$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Ohio House Motel

2 stars
View map of 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
28 reviews
Really good location and FREE parking

The hotel is not on the Magnificent Mile but it is an easy walk to there. The hotel is very... See full review

  • KellieGo
  • Mar 1, 2015
Great place, perfect location !!

Great place in a perfect location and great value had everything could ask for and more definitely... See full review

  • 204 mb
  • Aug 22, 2014
50 room retro motel located in the heart of the River North area of Chicago. Close to Merchandise Mart, Navy Pier, Rock N roll McDonalds, Willis Tower, The Magnificent Mile and much much more!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ohio House Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Ohio House Motel Rooms

STANDARD - 1_STAR
Queen Size Bed Non Smoking.
STANDARD - 1_STAR
King Size Bed.
STANDARD - 1_STAR
Standard room with 2 Double Beds.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

Ohio House Coffee Shop
Located adjacent to the property, we serve our world famous Deuces Wild hot breakfast!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Ohio House Motel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 17, 2011

Unprofessional Unacceptable

I had booked the room for Saturday and Sunday with checkout at noon on Monday. On Sunday morning, I posted the "Do No Disturb" sign on the door. When I came back, the manager had entered my room without my permission, removed all of my personal belongings, and deactivated my card key because he had not checked my itinerary was for 2 days instead of 1. Then the manager blamed [...]as he claimed that the dedicated [...]credit card has been declined. Then he told me to call [...]if I had a problem. Did I EVER give him a piece of my mind on how to provide hospitality services in the future. Also, their WIFI sucked. Connection to my iPhone never lasted long enough to open a single webpage.Furthermore, the bath tub has a draining problem which made the basin fill and retain copious amounts of water during a shower. One time the draining was so slow that there was a risk of overflow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Book elsewhere.

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juano
Business
Michigan
Mar 17, 2014

SPD 2014

You get what you pay for. This is plain ordinary no frills hotel. Room was clean and parking was included. Some staff more friendly than others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelingon2wheels
Business
Akron, OH, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Some rooms are better than others.

There were 4 of us so we had 2 rooms. My friend's room was much nicer than mine because it smelled better and it was cooler in there. The front desk controls the room temp and we had to call them several times to adjust the temperature. The girl at the front desk was nice but clueless. She didn't seem to have any valuable information about the area including where to eat. It is also somewhat noisy. Great price though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the redline (subway)

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kat00
Business
Huntington, NY
Oct 27, 2013

Huge disappointment

Heat and internet are basically nonexistent. My internet was so bad that I couldn't even load Google Maps to make plans for the day. When I complained about this, the staff blamed it on my computer. The heat controls are in the main office, so if you want it hotter or colder you have to call up. The heat automatically shuts off after about 15 minutes, though, and doesn't even give the room enough time to warm up. I had to call the office constantly just to stop from shivering under a blanket. Additionally, I chose this hotel mainly because it came with parking. I wanted to park my car somewhere safe for two days without worrying about moving it while I was exploring the city. When I got to the hotel, there were signs everywhere saying a television crew was requesting an empty lot, and that they've arranged for us to park in the McDonald's lot across the street. But when I parked my car in McDonald's and spoke to the managers, they knew nothing of this "arrangement." I did end up getting reimbursed for parking the following morning, but it was a lot of extra hassle and stress. I spent the day worried I'd get towed or ticketed. All this being said, the room was clean and safe, and within walking distance of major attractions. If you don't care about parking, internet, or heat/ac, then this motel will suit you fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I Like Cheap Deals
Business
Eastern Indiana
Mar 17, 2011

Ohio House Motel

It was in a great location in downtown Chicago! Right in the middle of everything and we could easily walk wherever we wanted to. At the cafe they had the food was good but the servers were pretty terrible. The walls in the hotel were really thin and we could hear people coughing in other rooms and hear the conversations. Also, the person in the adjoining room next to us was trying to break into our room and the maid told us they were doing construction. However the front desk told us that the guy was schizophrenic and they were kicking him out. I've stayed in quite a few hotels and for it's price and location it was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TODROK
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

close to attractions

Good value. free parking so attractions and shopping on Michigan avenue can be accessed without vehicle. Symphony is about 30 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adam R.
Business
Janesville
Apr 29, 2015

great location, uncomfortable stay

great location, good price, uncomfortable room with broken A/C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lin and zeng
Business
Canada
Jan 2, 2014

good to stay in downtown

Just the center of the downtown with this favorable price, nothing can complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 18, 2014

The OHIO in Chicago

I enjoyed my stay. This is a motel in the heart of the City in a good neighborhood 2 blocks from the subway. Free wifi, micro/fridge combo and comfortable bed. Very clean and well kept. Coffee/tea machine in office. The cost was very reasonable for its locale in downtown. Would recommend if you like amenities, but don't need to stay at the major hotels that often charge you for the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mei-hsiu
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Dec 5, 2011

great location with free parking with a caveat (unstable heating system)

We stayed here in Dec and for some reason the heater was not on in our room when we arrived and was turned off next morning which woke us up. Though the staff on duty was very nice and responded promptly but I don't think it should happen in the first place when it was like 30 degree outside. It took like 20 mins for the heating system to function to its full capacity. Overall, it's in a great location with free parking in downtown Chicago. But to walk in or wake up in a room with the heating system off in the winter in Chicago is really not a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top