylish accommodations in downtown Chicago

Public Chicago, an Ian Schrager hotel, offers discerning visitors understated glamour, sophisticated setting and deluxe accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. The central location of Public Chicago Hotel makes for an ideal starting point for exploring the shopping and nightlife options along Michigan Avenue, Oak Street and Rush Street. Tourists can frolic on Lake Michigan Beaches or venture to The Magnificent Mile and marvel at the impressive architecture of Wrigley Building, John Hancock Center, Chicago Water Tower and Tribune Tower.

To ensure personalized service and relaxing comfort, Public Chicago features The Living Room, Library & Coffee Bar and Screening Room for in-house socializing, dining and drinking opportunities. The trendy atmosphere of Pump Room Restaurant and Pump Room Bar serves as a backdrop while diners savour sumptuous cuisine based on the food concept by James Beard Award-winning Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Valet parking is available for a fee.
3 Reasons to Stay
  • Chic and contemporary accommodations
  • Near the Loop business district, shopping areas and The Magnificent Mile
  • Pump Room Restaurant and Bar with food concept award-winning chef
Public Chicago Rooms

The 285 spacious rooms and suites are designed with comfort and relaxation in mind and effortlessly combine classic and modern pieces for a soothing environment. All of the units are done in warm color palette and appointed with Frette linens, 42-inch HD TV, complimentary Wi-Fi access, and custom drapery and lighting.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (13 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Things To Do
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (0.7 mi / 1.12 km)
  • Civic Opera House (1.7 mi / 2.72 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.8 mi / 2.88 km)
  • Grant Park (1.9 mi / 3.04 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.9 mi / 3.04 km)
  • The Field Museum (2.8 mi / 4.48 km)
  • United Center (2.9 mi / 4.64 km)
  • Wrigley Field (3.2 mi / 5.12 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (5.3 mi / 8.48 km)
Policies and fees

  • Valet parking fee is $56 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed PUBLIC Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

PUBLIC Chicago Rooms

Standard Queen
Standard Queen room offers 1 Queen Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Standard Queen: 225 sq ft - Classic city view - light and airy - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic handpicked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette Linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
Standard King
Standard King room offers 1 King Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Standard King: 275 sq ft - Classic city view - light and airy - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
Superior Queen
Superior Queen room offers 1 Queen Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Superior Queen: 275-295 sq ft - Classic city view - light and airy - generously scaled - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
Superior King
Superior King room offers 1 King Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Superior King: 300-325 sq ft - Classic city view - generously scaled - light and airy - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
Superior Double
Superior Double room offers 2 double Beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. Superior Double: 300-325 sq ft - Classic city view - generously scaled - light and airy - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery - 42" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.
One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King Sized Bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, room service, safe in room, telephone and voice mail. One Bedroom Suite: 600-650 sq ft - Classic city view - generously scaled - light and airy - separate living room - many with pull out sofas - soothing monochromatic palette - mix of custom and iconic hand picked pieces of furniture - large work area - custom lighting and drapery -55" LCD high definition TV - Complimentary WiFi - Frette linens - Down comforters and pillows - Bathrooms with bathtubs, custom corian sinks and marble mosaic floors - customized minibar - ipod docking stations - sincere chic.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • History Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Second City: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Macys: 1.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • City Hall: 1.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.7 mi
  • State Street: 1.7 mi
  • Opera House: 1.7 mi

Dining

The Pump Room
The new food concept was created by world-renowned and James Beard award winning chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. The restaurant will offer reasonably priced, delicious favorites in a relaxed, comfortable environment. A selection of the original Pump Room classics from 1938 will be re-created by Jean-Georges. He will also support local purveyors, regional flavors and offer a "farm to table" experience as well as a daily special chef's tasting menu of the most unique creations. At night, the restaurant's bar will be transformed into a supper club recapturing the glamor of the 30's and 40's with a modern twist. Offerings will include light tapas style food including Asian, Indian and other global specialties, exotic cocktails, international and domestic bottled and draught beer and great music. Guests can enjoy the Pump Room for Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, after work Happy Hour, Dinner, Late Night Supper and midnight omlettes.
Library
Reminiscent of 1950's American and European coffee houses and French patisseries, The Library houses a coffee bar during the day offering coffee drinks from around the globe (cafe con leche, latte, cappuccino, cafe au lait and more) with La Colombe Coffee's wide variety of traditional and exotic coffees from Brazil, Columbia, Honduras, Mexico, Ethiopia, El Salvador, Sumatra, Tanzania and Rwanda as well as housemade, morning and afternoon baked goods, pastries, sandwiches, sushi, and other specialties by Jean-George Vongerichten. Custom blackened steel coffee tables with custom handmade concrete tops and bleached oak cocktail tables with oil-rubbed bronze bases are perfect for enjoying coffee and a snack or an evening drink and light meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for PUBLIC Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cheryl A.
Business
monte sereno ca
Sep 9, 2013

Minimal is right!

