$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 225 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 4, 2011

Lovely Boutique Hotel

Especially loved the small, boutique look and feel of the hotel. I traveled with my 13 year-old daughter who adored the hotel and loved the meditation windows. The decor of our room was also stylishly modern which we both enjoyed. South Water Kitchen Restaurant was also very classy with delicious food at moderate prices. We will definitely stay at Hotel Monaco Chicago in the future and consider trying other Kimpton Hotels as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Oriental Ford Theater. We walked there and back in less than 10 minutes.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Wayne, IN
Jul 4, 2011

Not As Nice As It Seems

Well, for a downtown Chicago experience, I was not impressed. I visit once every year, and this year I decided to stay at the Monaco. Bad decision. When I pull into a hotel downtown I expect to be off the road and be greeted instantly. Nope there was no one, I had to find the garage myself and with all the one ways it was very difficult to get to. Then I had to walk around the building outside with all of the luggage, because again no greeting! Get to the room, it was beautiful, but the things they don't list is...EVERYTHING is NOT free. Bathrobes, nope not free. And who likes to drink their coffee when they first wake up? Almost everyone I know. I like to have my coffee then start getting ready for the day. All hotels I've gone to whether it be in Chicago or any other city or state have coffee pots in the room. No..they do offer it free but downstairs to mingle. So I couldnt enjoy each morning because of that. So if anyone is like me with these particular down sides, I suggest a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N Barrrington, IL
Jun 2, 2011

Awesome views at this hotel.....

We only had one night to spend in Chicago but once we saw our room we were wishing we could stay longer! The king size room was so unique with window 'seats' in each of the 4 huge windows overlooking the river....just awesome. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. I found and booked this thru [...](my very first time doing so). The Monaco is my new 'favorite' Chicago hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a car it is very expensive to use the valet service so we found a garage a short distance away and made a deal to park for 24 hrs that was almost half the price the hotel would have charged us.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margaux
Business
Boston
May 31, 2011

Fantastic location, rooms, everything

Great location - couldn't be any better for a first time tourist who wants to see Chicago's highlights. Rooms are pretty funky and modern; very cool window seats with pillows to sit and watch the river or people. Very good staff, pet friendly, great stay - would be back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nana Luisa
Business
Indiana
May 31, 2011

A night at the Monaco

This hotel was lovely. It was located right near the Trump towers in the shopping zone. Everyone was friendly and the room was delightful. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk everywhere - leave the car parked!

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margaux
Business
Boston
May 31, 2011

Fantastic location, rooms, everything

Great location - couldn't be any better for a first time tourist who wants to see Chicago's highlights. Rooms are pretty funky and modern; very cool window seats with pillows to sit and watch the river or people. Very good staff, pet friendly, great stay - would be back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 30, 2011

Very instructive and helpful concierge

Very instructive and helpful concierge. Very good location. Easy airport transfer by using the blue line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammy and Terry Supercouple
Business
Lansing, Mi
May 30, 2011

Perfect for wine lovers!

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Monaco! The location is perfect for anyone looking to explore downtown Chicago. Located within blocks of Macy's, Millennium Park, Michigan Avenue, and The Cultural Center. The hotel caters to wine lovers with a hosted wine reception every evening. The hotel is also pet friendly! The staff was very friendly, and offered suggestions of things to do in the city and even looked up train schedules for us. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The bath robes in the rooms are a nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By staying at this hotel, we didn't need to use public transportation or cabs the entire weekend because of the central location!

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Law Student
Business
Michigan
May 22, 2011

Excellent!

The room was very nice. I really enjoyed how nice the room was decorated. I had the King bed, The size of the room was great. The location of the hotel is the best for seeing great parts of Chicago and convenient for me to get to Loyola University Law School. I have to go back to Chicago in August and I will be staying at the same hotel. Next time I will pay the extra money and get a better view of the city. I had never heard of the hotel[...]. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to eat. I had dinner at the restaurant that was connected to the hotel, which was great because I could charge it to the room and only use my credit card once.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msgriff23
Business
Philly Pa
Apr 25, 2011

Would I stay again......

Would have been nice to have a view of the river instead of a brick wall...but overall a nice hotel... I did like th fact that they let me check in early...Huge plus...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top