$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Ohio House Motel

2 stars
600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Great place, perfect location !!

Great place in a perfect location and great value had everything could ask for and more definitely... See full review

  • 204 mb
  • Aug 22, 2014
Super surprised!

Older motel, but VERY clean, staff was incredible, location was prime, and it was extremely... See full review

  • LindsayMichelle
  • Aug 21, 2014
50 room retro motel located in the heart of the River North area of Chicago. Close to Merchandise Mart, Navy Pier, Rock N roll McDonalds, Willis Tower, The Magnificent Mile and much much more!

Hotel Map

41.8924 -87.6327
Area served
Located in the Greater Chicago area in the River North section.
Nearby airports
O'Hare Airport 50 miles
Midway Airport 40 miles.
Area description
We are minutes away from The Magnificent Mile, Willis Tower, John Hancock, and Merchandise Mart buildings!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ohio House Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ohio House Motel Rooms

STANDARD - 1_STAR
Queen Size Bed Non Smoking.
STANDARD - 1_STAR
King Size Bed.
STANDARD - 1_STAR
Standard room with 2 Double Beds.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi

Dining

Ohio House Coffee Shop
Located adjacent to the property, we serve our world famous Deuces Wild hot breakfast!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Ohio House Motel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kat00
Business
Huntington, NY
Oct 27, 2013

Huge disappointment

Heat and internet are basically nonexistent. My internet was so bad that I couldn't even load Google Maps to make plans for the day. When I complained about this, the staff blamed it on my computer. The heat controls are in the main office, so if you want it hotter or colder you have to call up. The heat automatically shuts off after about 15 minutes, though, and doesn't even give the room enough time to warm up. I had to call the office constantly just to stop from shivering under a blanket. Additionally, I chose this hotel mainly because it came with parking. I wanted to park my car somewhere safe for two days without worrying about moving it while I was exploring the city. When I got to the hotel, there were signs everywhere saying a television crew was requesting an empty lot, and that they've arranged for us to park in the McDonald's lot across the street. But when I parked my car in McDonald's and spoke to the managers, they knew nothing of this "arrangement." I did end up getting reimbursed for parking the following morning, but it was a lot of extra hassle and stress. I spent the day worried I'd get towed or ticketed. All this being said, the room was clean and safe, and within walking distance of major attractions. If you don't care about parking, internet, or heat/ac, then this motel will suit you fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jade Kristin
Business
Spokane, WA
Jun 7, 2013

Cute affordable motel in downtown Chicago

This cute little hotel is extremely well located close to the heart of downtown! It's incredibly affordable for where its located! It's around the corner from delicious food, bus stops, shopping & bars! The room was clean & had free parking. We had a blast staying here & being able to walk everywhere. Downsides: weak wifi, dated interiors, smoking rooms & an uncomfortable bed. But I didnt come to downtown Chicago to hang out in a plush hotel room, if i had, i could have easily stayed in a $500+ hotel room. I came to live it up in the city & have somewhere to drop into bed at night. We would totally stay there on our next trip out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tamtam2124
Business
colorado springs co
Apr 9, 2013

chicago trip

The room did not get good access to wifi. Clean and comfy. Nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexisflores21
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 21, 2013

Affordable place to stay if you are on a budget

I took a trip to Chicago to visit the School of the Arts Institute of Chicago. I was looking for a cheap over night place to stay that was still decent. I got that with this Motel. It was within walking distance of downtown Chicago and had several great places to eat. Another great bonus, there's a two story McDonalds in from of the Motel. Unfortunately, I am a vegetarian so the 1$ cheeseburgers did work for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huge McDonalds in front of the Motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelingon2wheels
Business
Akron, OH, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Some rooms are better than others.

There were 4 of us so we had 2 rooms. My friend's room was much nicer than mine because it smelled better and it was cooler in there. The front desk controls the room temp and we had to call them several times to adjust the temperature. The girl at the front desk was nice but clueless. She didn't seem to have any valuable information about the area including where to eat. It is also somewhat noisy. Great price though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the redline (subway)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chas44
Business
Illinois
Mar 8, 2012

Very basic room

For the price this was an OK stay. Acceptable for the price and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buyer
Business
Michigan
Mar 1, 2012

good location

It was a business trip & I wanted to be close to the merchandise mart but not pay too much. This hotel fit the bill. Inexpensive, yet clean. No frills, but location was great for me. It is also right next to the 2 story McDonalds & Portabellas, a good inexpensive place to eat. Also a drug store on the other side of McDonalds in case you forgot anyhing. Free parking is great, but I always make sure I get there eary enough to make sure I get a spot, usually not a problem, but in peak season it is first come first serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street is the Red head piano bar if you want to go out & still be able to walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinajoe
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Great location for shopping & site seeing

We arrived later than we anticipated but our room was nice and warm and awaiting our arrival. Since the hotel is in a perfect location for shopping and sight seeing. The hotel cafe has good food and great prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mei-hsiu
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Dec 5, 2011

great location with free parking with a caveat (unstable heating system)

We stayed here in Dec and for some reason the heater was not on in our room when we arrived and was turned off next morning which woke us up. Though the staff on duty was very nice and responded promptly but I don't think it should happen in the first place when it was like 30 degree outside. It took like 20 mins for the heating system to function to its full capacity. Overall, it's in a great location with free parking in downtown Chicago. But to walk in or wake up in a room with the heating system off in the winter in Chicago is really not a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henry B
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 5, 2011

a motel downtown

I know, it seems kinda odd, but there's this little motel on Ohio Street in the North Loop. From the outside it seemed like a 1960's motel, but inside the room was nice and the bed was great and the price was really good. I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top