$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
225 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
118 reviews
One night stay

We checked in to this hotel after sailing across Lake Michigan. We were upgraded from a king bed... See full review

  • Emily85
  • Aug 5, 2014
Very convenient and pleasant

Very nice staff, location couldn't be better. Room a little small but charming and good value. See full review

  • Judyline
  • Jun 16, 2014
Sleep with the goldfishes at Chicago hotel with comfort food restaurant

Overlook the river from many of the inspired rooms at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Layers of colorful eye candy in retro-modern style and funky patterns fill this hotel with an urban kick and attentive service. Just steps from luxurious shopping of Michigan Avenue, catch the scent of American regional dishes wafting from on-site South Water Kitchen. Pour a cup of coffee or tea each morning before walking to top Chicago sites. Meet fellow guests over a bold red or crisp white at the evening wine hour at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel.

Highlights
  • On-site dining
  • Complementary morning coffee in the lobby, plus an evening hosted wine reception
  • Up-to-date 24/7 fitness center and in-room spa treatments
  • Pet-friendly rooms or request an in-room goldfish
  • Free shoeshine and morning newspaper
Rooms

Slightly exotic yet sophisticated, the 191 spacious rooms and suites at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel add unexpected touches to appeal to guests' creative sides. All rooms feel upgraded with animal-print bathrobes, plush window seats, Frette linens, Aveda bath amenities, flat-screen TVs, gourmet stocked honor bars and a 24-hour room service menu. Some boast river views to boot. Those traveling with pets find food and water bowls plus an in-room dog bed at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Pet-less guests request a staff-attended-to goldfish for extra in-room company. High-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

For downtown convenience, use the valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply) at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Business folks appreciate a complimentary shoeshine and daily newspaper upon request, while fitness nuts hit the fitness center or jog along the nearby Chicago Riverwalk. Pick up a pass to LA Fitness club one block away to work with personal trainers or take a swim (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and PC computers and printer
  • Flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 300 people

Hotel Map

41.8865 -87.6258
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE; O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes C.O. Bigelow Bath amenities
Tranquility Suite
Tranquility Ste 1K massage roller sound maching 2P whirlpool spa tub 578 sqft
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft
Queen Queen Room
Queen Queen Rm 2Q newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes and C.O. Bigelow Bath
River View King Deluxe Room
River View King Deluxe Rm 1K Newly renovated view of Chicago River
River View Queen Queen Room
River view QN QN rm 2Q newly renovated window seats with Chicago river view
ACCBLE River View 2 QN Roll-in S
Accessible river view QN QN rm 2Q with roll in shower newly renovated
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite new renovated living rm pull out sofa 2P whirlpool spa tub
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Sui
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite living rm pull out sofa 2P spa tub with grab bars
River View Mediterranean Spa Sui
River View Medi Spa 1K window seat with view Chicago River 2P whirlpool newly renovated

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.9 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

South Water Kitchen
Looking for signature Chicago flavor. You need look no further. From a casual cocktail to an unforgettable meal South Water Kitchen satisfies. This local favorite features regional American cuisine a welcoming atmosphere outstanding wine beer and cocktail

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Golden Valley, MN, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Do not trust the staff or valets

While overall a decent property, the incident I had with this hotel has been like none other in my history of travel. I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco for five nights, checking out on Monday, March 19th. Shortly after leaving the hotel and retrieving my car from the valet, my partner and I noticed a large scrape on the bumper of the car that wasn’t present upon checking in. We had not requested use of the car for the duration of our stay. I called the hotel approximately two hours after checking out and was directed to speak with the garage manager at Park One (their valet company) who stated that he would review video of the car and call me back within 48 hours to verify that the car was unblemished upon arrival, and was scraped upon departure from the garage. The garage manager didn't call back until I had an email exchange with the general manager of the hotel. When he finally got back to me, the garage manager stated that he would file an "incident report" and claim with his insurance company, Travelers, which would eventually deny the claim because garage staff wouldn't admit fault or liability, nor did they supply the video they stated they had of the car entering or exiting the garage, which could have verified that the damage wasn't present upon check-in, but was at check-out. Their insurance representative even told me that the garage does not have surveillance at that location, contradicting the garage manager. In the end, this Kimpton InTouch guest got stuck with a $1,000 bill for parking at this Kimpton property: an almost $500 paint scrape on top of a $48/per day parking fee, rental car expenses, several hours of lost time in dealing with the issue, and one gigantic headache. In the end, do NOT trust the valets or staff at this hotel, and take your business elsewhere if at all possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Wayne, IN
Jul 4, 2011

