$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

4 stars
163 Walton Place, 163 Walston Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
261 reviews
Great locaton an friendlly staff

I was very pleased with the Knickerbocker. At the north end of Michigan Ave and just a block off... See full review

  • Beth8056
  • Jun 14, 2014
Excellent!

I used orbucks for this reservation. It's really an outstanding hotel. The location is just on the... See full review

  • Ivy Love Travel
  • Mar 31, 2014
Chicago hotel on Magnificent Mile with hip martini bar and restaurant
In 1927, notable architects Rissman & Hirschfield, responsible for many highlights on the Chicago skyline, finished a 14-story, gothic-inspired hotel that is now known as the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Newly-redesigned guest rooms with spa-style bathrooms entice guests to stay at this classic gateway to the Magnificent Mile. Historical architecture charms while the prime location of the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel allows for a short walk to business meetings in the Loop, famed Chicago attractions and Michigan Avenue shopping.
Highlights
  • M Bar serves more than 50 martinis and wines, plus light fare with live entertainment
  • On-site restaurant
  • Historic Magnificent Mile hotel with newly-designed rooms
  • Saturday night Dinner Detective Mystery Show (fees apply)

Rooms

After a complete redesign, the 306 guest rooms and suites at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel show off their new look and enhanced comfort with Sealy pillow-top bedding, Frette linens, down comforters and plush pillows. A quiet, toned down neutral scheme receives a punch of cranberry for style. Slip into the terrycloth robe and slippers, pull the blackout shades and raid the stocked mini-bar or unwind in front of the 40-inch flat-screen TV at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Bathrooms gleam with spa-inspired design and a rain shower. Connect to high-speed wireless Internet at will (fees apply).

Features

Guests start the day at NiX restaurant, a white-tablecloth bistro that serves breakfast and lunch at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. After dark, pop into M Bar for a signature martini and live music. Nearly every Saturday night, the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel hosts the Dinner Detective Murder Mystery, a top Chicago murder mystery event and dinner show. The hotel also offers in-room spa treatments, a palatial ballroom with gold domed ceiling and valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.4 mi/29.6 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile (across the street)
  • Millennium Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (2 mi/3 km)
  • Willis Tower (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • McCormick Place (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 18,500 square feet across 16 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people

Hotel Map

41.9 -87.6232
Nearby airports
Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE; O'hare Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, 100 feet to N Michigan Ave- two blocks to beach and Water Tower

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite 1 King Bed
Superior Room amenities plus sitting area: sleeper sofa (queen-size), lounge chair, work desk and a second flat-screen TV. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Standard King
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, unable to accommodate rollaway
Standard Plus Corner 2 Doubles
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Plus Corner 1 King Bed
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Room 2 Double Beds
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Superior Room 1 King Bed
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Suite 1 King Bed
Two room Suite separated by sliding door: living room with lounge chair, sleeper sofa (queen), executive work desk and second flat screen TV. Air-jet bathtub plus rainshower. Twice daily maid service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

Martini Bar
Relax and unwind in the hotel's martini bar while enjoying sounds of live Jazz piano and enjoying one of our 50 varieties of Martinis.Lively conversation and creative libations are sure to help ease the stress of a long day. Tues thru Sat 1700 to 2200 hrs
NiX Restaurant
NiX Bistro offers a relaxing ambience/creative cuisine in an intimate setting.The menu features artfully presented cuisine that showcases the talens of the hotel's culinary team.Offering a daily breakfast buffet,gourment salads,sandwiches,classic entees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 261
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cobypayton
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 24, 2014

Weekend in Chicago

Fantastic time at this hotel. Close to the mile and many other attractions. Hotel has an "old-school" charm to it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Milnati's has great deep dish pizza.

Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
City traveller386
boston
Jul 8, 2014

downtown chicago visit

I found the staff to be very unfriendly. Would not go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vmelvin
Peoria, il
Jul 7, 2014

Liked it

Room was nice, a little cramped with a king size bed. The rain shower head was nice. It is located near the end of the mile so a bit of a hike to different activities. Overall a good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newlyengaged
Dallas, TX
Jun 17, 2014

Pretty good hotel with a great location

Overall the stay was great: the room was nice, there was a bus stop practically right in front of the hotel, and the location was close to many of the popular sites such as the Hancock observatory. However, the staff was a little dismissive, and one bellman was openly upset that I didn't tip him. I'm sorry man, but when I don't have any cash on me to tip you, your job responsibilities don't disappear. You have a paycheck to make it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beth8056
Indianapolis
Jun 14, 2014

Great locaton an friendlly staff

I was very pleased with the Knickerbocker. At the north end of Michigan Ave and just a block off the beach, I was able to do everything I'd planned from this location. There was a small issue with my reservation, but the staff handled it very well and All was made right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No till gardner
Virginia's Allegheny Highlands
May 2, 2014

Beautiful stay April 27 to May 1 2014

This pristine piece of overlooked Chicago history is not to be missed. Our choice was based on consistently high ratings from several websites. After treveling 600+ miles via sleeper car train from the east coast, we were not disappointed during our stay late April to May 1, 2014 to celebrate our wedding annivarsary. A short $12 cab ride from Union Station took us to the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel, a small property that makes up for that by virture of an excellent location, its management's attention to detail and staff expertise. The 1800s hotel surpasses what others boast in size and has been incredibly modernized beyond the level expected of a 21st century hotel. We stayed four nights on the third floor facing Walton Place. The nights were amazingly quiet and restful. No free WI-FI except on the floors just below us, so we had no complaint. The bathroom was well equipped. Functonality of the surprisingly high-efficiency fixtures and equipment was excellent and well appreciated. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bed, room and carpet were exceptionally clean. The Samsung flat-screen TV and refrigerator mini-bar were nice touches. The expert staff was highly cooperative and knowlegeable in giving us personal and thoughtful assistance in our mass transit rides to the Wright home/studio in Oak Grove, Shedd Aquarium, zoo, Buddy Guy Legends, stained glass museum and recoomdations for many other fine (and free) destinations. We departed mornings daily via the nearby CTA bus stops after enjoying breaskfast in one of the nearby Starbucks or Bloomingdales place. This week's weather was kind of dreary so we weren't inclined to take advantage of the 96th floor view from the John Hancock center, only a block away. Maybe next time! Highly recommended hotel. A real pleasure for a change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Berghoff on Adams near State is a fantastic German restaurant and has a nice bar as well.

Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1 Stephen from ATL
Atlanta
Feb 27, 2014

Good place, convenient location

Good location, room was a bit small, even though I paid a $10 more for a "bigger" room. The things keeping this from being a 4 star rating or higher in my book are: 1. The shower is very narrow and the lever to turn the water on or off is all the way at the back, you have to be fully in the shower to reach this lever, and you will have to be drenched with cold water as soon as you turn the water on. 2. The mini-fridge is stocked FULL of things they want you to take, and I had to take stuff out to put my own food and beverages out. I understand the importance of providing us with food and drink in the fridge, but it was literally full when I opened it. 3. I think one of the maids broke my bottle of liquor which was in the mini fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor from texas 26
Texas
Feb 18, 2014

Great Location

Came to Chicago for a getaway. The staff were very helpful when looking for restaurants and getting in with out a reservation... The only negative was the dirty glasses outside some of the hotel doors that took 3 days to be removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caminowalker
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 20, 2014

A good place to stay.

My wife and I were well pleased with our stay at the Knickerbocker. the staff is well trained and prepared for every situation. The hotel has great history and shares that with regular planned tours. The location is excellent and the rooms are well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caminowalker
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 19, 2014

A great stay

We were in the city for a sports event. The millennium Knickerbocker gave us a great base of operations for the sport event and experiencing the city. As well tHe hotel provided a good home for us to return to after a busy day in the city. The staff is wheel prepared to provide all of the services one might need. This's is a great Chicago hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top