$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
225 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
114 reviews
One night stay

We checked in to this hotel after sailing across Lake Michigan. We were upgraded from a king bed... See full review

  • Emily85
  • Aug 5, 2014
Very convenient and pleasant

Very nice staff, location couldn't be better. Room a little small but charming and good value. See full review

  • Judyline
  • Jun 16, 2014
Sleep with the goldfishes at Chicago hotel with comfort food restaurant

Overlook the river from many of the inspired rooms at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Layers of colorful eye candy in retro-modern style and funky patterns fill this hotel with an urban kick and attentive service. Just steps from luxurious shopping of Michigan Avenue, catch the scent of American regional dishes wafting from on-site South Water Kitchen. Pour a cup of coffee or tea each morning before walking to top Chicago sites. Meet fellow guests over a bold red or crisp white at the evening wine hour at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel.

Highlights
  • On-site dining
  • Complementary morning coffee in the lobby, plus an evening hosted wine reception
  • Up-to-date 24/7 fitness center and in-room spa treatments
  • Pet-friendly rooms or request an in-room goldfish
  • Free shoeshine and morning newspaper
Rooms

Slightly exotic yet sophisticated, the 191 spacious rooms and suites at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel add unexpected touches to appeal to guests' creative sides. All rooms feel upgraded with animal-print bathrobes, plush window seats, Frette linens, Aveda bath amenities, flat-screen TVs, gourmet stocked honor bars and a 24-hour room service menu. Some boast river views to boot. Those traveling with pets find food and water bowls plus an in-room dog bed at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Pet-less guests request a staff-attended-to goldfish for extra in-room company. High-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).

Features

For downtown convenience, use the valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply) at the Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Business folks appreciate a complimentary shoeshine and daily newspaper upon request, while fitness nuts hit the fitness center or jog along the nearby Chicago Riverwalk. Pick up a pass to LA Fitness club one block away to work with personal trainers or take a swim (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and PC computers and printer
  • Flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 300 people

Hotel Map

41.8865 -87.6258
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE; O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes C.O. Bigelow Bath amenities
Tranquility Suite
Tranquility Ste 1K massage roller sound maching 2P whirlpool spa tub 578 sqft
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 1K newly renovated 332 sqft
Queen Queen Room
Queen Queen Rm 2Q newly renovated 332 sqft bathrobes and C.O. Bigelow Bath
River View King Deluxe Room
River View King Deluxe Rm 1K Newly renovated view of Chicago River
River View Queen Queen Room
River view QN QN rm 2Q newly renovated window seats with Chicago river view
ACCBLE River View 2 QN Roll-in S
Accessible river view QN QN rm 2Q with roll in shower newly renovated
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite new renovated living rm pull out sofa 2P whirlpool spa tub
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Sui
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite living rm pull out sofa 2P spa tub with grab bars
River View Mediterranean Spa Sui
River View Medi Spa 1K window seat with view Chicago River 2P whirlpool newly renovated

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.9 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi

Dining

South Water Kitchen
Looking for signature Chicago flavor. You need look no further. From a casual cocktail to an unforgettable meal South Water Kitchen satisfies. This local favorite features regional American cuisine a welcoming atmosphere outstanding wine beer and cocktail

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomington, IL
Jul 6, 2011

Location Location Location

No complaints at all! Got a decent price [...] & took the train there so we didn't have to worry about parking. Within walking distance to the Taste of Chicago, parks, sites, shopping, river cruises, and so much more. Short cab rides elsewhere. Delightfully surprised at how clean and beautiful Chicago is! The flowers and landscaping are just amazing and perfectly maintained. The hotel itself was very nice -- clean everywhere, and spacious, but not too big. Just a few steps in and to the elevator and to our room. Reception was pleasant and efficient, and included a wine-tasting. Our room was elegant and roomy, though the decorating scheme was a bit puzzling and gaudy for my taste. Not a problem, though -- furnishings seemed fresh & nothing had a worn-out feel. Enjoyed the chaise longue, good-sized TV, robes, and fully stocked minibar & snacks (with enough room in the frig for a few bottles of our own water). Especially enjoyed the quiet! Our room did face a brick courtyard, but who cares -- we didn't hear any hotel noises or traffic, just some rain one night. Also want to mention the convenient adjoining restaurant, South Water Kitchen -- try it! The bar is cozy and everyone working there seemed happy and friendly. Breakfast was outstanding and our waitress was the best ever -- professional and as sweet as could be. All in all, I would highly recommend the Monaco, especially if you can book early enough to get a special price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk through the nearby Millennium & Grant Parks -- enjoy the fountains, exhibits, & free concerts. Fun to bring a blanket & watch families/kids blowing bubbles & playing ball while listening to a jazz group.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 4, 2011

