$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
225 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
120 reviews
Great Place for Chicago Stay

Wonderful location/stay. Staff was friendly, restaurant was nice, room was spacious and well... See full review

  • Jdickson29
  • Dec 1, 2014
One night stay

We checked in to this hotel after sailing across Lake Michigan. We were upgraded from a king bed... See full review

  • Emily85
  • Aug 5, 2014
Sleep with the goldfishes at Chicago hotel with comfort food restaurant

Overlook the river from many of the inspired rooms at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Layers of colorful eye candy in retro-modern style and funky patterns fill this hotel with an urban kick and attentive service. Just steps from luxurious shopping of Michigan Avenue, catch the scent of American regional dishes wafting from on-site South Water Kitchen. Pour a cup of coffee or tea each morning before walking to top Chicago sites. Meet fellow guests over a bold red or crisp white at the evening wine hour at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel.

Highlights
  • On-site dining
  • Complementary morning coffee in the lobby, plus an evening hosted wine reception
  • Up-to-date 24/7 fitness center and in-room spa treatments
  • Pet-friendly rooms or request an in-room goldfish
  • Free shoeshine and morning newspaper
Rooms

Slightly exotic yet sophisticated, the 191 spacious rooms and suites at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel add unexpected touches to appeal to guests' creative sides. All rooms feel upgraded with animal-print bathrobes, plush window seats, Frette linens, Aveda bath amenities, flat-screen TVs, gourmet stocked honor bars and a 24-hour room service menu. Some boast river views to boot. Those traveling with pets find food and water bowls plus an in-room dog bed at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Pet-less guests request a staff-attended-to goldfish for extra in-room company. High-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

For downtown convenience, use the valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply) at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Business folks appreciate a complimentary shoeshine and daily newspaper upon request, while fitness nuts hit the fitness center or jog along the nearby Chicago Riverwalk. Pick up a pass to LA Fitness club one block away to work with personal trainers or take a swim (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and PC computers and printer
  • Flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 300 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes C.O. Bigelow Bath amenities
Tranquility Suite
Tranquility Ste 1K massage roller sound maching 2P whirlpool spa tub 578 sqft
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft
Queen Queen Room
Queen Queen Rm 2Q newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes and C.O. Bigelow Bath
River View King Deluxe Room
River View King Deluxe Rm 1K Newly renovated view of Chicago River
River View Queen Queen Room
River view QN QN rm 2Q newly renovated window seats with Chicago river view
ACCBLE River View 2 QN Roll-in S
Accessible river view QN QN rm 2Q with roll in shower newly renovated
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite new renovated living rm pull out sofa 2P whirlpool spa tub
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Sui
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite living rm pull out sofa 2P spa tub with grab bars
River View Mediterranean Spa Sui
River View Medi Spa 1K window seat with view Chicago River 2P whirlpool newly renovated

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.9 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

South Water Kitchen
Looking for signature Chicago flavor. You need look no further. From a casual cocktail to an unforgettable meal South Water Kitchen satisfies. This local favorite features regional American cuisine a welcoming atmosphere outstanding wine beer and cocktail

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David1B
Boulder, CO
Jan 14, 2013

Nice hotel, great location

We were in Chicago for a quick weekend, and the Monaco was a great choice. It's in a perfect location -- in the middle of everything -- but feels like a quiet oasis. A very comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alb89detroit
Business
Livonia, MI
Apr 11, 2012

customer service is #1!

I was so impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff! Much better than at it's partner Kimpton hotel on the other side of the river. The bed was so comfortable I almost didn't want to get out of it. The room was very quiet; and we were near an elevator. The bar had wonderful fun drinks! My mother had breakfast at the restaurant and said it was just "okay" but that's easily overlooked. They lent me an iPhone charger since I'd forgotten my own. When they say "we'll be right up", they MEAN IT! Top notch would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We chose this hotel based on it's proximity to the train station so we could easily walk. Just a short walk across the river to the shopping in MI Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Golden Valley, MN, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Do not trust the staff or valets

While overall a decent property, the incident I had with this hotel has been like none other in my history of travel. I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco for five nights, checking out on Monday, March 19th. Shortly after leaving the hotel and retrieving my car from the valet, my partner and I noticed a large scrape on the bumper of the car that wasn’t present upon checking in. We had not requested use of the car for the duration of our stay. I called the hotel approximately two hours after checking out and was directed to speak with the garage manager at Park One (their valet company) who stated that he would review video of the car and call me back within 48 hours to verify that the car was unblemished upon arrival, and was scraped upon departure from the garage. The garage manager didn't call back until I had an email exchange with the general manager of the hotel. When he finally got back to me, the garage manager stated that he would file an "incident report" and claim with his insurance company, Travelers, which would eventually deny the claim because garage staff wouldn't admit fault or liability, nor did they supply the video they stated they had of the car entering or exiting the garage, which could have verified that the damage wasn't present upon check-in, but was at check-out. Their insurance representative even told me that the garage does not have surveillance at that location, contradicting the garage manager. In the end, this Kimpton InTouch guest got stuck with a $1,000 bill for parking at this Kimpton property: an almost $500 paint scrape on top of a $48/per day parking fee, rental car expenses, several hours of lost time in dealing with the issue, and one gigantic headache. In the end, do NOT trust the valets or staff at this hotel, and take your business elsewhere if at all possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason in Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Comfortable and Easy

