$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

4 stars
163 Walton Place, 163 Walston Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
219 reviews
Millenium Knickerbocker

We stayed during the thanksgivig break and were really impressed by the hospitality of the staff... See full review

  • Meg the lady.
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great Hotel

We took a group of friends here and we were very pleased. The staff was very helpful and nice. The... See full review

  • Cbt89
  • Sep 2, 2014
Chicago hotel on Magnificent Mile with hip martini bar and restaurant
In 1927, notable architects Rissman & Hirschfield, responsible for many highlights on the Chicago skyline, finished a 14-story, gothic-inspired hotel that is now known as the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Newly-redesigned guest rooms with spa-style bathrooms entice guests to stay at this classic gateway to the Magnificent Mile. Historical architecture charms while the prime location of the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel allows for a short walk to business meetings in the Loop, famed Chicago attractions and Michigan Avenue shopping.
Highlights
  • M Bar serves more than 50 martinis and wines, plus light fare with live entertainment
  • On-site restaurant
  • Historic Magnificent Mile hotel with newly-designed rooms
  • Saturday night Dinner Detective Mystery Show (fees apply)

Rooms

After a complete redesign, the 306 guest rooms and suites at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel show off their new look and enhanced comfort with Sealy pillow-top bedding, Frette linens, down comforters and plush pillows. A quiet, toned down neutral scheme receives a punch of cranberry for style. Slip into the terrycloth robe and slippers, pull the blackout shades and raid the stocked mini-bar or unwind in front of the 40-inch flat-screen TV at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Bathrooms gleam with spa-inspired design and a rain shower. Connect to high-speed wireless Internet at will (fees apply).

Features

Guests start the day at NiX restaurant, a white-tablecloth bistro that serves breakfast and lunch at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. After dark, pop into M Bar for a signature martini and live music. Nearly every Saturday night, the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel hosts the Dinner Detective Murder Mystery, a top Chicago murder mystery event and dinner show. The hotel also offers in-room spa treatments, a palatial ballroom with gold domed ceiling and valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.4 mi/29.6 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile (across the street)
  • Millennium Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (2 mi/3 km)
  • Willis Tower (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • McCormick Place (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 18,500 square feet across 16 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite 1 King Bed
Superior Room amenities plus sitting area: sleeper sofa (queen-size), lounge chair, work desk and a second flat-screen TV. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Standard King
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, unable to accommodate rollaway
Standard Plus Corner 2 Doubles
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Plus Corner 1 King Bed
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Room 2 Double Beds
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Superior Room 1 King Bed
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Suite 1 King Bed
Two room Suite separated by sliding door: living room with lounge chair, sleeper sofa (queen), executive work desk and second flat screen TV. Air-jet bathtub plus rainshower. Twice daily maid service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

Martini Bar
Relax and unwind in the hotel's martini bar while enjoying sounds of live Jazz piano and enjoying one of our 50 varieties of Martinis.Lively conversation and creative libations are sure to help ease the stress of a long day. Tues thru Sat 1700 to 2200 hrs
NiX Restaurant
NiX Bistro offers a relaxing ambience/creative cuisine in an intimate setting.The menu features artfully presented cuisine that showcases the talens of the hotel's culinary team.Offering a daily breakfast buffet,gourment salads,sandwiches,classic entees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 219
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jwspurs
Business
West Midlands
Jul 30, 2014

Excellent location

Good location just off Magnificent Mile for shopping, with Macy's and Bloomingdales a short walk away. Only criticism for me and what I would ask to see is for wifi to be included in rooms and not restricted to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicagan for a day
Business
denver colorado
Jun 16, 2014

chicago girls trip

Stayed here with my mom for one night in the big city. Front desk clerk Simeon a little put out when I did not realize room name was under my first and middle name, but after this was cleared up was friendly enough. Cannot print boarding pass in room. Also had to wait 20 min in cab line and valet almost put me in one that was not an actual cab just someone that pulled up and said I'm with uber cab...we all know that's not how uber cab works I declined ride but could have been a unsafe situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago architecture river boat cruise is not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
father2014
Business
chicago, il
Apr 20, 2014

high price / low value

very small room, tripped over luggage. very noisy ac/ vent unit. stiff price for valet 65 per night garages at 14-15 per night doorman intrusive, wouldnt help after learning we werent valeting the car. sheets and floor of room dirty. no pool, no spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoosier Sue
Business
Greenfield, IN
Mar 28, 2014

