$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Ohio House Motel

2 stars
View map of 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ohio House Motel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lin and zeng
Business
Canada
Jan 2, 2014

good to stay in downtown

Just the center of the downtown with this favorable price, nothing can complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents with teen
Business
East moline, illinois
Dec 15, 2013

Great value

We travel a lot to Chicago to visit our son And have stayed at many downtown hotels. The free parking was great, the staff was helpful, and the beds were comfortable. We couldn't control the heat from our room and sometimes felt we were in a sauna. But overall it was a great value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stonebiter
Business
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Dec 11, 2013

basic budget motel

What passes for budget in downtown Chicago! But it was very clean, a bit bleachy smelling. Large room, comfortable bed, desk, chair. A block from a decent blues club, plenty of restaurants. Thin walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kat00
Business
Huntington, NY
Oct 27, 2013

Huge disappointment

Heat and internet are basically nonexistent. My internet was so bad that I couldn't even load Google Maps to make plans for the day. When I complained about this, the staff blamed it on my computer. The heat controls are in the main office, so if you want it hotter or colder you have to call up. The heat automatically shuts off after about 15 minutes, though, and doesn't even give the room enough time to warm up. I had to call the office constantly just to stop from shivering under a blanket. Additionally, I chose this hotel mainly because it came with parking. I wanted to park my car somewhere safe for two days without worrying about moving it while I was exploring the city. When I got to the hotel, there were signs everywhere saying a television crew was requesting an empty lot, and that they've arranged for us to park in the McDonald's lot across the street. But when I parked my car in McDonald's and spoke to the managers, they knew nothing of this "arrangement." I did end up getting reimbursed for parking the following morning, but it was a lot of extra hassle and stress. I spent the day worried I'd get towed or ticketed. All this being said, the room was clean and safe, and within walking distance of major attractions. If you don't care about parking, internet, or heat/ac, then this motel will suit you fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jade Kristin
Business
Spokane, WA
Jun 7, 2013

Cute affordable motel in downtown Chicago

This cute little hotel is extremely well located close to the heart of downtown! It's incredibly affordable for where its located! It's around the corner from delicious food, bus stops, shopping & bars! The room was clean & had free parking. We had a blast staying here & being able to walk everywhere. Downsides: weak wifi, dated interiors, smoking rooms & an uncomfortable bed. But I didnt come to downtown Chicago to hang out in a plush hotel room, if i had, i could have easily stayed in a $500+ hotel room. I came to live it up in the city & have somewhere to drop into bed at night. We would totally stay there on our next trip out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tamtam2124
Business
colorado springs co
Apr 9, 2013

chicago trip

The room did not get good access to wifi. Clean and comfy. Nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexisflores21
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 21, 2013

Affordable place to stay if you are on a budget

I took a trip to Chicago to visit the School of the Arts Institute of Chicago. I was looking for a cheap over night place to stay that was still decent. I got that with this Motel. It was within walking distance of downtown Chicago and had several great places to eat. Another great bonus, there's a two story McDonalds in from of the Motel. Unfortunately, I am a vegetarian so the 1$ cheeseburgers did work for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huge McDonalds in front of the Motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelingon2wheels
Business
Akron, OH, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Some rooms are better than others.

There were 4 of us so we had 2 rooms. My friend's room was much nicer than mine because it smelled better and it was cooler in there. The front desk controls the room temp and we had to call them several times to adjust the temperature. The girl at the front desk was nice but clueless. She didn't seem to have any valuable information about the area including where to eat. It is also somewhat noisy. Great price though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the redline (subway)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chas44
Business
Illinois
Mar 8, 2012

Very basic room

For the price this was an OK stay. Acceptable for the price and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohio House Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buyer
Business
Michigan
Mar 1, 2012

good location

It was a business trip & I wanted to be close to the merchandise mart but not pay too much. This hotel fit the bill. Inexpensive, yet clean. No frills, but location was great for me. It is also right next to the 2 story McDonalds & Portabellas, a good inexpensive place to eat. Also a drug store on the other side of McDonalds in case you forgot anyhing. Free parking is great, but I always make sure I get there eary enough to make sure I get a spot, usually not a problem, but in peak season it is first come first serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street is the Red head piano bar if you want to go out & still be able to walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top