Not As Nice As It Seems

Well, for a downtown Chicago experience, I was not impressed. I visit once every year, and this year I decided to stay at the Monaco. Bad decision. When I pull into a hotel downtown I expect to be off the road and be greeted instantly. Nope there was no one, I had to find the garage myself and with all the one ways it was very difficult to get to. Then I had to walk around the building outside with all of the luggage, because again no greeting! Get to the room, it was beautiful, but the things they don't list is...EVERYTHING is NOT free. Bathrobes, nope not free. And who likes to drink their coffee when they first wake up? Almost everyone I know. I like to have my coffee then start getting ready for the day. All hotels I've gone to whether it be in Chicago or any other city or state have coffee pots in the room. No..they do offer it free but downstairs to mingle. So I couldnt enjoy each morning because of that. So if anyone is like me with these particular down sides, I suggest a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KEG23
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 17, 2012

Meh

There was nothing out of the ordinary about the hotel. The room was a little small -- the bathroom unimpressive. It was fine and there was nothing wrong with the hotel if you get a good price. The location is decent for theater or north michigan ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
URIRAP
Business
TLV
Oct 31, 2013

Dark

the hotel is in an old building. the smell in the lobby is of an old hotel. The room is too dark and not inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not going to return there
Business
NY
Nov 18, 2013

not great

the bed sagged; the check-in clerk told me that I cannot receive InTouch points if I book online on a travel site. My room was on the 4th floor and looked out over an adjacent roof so I could not open the blinds and I was worried about safety. I think I got a bad room because I booked online. The room was strangely shaped and not very clean. I am never returning to this hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
*
Business
*
Mar 27, 2011

Excl room service, mediocre amenities

Stayed two nights. Parking was $42 per night. Room services was excellent, quick, and tasty. Towels were scratchy and smelled of bleach. Had to join some sort of club to get free wifi. Pillows were terrible. View was nice. Noisy location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greg and Sue
Business
Monticello Illinois
Apr 22, 2009

Romantic weekend

In the past this hotel was top notch. I thought the king room we were to get was to be 330 sq ft. This one sure seemed smaller. First night we had a noisy motor in our mini bar...told management...not sure if someone did anything..kept us up...next day we switched to the room next door. Would have liked an upgrade due to the inconvience. Also the drapes showed some wear. Hotel needs to be checked closely for signs of "aging"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nyctraveler85
Business
New York
Oct 14, 2014

Weekend at kimpton

I was looking forward to a marathon weekend stay at the kimpton. I was disappointed with front desk staff when I had booked two separate reservations ( was unable to add another night to first reservation) and was told I will have to switch rooms the following night ( after the marathon!) because they didn't have the river view available (this river view is more of a construction view- on side of hotel a bit noisey on weekdays if you are seeking a quiet room or are a late sleeper). I changed my second reservation to a Riverview room which was available online- so not sure why I was told it was unavailable. Bathroom wallpaper was in need of repair and bathroom light above shower was out. Good place to stay if you need to be in this area but will seek a more boutique property next time in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Architecture river boat cruise (40 a person) an hour and a half boat ride- great way to see and learn about Chicago buildings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Retired
Business
Nottingham, NH
Feb 24, 2014

Chicago On The Seen

Centrally located to shopping and entertainment in the Chicago Near North district. Parking is expensive $56/night but City parking is available a few blocks away @ $35. They charge daily @ $50 for incidentals whether you purchased them or not. But I was told they will refund any open balance within a few days after your stay. Service is good and Its very atrractive. Definitely 4 Stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Whole Foods has a fantastic cafe; the food is good, healthy, and reasonably priced on North Ave. North and west of the hotel. A short drive. They even have a free parking garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago suburbs
Dec 18, 2010

Great Location, Great Service

The Hotel was convenient to any Chicago tourist attraction, clean, friendly, and a great price. Only complaint...You can hear the elevated trains throughout the night, so if your a light sleeper, be on notice. only 1 out 5 of us were..Me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

May sure to get Garretts popcorn, 2 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top