Lovely Boutique Hotel

Especially loved the small, boutique look and feel of the hotel. I traveled with my 13 year-old daughter who adored the hotel and loved the meditation windows. The decor of our room was also stylishly modern which we both enjoyed. South Water Kitchen Restaurant was also very classy with delicious food at moderate prices. We will definitely stay at Hotel Monaco Chicago in the future and consider trying other Kimpton Hotels as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Oriental Ford Theater. We walked there and back in less than 10 minutes.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Wayne, IN
Jul 4, 2011

Not As Nice As It Seems

Well, for a downtown Chicago experience, I was not impressed. I visit once every year, and this year I decided to stay at the Monaco. Bad decision. When I pull into a hotel downtown I expect to be off the road and be greeted instantly. Nope there was no one, I had to find the garage myself and with all the one ways it was very difficult to get to. Then I had to walk around the building outside with all of the luggage, because again no greeting! Get to the room, it was beautiful, but the things they don't list is...EVERYTHING is NOT free. Bathrobes, nope not free. And who likes to drink their coffee when they first wake up? Almost everyone I know. I like to have my coffee then start getting ready for the day. All hotels I've gone to whether it be in Chicago or any other city or state have coffee pots in the room. No..they do offer it free but downstairs to mingle. So I couldnt enjoy each morning because of that. So if anyone is like me with these particular down sides, I suggest a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
N Barrrington, IL
Jun 2, 2011

Awesome views at this hotel.....

We only had one night to spend in Chicago but once we saw our room we were wishing we could stay longer! The king size room was so unique with window 'seats' in each of the 4 huge windows overlooking the river....just awesome. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. I found and booked this thru [...](my very first time doing so). The Monaco is my new 'favorite' Chicago hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a car it is very expensive to use the valet service so we found a garage a short distance away and made a deal to park for 24 hrs that was almost half the price the hotel would have charged us.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margaux
Boston
May 31, 2011

Fantastic location, rooms, everything

Great location - couldn't be any better for a first time tourist who wants to see Chicago's highlights. Rooms are pretty funky and modern; very cool window seats with pillows to sit and watch the river or people. Very good staff, pet friendly, great stay - would be back in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nana Luisa
Indiana
May 31, 2011

A night at the Monaco

This hotel was lovely. It was located right near the Trump towers in the shopping zone. Everyone was friendly and the room was delightful. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk everywhere - leave the car parked!

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 30, 2011

Very instructive and helpful concierge

Very instructive and helpful concierge. Very good location. Easy airport transfer by using the blue line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammy and Terry Supercouple
Lansing, Mi
May 30, 2011

Perfect for wine lovers!

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Monaco! The location is perfect for anyone looking to explore downtown Chicago. Located within blocks of Macy's, Millennium Park, Michigan Avenue, and The Cultural Center. The hotel caters to wine lovers with a hosted wine reception every evening. The hotel is also pet friendly! The staff was very friendly, and offered suggestions of things to do in the city and even looked up train schedules for us. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The bath robes in the rooms are a nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By staying at this hotel, we didn't need to use public transportation or cabs the entire weekend because of the central location!

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Law Student
Michigan
May 22, 2011

Excellent!

The room was very nice. I really enjoyed how nice the room was decorated. I had the King bed, The size of the room was great. The location of the hotel is the best for seeing great parts of Chicago and convenient for me to get to Loyola University Law School. I have to go back to Chicago in August and I will be staying at the same hotel. Next time I will pay the extra money and get a better view of the city. I had never heard of the hotel[...]. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to eat. I had dinner at the restaurant that was connected to the hotel, which was great because I could charge it to the room and only use my credit card once.

Review of Monaco Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msgriff23
Philly Pa
Apr 25, 2011

Would I stay again......

Would have been nice to have a view of the river instead of a brick wall...but overall a nice hotel... I did like th fact that they let me check in early...Huge plus...:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search