$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 225 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, Highly Recommend

The Hotel Monaco is a fantastic hotel in a great location. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is... See full review

  • Jason P.
  • Jul 21, 2015
Excellent Hotel

Great location. Amazing staff. Will be staying here again. Not one complaint. See full review

  • Kent E.
  • Mar 1, 2015
Monaco Chicago; A Kimpton Hotel; is just steps from the North Michigan Avenue shopping district as well as the Loop business district. Newly renovated Monaco offers wireless internet; evening wine reception and a central location with sweeping views from signature window seats.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes C.O. Bigelow Bath amenities
Tranquility Suite
Tranquility Ste 1K massage roller sound maching 2P whirlpool spa tub 578 sqft
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft
Queen Queen Room
Queen Queen Rm 2Q newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes and C.O. Bigelow Bath
River View King Deluxe Room
River View King Deluxe Rm 1K Newly renovated view of Chicago River
River View Queen Queen Room
River view QN QN rm 2Q newly renovated window seats with Chicago river view
ACCBLE River View 2 QN Roll-in S
Accessible river view QN QN rm 2Q with roll in shower newly renovated
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite new renovated living rm pull out sofa 2P whirlpool spa tub
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Sui
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite living rm pull out sofa 2P spa tub with grab bars
River View Mediterranean Spa Sui
River View Medi Spa 1K window seat with view Chicago River 2P whirlpool newly renovated

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.9 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

South Water Kitchen
Looking for signature Chicago flavor. You need look no further. From a casual cocktail to an unforgettable meal South Water Kitchen satisfies. This local favorite features regional American cuisine a welcoming atmosphere outstanding wine beer and cocktail

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Golden Valley, MN, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Do not trust the staff or valets

While overall a decent property, the incident I had with this hotel has been like none other in my history of travel. I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco for five nights, checking out on Monday, March 19th. Shortly after leaving the hotel and retrieving my car from the valet, my partner and I noticed a large scrape on the bumper of the car that wasn’t present upon checking in. We had not requested use of the car for the duration of our stay. I called the hotel approximately two hours after checking out and was directed to speak with the garage manager at Park One (their valet company) who stated that he would review video of the car and call me back within 48 hours to verify that the car was unblemished upon arrival, and was scraped upon departure from the garage. The garage manager didn't call back until I had an email exchange with the general manager of the hotel. When he finally got back to me, the garage manager stated that he would file an "incident report" and claim with his insurance company, Travelers, which would eventually deny the claim because garage staff wouldn't admit fault or liability, nor did they supply the video they stated they had of the car entering or exiting the garage, which could have verified that the damage wasn't present upon check-in, but was at check-out. Their insurance representative even told me that the garage does not have surveillance at that location, contradicting the garage manager. In the end, this Kimpton InTouch guest got stuck with a $1,000 bill for parking at this Kimpton property: an almost $500 paint scrape on top of a $48/per day parking fee, rental car expenses, several hours of lost time in dealing with the issue, and one gigantic headache. In the end, do NOT trust the valets or staff at this hotel, and take your business elsewhere if at all possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Wayne, IN
Jul 4, 2011

Not As Nice As It Seems

Well, for a downtown Chicago experience, I was not impressed. I visit once every year, and this year I decided to stay at the Monaco. Bad decision. When I pull into a hotel downtown I expect to be off the road and be greeted instantly. Nope there was no one, I had to find the garage myself and with all the one ways it was very difficult to get to. Then I had to walk around the building outside with all of the luggage, because again no greeting! Get to the room, it was beautiful, but the things they don't list is...EVERYTHING is NOT free. Bathrobes, nope not free. And who likes to drink their coffee when they first wake up? Almost everyone I know. I like to have my coffee then start getting ready for the day. All hotels I've gone to whether it be in Chicago or any other city or state have coffee pots in the room. No..they do offer it free but downstairs to mingle. So I couldnt enjoy each morning because of that. So if anyone is like me with these particular down sides, I suggest a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KEG23
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 17, 2012

Meh

There was nothing out of the ordinary about the hotel. The room was a little small -- the bathroom unimpressive. It was fine and there was nothing wrong with the hotel if you get a good price. The location is decent for theater or north michigan ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
URIRAP
Business
TLV
Oct 31, 2013

Dark

the hotel is in an old building. the smell in the lobby is of an old hotel. The room is too dark and not inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not going to return there
Business
NY
Nov 18, 2013

not great

the bed sagged; the check-in clerk told me that I cannot receive InTouch points if I book online on a travel site. My room was on the 4th floor and looked out over an adjacent roof so I could not open the blinds and I was worried about safety. I think I got a bad room because I booked online. The room was strangely shaped and not very clean. I am never returning to this hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
*
Business
*
Mar 27, 2011

Excl room service, mediocre amenities

Stayed two nights. Parking was $42 per night. Room services was excellent, quick, and tasty. Towels were scratchy and smelled of bleach. Had to join some sort of club to get free wifi. Pillows were terrible. View was nice. Noisy location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greg and Sue
Business
Monticello Illinois
Apr 22, 2009

Romantic weekend

In the past this hotel was top notch. I thought the king room we were to get was to be 330 sq ft. This one sure seemed smaller. First night we had a noisy motor in our mini bar...told management...not sure if someone did anything..kept us up...next day we switched to the room next door. Would have liked an upgrade due to the inconvience. Also the drapes showed some wear. Hotel needs to be checked closely for signs of "aging"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nyctraveler85
Business
New York
Oct 14, 2014

Weekend at kimpton

I was looking forward to a marathon weekend stay at the kimpton. I was disappointed with front desk staff when I had booked two separate reservations ( was unable to add another night to first reservation) and was told I will have to switch rooms the following night ( after the marathon!) because they didn't have the river view available (this river view is more of a construction view- on side of hotel a bit noisey on weekdays if you are seeking a quiet room or are a late sleeper). I changed my second reservation to a Riverview room which was available online- so not sure why I was told it was unavailable. Bathroom wallpaper was in need of repair and bathroom light above shower was out. Good place to stay if you need to be in this area but will seek a more boutique property next time in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Architecture river boat cruise (40 a person) an hour and a half boat ride- great way to see and learn about Chicago buildings.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony
Business
Lonodn
Mar 25, 2011

Great location, good views

We stayed at the Monaco Hotel for one night only, but would highly recommend it! The hotel is in a great location - it is next to some lovely buildings, close to Michigan Avenue and is right next to the waterside. The staff were very friendly. The hotel room was a standard room, but was very clean, big and the bed was very comfortable. We asked for a room on a high floor and we were given just that! The windows were not floor to ceiling and there was quite a deep window sill, so you had to lean quite far forward to get a good view out of the window. The only downside was that the floors were some what creaky, so you could hear the person on the floor above walking around. However, this is not something to stop you staying at the hotel! Overall a nice experience. They offer free wine from 5-6pm and from 9-10am a free coffee, which was a nice touch. We can't comment on the food as we did not have any meals in the hotel. Definitely recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to splash out some cash, try Sixteen at the Trump Towers. It is overpriced, but the food is very nice. A drink at Rebar before hand will give you some nice views (however Sixteen unfortunately lacks and waterside views).

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moby12
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Overnight

Great staff. No complimentary wi-fi. No pool. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's only 2 blocks away.

Back to menu Return to top