$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
225 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
119 reviews
One night stay

We checked in to this hotel after sailing across Lake Michigan. We were upgraded from a king bed... See full review

  • Emily85
  • Aug 5, 2014
Very convenient and pleasant

Very nice staff, location couldn't be better. Room a little small but charming and good value. See full review

  • Judyline
  • Jun 16, 2014
Sleep with the goldfishes at Chicago hotel with comfort food restaurant

Overlook the river from many of the inspired rooms at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Layers of colorful eye candy in retro-modern style and funky patterns fill this hotel with an urban kick and attentive service. Just steps from luxurious shopping of Michigan Avenue, catch the scent of American regional dishes wafting from on-site South Water Kitchen. Pour a cup of coffee or tea each morning before walking to top Chicago sites. Meet fellow guests over a bold red or crisp white at the evening wine hour at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel.

Highlights
  • On-site dining
  • Complementary morning coffee in the lobby, plus an evening hosted wine reception
  • Up-to-date 24/7 fitness center and in-room spa treatments
  • Pet-friendly rooms or request an in-room goldfish
  • Free shoeshine and morning newspaper
Rooms

Slightly exotic yet sophisticated, the 191 spacious rooms and suites at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel add unexpected touches to appeal to guests' creative sides. All rooms feel upgraded with animal-print bathrobes, plush window seats, Frette linens, Aveda bath amenities, flat-screen TVs, gourmet stocked honor bars and a 24-hour room service menu. Some boast river views to boot. Those traveling with pets find food and water bowls plus an in-room dog bed at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Pet-less guests request a staff-attended-to goldfish for extra in-room company. High-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

For downtown convenience, use the valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply) at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Business folks appreciate a complimentary shoeshine and daily newspaper upon request, while fitness nuts hit the fitness center or jog along the nearby Chicago Riverwalk. Pick up a pass to LA Fitness club one block away to work with personal trainers or take a swim (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and PC computers and printer
  • Flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 300 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes C.O. Bigelow Bath amenities
Tranquility Suite
Tranquility Ste 1K massage roller sound maching 2P whirlpool spa tub 578 sqft
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft
Queen Queen Room
Queen Queen Rm 2Q newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes and C.O. Bigelow Bath
River View King Deluxe Room
River View King Deluxe Rm 1K Newly renovated view of Chicago River
River View Queen Queen Room
River view QN QN rm 2Q newly renovated window seats with Chicago river view
ACCBLE River View 2 QN Roll-in S
Accessible river view QN QN rm 2Q with roll in shower newly renovated
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite new renovated living rm pull out sofa 2P whirlpool spa tub
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Sui
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite living rm pull out sofa 2P spa tub with grab bars
River View Mediterranean Spa Sui
River View Medi Spa 1K window seat with view Chicago River 2P whirlpool newly renovated

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.9 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

South Water Kitchen
Looking for signature Chicago flavor. You need look no further. From a casual cocktail to an unforgettable meal South Water Kitchen satisfies. This local favorite features regional American cuisine a welcoming atmosphere outstanding wine beer and cocktail

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony
Business
Lonodn
Mar 25, 2011

Great location, good views

We stayed at the Monaco Hotel for one night only, but would highly recommend it! The hotel is in a great location - it is next to some lovely buildings, close to Michigan Avenue and is right next to the waterside. The staff were very friendly. The hotel room was a standard room, but was very clean, big and the bed was very comfortable. We asked for a room on a high floor and we were given just that! The windows were not floor to ceiling and there was quite a deep window sill, so you had to lean quite far forward to get a good view out of the window. The only downside was that the floors were some what creaky, so you could hear the person on the floor above walking around. However, this is not something to stop you staying at the hotel! Overall a nice experience. They offer free wine from 5-6pm and from 9-10am a free coffee, which was a nice touch. We can't comment on the food as we did not have any meals in the hotel. Definitely recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to splash out some cash, try Sixteen at the Trump Towers. It is overpriced, but the food is very nice. A drink at Rebar before hand will give you some nice views (however Sixteen unfortunately lacks and waterside views).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N. Wisconsin
Mar 18, 2011