Our family of three (1-yr old infant) enjoyed our single night stay at Hotel Monaco. The staff was pleasant and attentive. The room was decent sized and felt warm and comfortable. The bed, oh my gosh, was amazing. First, it was an order of magnitude softer and cozier than our bed at home. It was also almost twice the size! That made it easy to romp around on the bed and sleep soundly despite having baby with us. There were a number of small touches that just made us happy to be there. One was the leopard and tiger-print robes (his and hers), hung in the closet with the invitation, "Try these on and let your instincts take over." The playful suggestion put a smile on our face and made the stay more enjoyable overall...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The South Water Cafe is one of our favorite restaurants in the city. We love it for brunch, but it's great for any meal. Attentive staff and cozy atmosphere - also family friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moby12
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Overnight

Great staff. No complimentary wi-fi. No pool. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's only 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill in NH
Business
Salem, NH, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Perfect stay in Chicago

My wife and I just returned from a perfect 3-day stay in Chicago. The Monaco is very clean & comfortable, in a great location and worth every penny. The staff is very helpful, all the recommendations they gave us for dinner/entertainment were perfect, and always walking distance. We didn't take one cab the whole trip! The Trump International is right across the street and beautiful to look at if you have a River view room. I say it's better to have a nice view of it than pay for it, stay at the Monaco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're flying into O'Hare you can save about $50 each way by taking the Blue Line train rather than taking a long taxi ride to the hotel. The train stop at Lake/Clark is about 3 blocks from the hotel, and it's the blue line the whole way so you don't have to switch trains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa - Getaway Queen
Business
NY
Jul 25, 2011

Great Service, ambiance, food!

The Hotel Monaco was the perfect choice for our quick "sisters" getaway to Chicago. Staff was very friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was really, really great and the accomodations were funky/homey. Beds were heaven. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IL
Jul 6, 2011

Location Location Location

No complaints at all! Got a decent price [...] & took the train there so we didn't have to worry about parking. Within walking distance to the Taste of Chicago, parks, sites, shopping, river cruises, and so much more. Short cab rides elsewhere. Delightfully surprised at how clean and beautiful Chicago is! The flowers and landscaping are just amazing and perfectly maintained. The hotel itself was very nice -- clean everywhere, and spacious, but not too big. Just a few steps in and to the elevator and to our room. Reception was pleasant and efficient, and included a wine-tasting. Our room was elegant and roomy, though the decorating scheme was a bit puzzling and gaudy for my taste. Not a problem, though -- furnishings seemed fresh & nothing had a worn-out feel. Enjoyed the chaise longue, good-sized TV, robes, and fully stocked minibar & snacks (with enough room in the frig for a few bottles of our own water). Especially enjoyed the quiet! Our room did face a brick courtyard, but who cares -- we didn't hear any hotel noises or traffic, just some rain one night. Also want to mention the convenient adjoining restaurant, South Water Kitchen -- try it! The bar is cozy and everyone working there seemed happy and friendly. Breakfast was outstanding and our waitress was the best ever -- professional and as sweet as could be. All in all, I would highly recommend the Monaco, especially if you can book early enough to get a special price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk through the nearby Millennium & Grant Parks -- enjoy the fountains, exhibits, & free concerts. Fun to bring a blanket & watch families/kids blowing bubbles & playing ball while listening to a jazz group.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 4, 2011

Lovely Boutique Hotel

Especially loved the small, boutique look and feel of the hotel. I traveled with my 13 year-old daughter who adored the hotel and loved the meditation windows. The decor of our room was also stylishly modern which we both enjoyed. South Water Kitchen Restaurant was also very classy with delicious food at moderate prices. We will definitely stay at Hotel Monaco Chicago in the future and consider trying other Kimpton Hotels as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Oriental Ford Theater. We walked there and back in less than 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Wayne, IN
Jul 4, 2011

Not As Nice As It Seems

Well, for a downtown Chicago experience, I was not impressed. I visit once every year, and this year I decided to stay at the Monaco. Bad decision. When I pull into a hotel downtown I expect to be off the road and be greeted instantly. Nope there was no one, I had to find the garage myself and with all the one ways it was very difficult to get to. Then I had to walk around the building outside with all of the luggage, because again no greeting! Get to the room, it was beautiful, but the things they don't list is...EVERYTHING is NOT free. Bathrobes, nope not free. And who likes to drink their coffee when they first wake up? Almost everyone I know. I like to have my coffee then start getting ready for the day. All hotels I've gone to whether it be in Chicago or any other city or state have coffee pots in the room. No..they do offer it free but downstairs to mingle. So I couldnt enjoy each morning because of that. So if anyone is like me with these particular down sides, I suggest a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N Barrrington, IL
Jun 2, 2011

Awesome views at this hotel.....

We only had one night to spend in Chicago but once we saw our room we were wishing we could stay longer! The king size room was so unique with window 'seats' in each of the 4 huge windows overlooking the river....just awesome. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. I found and booked this thru [...](my very first time doing so). The Monaco is my new 'favorite' Chicago hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a car it is very expensive to use the valet service so we found a garage a short distance away and made a deal to park for 24 hrs that was almost half the price the hotel would have charged us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top