This used to be the beautiful Ambassador East and was renovated. The room was the biggest disappointment! It looks like someone threw an Ikea bed in and walked away! There are no amenities: no bathrobe, no makeup mirror, no conditioner, no bed quilt, no artwork on the plain white walls, no alarm clock, radio! Anyone who likes this place is used to Motel 6! Also, the sink faucet was broken and the towel hook fell off the wall. We were only given 2 bath towels. There is no coffee and the coffee bar in the lobby charged $9.00 for a latte. We will never go back and when the Sutton Place reopens as the Thompson we will head over there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Feb 21, 2012

Called "Public" for a reason

This hotel has been named perfectly. The "public" spaces are beautiful. They attract mobs of aged hipsters clogging up the public spaces, leaving the "guests" of the hotel to scrounge for somewhere to sit and relax. The below average guest experience begins at the slow elevators, and continues through the dark hallways. The rooms are small. No coffee makers. The faucet leaked all over the floor. Location was great. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
minski5
Business
Chicago
Jan 16, 2012

Try and miss on many levels

The hotel is very hip, urban, and "current". The staff is also young and hip. Unfortunately, it does not translate. We had terrible service from check in. They could not find our reservation. The cocktail waitresses/busboys were awful, unattentive, and vapid. Applying lipstick/chapstick during service? Please refrain. Upon our return to the hotel after dinner, we were questioned about our guest status and had to show a room key to even enter the hotel. I have never stayed somewhere remotely upscale that greets customers for the evening that way. Overall a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Let's see the cubbies
Business
Sheboygan
Aug 16, 2012

Postage Stamp

These guys have the "Online" room figured out. It wraps around the elevator shaft (fun to listen to), has an air conditioner that sounds like a bus in the very small room, and a toilet paper roll so close it keeps your hip comfortable. Shower was clogged too. Very hip and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
por que importa
Business
Toronto
Jan 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel, not so nice staff!!

The staff were not very helpful at all. Even when you asked for help, they didn't provide very much and sent you away quickly. When asked to rent the bicycles we were told no, they didn't have them at the time. Only upon pressing further they gave them to us, but each time with resistance. Also, when entering the hotel the concierge would ask if you needed anything (while sitting down) and was generally rude and short with his response. In addition to this, the hotel is extremely beautiful but it turns into a night club with security and loads of drunkenness on the lower level. I felt invaded because you no longer have access to the bar or anywhere to sit in the lobby area to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler 50
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 23, 2013

MIxed

Visually, the hotel is lovely as are the rooms. Very clean. On the negative side: 1. The location is not "really" within walking distance to the city center, Navy Pier, Merchandise Mart etc. Especially if you would be walking in the evening. I was attending an event at Navy Pier which meant a 2+ miles walk or a cab ride. Not a big deal, but still important to know as I was a woman traveling alone. Which meant I did not feel comfortable to walk back to the hotel after dinner. 2. I found the staff (with the exception of the young man at the coffee bar who was delightful) to be pretentious and perhaps a bit too "hip" for the clientele who choose a boutique hotel. I travel a great deal for my work and often stay at Kimptons or when in Chicago at the Amalfi. In my experience, those hotels who identify themselves as Boutique Hotels are extremely friendly and welcoming. NOT my experience here. Granted the weather outside was quite warm and I was not dressed to the nines, but, I did not receive a smile or a welcome back glance from anyone in the three days I was there. 3. The lobby is EXTREMELY NOISY. It is TOO OPEN to utilize any of the spaces to actually have a conversation without raising your voice; let alone talk on the phone or work at the large computer desk. 4. One of the evenings I had decided to eat at the hotel. It was about 8:30 P.M. There was a woman standing at what appeared to be the hostess station at the entrance to The LIbrary/Coffee Bar. I approached her to ask where I could order a light dinner. She had no idea; she was a volunteer! Apparently, there was a fundraiser going on in this area. I then approached to reception desk (there doesn't appear to be a concierge) where I was directed to the dining room which is very dressy...I felt totally out of place as I was under dressed for such a space. I elected to sit at the bar. It was 5 minutes before I was acknowledged.. one bartender even made a number of drinks while standing directly in front of me. I ordered the whole wheat flatbread with spinach, fresh herbs, goat cheese and olive oil. What I received was a round pizza with a somewhat thick crust (burned) with spinach...no herbs unless beet leaves are considered herbs and melted goat cheese ??? with puddles of olive oil. Not at all what I expected. I did have a delicious drink: Ginger margarita and the bartender who did wait on me was attentive and professional. 5. NO coffee maker in the rooms. 6. Signage would be helpful in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen bunny
Business
Michigan
Sep 3, 2013

Review

Loved everything except our shower was clogged. Location was great and pump room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Corner bakery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DobbsRyan
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 18, 2013

Girls Weekend

Overall we had a good experience at the hotel. If you are up for a bit of a walk and/or using public transportation options it is easy to move around between the Near North neighborhoods and the Miracle Mile for shopping and great dining options. Some minor quirks - the lighting in the rooms and throughout the hotel is pretty dark and shadowy, however the all white rooms are quite bright in the morning sun - tough for sleeping in. Also everything in the hotel from the lounge furniture to the beds to the toilets are very low to the ground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajay76
Business
Glen Ellyn, IL, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Hotel

Great location and the staff are very nice. This hotel is very hopping at night and security was a bit of a pain after coming back at midnight from being out with friends. They made me show my room key (no worries) but after showing I was staying there they made me step back over the rope and walk around which was only 2 feet away!! Other then that the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajay76
Business
Glen Ellyn, IL, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great Hotel

My partner and I stay here everytime we come to Chicago. It is a great hotel and the staff is very friendly. Will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top