Great hotel

Nice room. Friendly and attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dubai, UAE
Mar 18, 2011

great location and great hotel

We had a short stay at the hotel but the arrival was smooth, the room was cozy and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the complimentary wine reception, a delicious dinner and a good sleep. We checked out in the morning since we were going to a function at the Chicago Cultural Center (a 5 min. walk), but the hotel held our luggage and car until we returned. Overall, a very pleasent visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Racine, WI
Mar 15, 2011

Very Satisfied

The hotel was great. It was located about 15 minute walk from the Metra train and a 5 minute walk from the magnificent mile. We went out to eat, ice skating, shopping and out to a few bars. the hotel was very worth the rate we got it for. The room was very trendy and had huge windows and we were supplied with two complementary bath robes. I would definitly stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Mar 14, 2011

Business Trip and Conference

Myself and a colleague stayed at Hotel Monaco for a business seminar, where the conference was held as well as where we stayed for 3 nights. Our room was beautiful, very clean and very modern. All amenities were available, including complimentary ones for things we may have forgotten. We had a great view of the Chicago River from our first room. The staff were very helpful to us, providing directions around town, extras for anything we needed during our stay. The evening wine service in the lobby was a nice touch prior to going out for the evening. Each morning we received a newspaper, and a free coffee and tea service. There was a parking garage and a restaurant on-site, which made it easy and convenient while staying in the city. The valet garage parking made it easy to walk around, without having to worry about on street parking. Even during the conference, held on the 3rd floor of the hotel, was beautifully set up, and the catered food was delicious and health-conscious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue was just around the corner from the hotel. It was a nice walk through the city. I didn't mind walking a distance, but to the Water Tower Plaza was about 12 blocks away. But what a great way to view the city than to walk down Michigan Ave!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
British expat traveller
Business
New York, NY
Mar 14, 2011

Well located fun hotel

Very friendly staff. They were also willing to amend my [...]reservation when I was delayed by a day which most hotels won't. Room was very nice unfortunately no view. Funny animal print bathrobes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for genuine Irish Bars head up to the Wrigley Field Baseball stadium area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Mar 9, 2011

BEST VALUE IN CHICAGO

everything about this hotel.. the robes, the service, the great bed.. are great! cough up the extra 20 bucks for a river view, it comes with a deep set window seat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Grove, IL
Feb 22, 2011

Great romantic getaway

Wonderful! Love the wine reception and the restaurant in the lobby - South Water Market - was excellent. Our only complaint was that the pillows were too hard. I'd have asked for others, but we were only there one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Complimentary wine reception each evening from 5 - 6 PM. Also complimentary Starbucks coffee in lobby each morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abe linkers
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Feb 21, 2011

Magnificent! Felt like home..

This hotel was so sweet and located in the heart of it all. Everyone was super nice and accomodating; coffee is served in lobby till 9am and I just missed it but they made me some anyway. I called 3 days in advance to reserve a goldfish for our room and there it was in a classic fishbowl when we got in. The mini bar was packed full of unique snacks and drinks and a cute stuffed animal version of the goldfish (all available for sale). The giant closets, window with sitting ceil, and super cute furniture, carpet, wallpaper, and setup overall were great. Superior cleanliness; I didnt feel gross like some hotel chains make you feel when you get into their rooms. I also appreciated the live bamboo plant. Sad that we checked in very late and had to leave before the wine party- I bet that would have been over the top wonderful. I will definitely tell my friends to visit and would stay here if I ever come to Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Valet is $42, but there are parking garages around both corners of the hotel that may be cheaper than that. Valet was super nice and fast too though! They also hold your luggage at no charge till at least 2pm after you check out :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CheapChic
Business
Elgin, IL
Feb 4, 2011

Great Loop/Theater District Location

We were seeing a show at the Goodman Theater, and we wanted a place within walking distance. The Monaco was a five-ten minute walk, has a self-parking garage around the corner, has a 7 eleven across the street, is minutes from Michigan Ave, close the El, 24-hr room service and attached restaurant/bar, clean and ECO-friendly (and pet friendly--though we don't have any pets)--it was EVERYTHING we needed for a great night at the theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great self-parking garages all around the hotel to save some bucks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top