Great Bargain for location

This hotel was just a couple of blocks from great shopping - including Water Tower Place - and restaurants. Our room was small and faced the neighboring hotel (read, view of brick wall), but the linens were nice, the mattresses were comfortable and the rain shower was terrific. There was no concierge on duty during our stay, but the desk clerk looked up a doughnut shop for us and gave us directions. All in all, a great play to stay for the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had afternoon tea at the Palm Court in the Drake Hotel right across the street. It was lovely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AB World Traveler
Business
St Paul, MN
Mar 6, 2014

Great overnight stay

Everyone treated us really well. Love the valet person Charlie he was GREAT! The only problem I had was valet not explaining the first night it takes 10 mins to get the car and the front desk not tell me that they have a great restaurant for breakfast in the morning. Other than that I loved the hotel. Nice and quiet. Thanks, Alicia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago shopper
Business
Jersey side, England
Oct 26, 2013

Shopping in Chicago!

This was my first visit to Chicago - I loved it! The hotel was perfectly located right at the start of the magnificent mile. The beds were soo comfy. You get complimentary tea & coffee. The only thing was that this was laid out for 2 when there were 4 of us sharing a 4 occupancy room. The room was very spacious. The view out the window wasn't great but that wasn't a problem as we didn't stay in the room during the day. Chicagoans take pride in their city - it's clean and tidy. They are also lovely people. In the main there is respect and order between cars and pedestrians and although this is a major city, there is a calm on the streets unlike the hustle and bustle of city's like London or New York. There are plenty of places to eat as well as shop - as my mum said - I shopped until the rest of my family dropped! It was my birthday whilst there and we celebrated at the Cheesecake Factory - cheesecake as not experienced before - s'mores or peanut butter to just name 2 - oh decisions decisions!!! The city is lovely enhanced by the architecture. The river tours are definitely a must and well recommended to get a great view and understanding of the history from knowledgable guides. The view from John Hancock building was absolutely fabulous. The Chicago skyline is beautiful and the lake - Amazing - like looking out to sea. There are beggars on the streets but you find them anywhere in any country. If you go to water tower place there are sales assistants on stalls pushing mostly hand products - just be careful and don't make the mistake that I did - if you're not prepared to engage with them and seriously consider purchasing their products - don't accept the free offer of a sample! I had the feeling of absolute safety. In the evenings police officers are out and around on the streets. For travelling around, the alternative to walking is also to use the transport system which includes the bus and the El (elevated train). For $33 I got a travel card which also doubles as a MasterCard debit card (US use only) and unlimited 1 weeks use - and for those of you who are "while you were sleeping" fans there is the joy of visiting warbash street and Randolph/warbash el station to reenact all those scenes! I would love to go back again. Chicago is definitely a must City to add to your list of places to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saver sleuth
Business
New Jersey
Sep 4, 2013

Hotel has a humidity and ventiliation problem

We stayed 2 nights in a suite. There is no inroom dining even though a screen in the room's touch screen display suggests there is. Also, room and common areas have a horrible damp smell to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn travelers
Business
Brooklyn
Aug 24, 2013

Nice hotel

Good staff, good location, clean rooms. Close to Magnificent Mile and John Hancock tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice italian deli at the base of the Hancock Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aguirre weekend
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 6, 2013

Great family weekend!

It was my second time staying at this hotel. First time with co-workers and had a great experience! Everyone was welcoming. Rooms were clean, i did not feel the need to get my disenfecting wipes out before getting comfortable. Of course the price was a little bit more than i would have liked to pay but it was a great location and hello?..it is chicago! The next morning we walked down michigan avenue and left our bags in luggage hold! Highly recommmed valet parking, it was nice not to worry about finding a parking space!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel personnel help u get a taxi and they have very convinient valet parking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kjordan26
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 8, 2013

Dirty, small & not for kids!

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect! Close to the beach and the Magnificent Mile and many restaurants. Room was not the cleanest, mold in shower. Room was very small for price. For a family that was staying 7 days we had no microwave, no place to put drinks, refridgerator was full of alcholic beverages (I don't drink due to small children) of all types that were extremely over priced. Nothing at the hotel was reasonably priced a can of soda was $3.75 (12oz). Food was insanely priced. We were out in the city most of the time which was great due to the extremely small size of the room!!! Not enough room for 4 ppl with a suitcase each, we were piled on each other. NOT A 4 STAR hotel by any means! I would say 2.5 at best. The city was Perfect I recommend Gus's, Potbelly's, and anywhere on the Mile but not the hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, Navy Pier, the Cloud

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top