$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
225 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
183 reviews
Very convenient and pleasant

Very nice staff, location couldn't be better. Room a little small but charming and good value. See full review

  • Judyline
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great Location, Room and Staff

This hotel was a great experience. The location is great being near the loop, river, and mag mile.... See full review

  • Jeff Jiff
  • Mar 31, 2014
Sleep with the goldfishes at Chicago hotel with comfort food restaurant

Overlook the river from many of the inspired rooms at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Layers of colorful eye candy in retro-modern style and funky patterns fill this hotel with an urban kick and attentive service. Just steps from luxurious shopping of Michigan Avenue, catch the scent of American regional dishes wafting from on-site South Water Kitchen. Pour a cup of coffee or tea each morning before walking to top Chicago sites. Meet fellow guests over a bold red or crisp white at the evening wine hour at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel.

Highlights
  • On-site dining
  • Complementary morning coffee in the lobby, plus an evening hosted wine reception
  • Up-to-date 24/7 fitness center and in-room spa treatments
  • Pet-friendly rooms or request an in-room goldfish
  • Free shoeshine and morning newspaper
Rooms

Slightly exotic yet sophisticated, the 191 spacious rooms and suites at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel add unexpected touches to appeal to guests' creative sides. All rooms feel upgraded with animal-print bathrobes, plush window seats, Frette linens, Aveda bath amenities, flat-screen TVs, gourmet stocked honor bars and a 24-hour room service menu. Some boast river views to boot. Those traveling with pets find food and water bowls plus an in-room dog bed at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Pet-less guests request a staff-attended-to goldfish for extra in-room company. High-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

For downtown convenience, use the valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply) at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Business folks appreciate a complimentary shoeshine and daily newspaper upon request, while fitness nuts hit the fitness center or jog along the nearby Chicago Riverwalk. Pick up a pass to LA Fitness club one block away to work with personal trainers or take a swim (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and PC computers and printer
  • Flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 300 people

Hotel Map

41.8865 -87.6258
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE; O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes C.O. Bigelow Bath amenities
Tranquility Suite
Tranquility Ste 1K massage roller sound maching 2P whirlpool spa tub 578 sqft
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft
Queen Queen Room
Queen Queen Rm 2Q newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes and C.O. Bigelow Bath
River View King Deluxe Room
River View King Deluxe Rm 1K Newly renovated view of Chicago River
River View Queen Queen Room
River view QN QN rm 2Q newly renovated window seats with Chicago river view
ACCBLE River View 2 QN Roll-in S
Accessible river view QN QN rm 2Q with roll in shower newly renovated
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite new renovated living rm pull out sofa 2P whirlpool spa tub
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Sui
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite living rm pull out sofa 2P spa tub with grab bars
River View Mediterranean Spa Sui
River View Medi Spa 1K window seat with view Chicago River 2P whirlpool newly renovated

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.9 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

South Water Kitchen
Looking for signature Chicago flavor. You need look no further. From a casual cocktail to an unforgettable meal South Water Kitchen satisfies. This local favorite features regional American cuisine a welcoming atmosphere outstanding wine beer and cocktail

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 183
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill Weekend getaway
Aurora,Il
Jul 20, 2014

Beautiful view

We had a river view room and the view was fantastic. Hotel staff very friendly and really enjoyed our afternoon at the sidewalk cafe after checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're dining within 6 blocks or so and it's during rush hour, walk, cab will take forever navigating traffic and the crowds.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meljak
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 10, 2014

Great Hotel in a Great Location

I highly recommend using their complimentary bikes for a gorgeous tour of the Chicago riverfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dude707
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2014

Very Pet Friendly

This is a great downtown hotel for people traveling with pets. The staff were really accommodating with our dog. We were able to take our dog in and out for walks without problem. We were able to leave our dog in the room when crated. They even provided dog bed and water and food bowls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk your dog at the Riverwalk north of Wabash & Wacker. You can get there by walking north on Wabash until you see the stairs before crossing the river. Head East towards the lake. There are grass areas by the river.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff Jiff
Chicago, IL
Mar 31, 2014

Great Location, Room and Staff

This hotel was a great experience. The location is great being near the loop, river, and mag mile. There is always someone on staff to hail a cab, they have free wine from 5-6 each day, and the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midnight Storm
Outside Chicago
Feb 18, 2014

Monaco Hotel

We had a business function downtown and needed to stay the night. I looked at the Monaco Hotel online and it looked very interesting. We arrived at the hotel a bit later than we had anticipated and the wine hour had just ended but the people at the front desk offered to get us a glass to take up to our room. That was very nice but the room was really nice. Decorated beautifully and the layout was also very comfortable. Sometimes, rooms in hotels in down town Chicago have to conform to meet the way the building is laid out. That doesn't always make the room accessible as far as the bathroom to sleeping area is concerned. It appeared the hotel designers took that into consideration by adding a large mirror to one wall so that women can apply makeup and the man can shower without stumbling over each other battling for the restroom. Overall, I was quite please with the hotel experience at the Monaco. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has business in the North Loop area as it is easily accessible as a midpoint between the theater district, Museums, Millennium Park to the South & East and the shopping district, Navy Pier to the North and East. set very close to the Chicago River which is charming anytime of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Min J
New York
Jan 25, 2014

great place to stay

I Spent two nights at this hotel. Had a room with nice river view. Location of the hotel is almost the center of Chicago. If I revisit To Chicago, this hotel would be my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago river!

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobSy
UK
Oct 5, 2013

Chicago Monaco

Great place to stay at a reasonable price with excellent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch 35 an excellent reasonably priced seafood restaurant

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go Fla. Gators
Washington, DC
Sep 8, 2013

Great location, great room

We stayed in the Mediterranean suite with window nooks. Both my wife and I loved the window nooks. Great places to watch the city, great views, and great for curling up with a book. Location was great with easy quick access to metro. We also found close (and cheaper) parking nearby. We would come back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use SpotHero to find cheaper parking in the vicinity. We saved $60 dollars by walking just two blocks.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The queen and the king
Beverly Hills, mi
Apr 21, 2013

24 hours in Chicago

My husband and I spent 24 hours in Chicago to attend a show and we had the best time ever! At Hotel Monaco we felt like queen and king; staff is super nice and attentive to any minimum detail. It was not our first time at hotel Monaco and it won't be our last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to Chicago theatre, MPR restaurant, The Gage restaurant and many more. short walk to magnificent mile for shopping

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff from Cat
Peoria, Illinois
Apr 16, 2013

Winter Market

Enjoyed the German Winter market . Easy walking to restaurants (Billy Goat tavern and House of Blues), Michigan avenue for shopping and Macy's. We enjoyed the wine tasting sponsored by the hotel in their lobby early evening, great way to start the nightlife activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues had excellent food and music

Back to menu Return to top