$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

4 stars
163 Walton Place, 163 Walston Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
258 reviews
Great locaton an friendlly staff

I was very pleased with the Knickerbocker. At the north end of Michigan Ave and just a block off... See full review

  • Beth8056
  • Jun 14, 2014
Excellent!

I used orbucks for this reservation. It's really an outstanding hotel. The location is just on the... See full review

  • Ivy Love Travel
  • Mar 31, 2014
Chicago hotel on Magnificent Mile with hip martini bar and restaurant
In 1927, notable architects Rissman & Hirschfield, responsible for many highlights on the Chicago skyline, finished a 14-story, gothic-inspired hotel that is now known as the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Newly-redesigned guest rooms with spa-style bathrooms entice guests to stay at this classic gateway to the Magnificent Mile. Historical architecture charms while the prime location of the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel allows for a short walk to business meetings in the Loop, famed Chicago attractions and Michigan Avenue shopping.
Highlights
  • M Bar serves more than 50 martinis and wines, plus light fare with live entertainment
  • On-site restaurant
  • Historic Magnificent Mile hotel with newly-designed rooms
  • Saturday night Dinner Detective Mystery Show (fees apply)

Rooms

After a complete redesign, the 306 guest rooms and suites at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel show off their new look and enhanced comfort with Sealy pillow-top bedding, Frette linens, down comforters and plush pillows. A quiet, toned down neutral scheme receives a punch of cranberry for style. Slip into the terrycloth robe and slippers, pull the blackout shades and raid the stocked mini-bar or unwind in front of the 40-inch flat-screen TV at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Bathrooms gleam with spa-inspired design and a rain shower. Connect to high-speed wireless Internet at will (fees apply).

Features

Guests start the day at NiX restaurant, a white-tablecloth bistro that serves breakfast and lunch at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. After dark, pop into M Bar for a signature martini and live music. Nearly every Saturday night, the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel hosts the Dinner Detective Murder Mystery, a top Chicago murder mystery event and dinner show. The hotel also offers in-room spa treatments, a palatial ballroom with gold domed ceiling and valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.4 mi/29.6 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile (across the street)
  • Millennium Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (2 mi/3 km)
  • Willis Tower (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • McCormick Place (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 18,500 square feet across 16 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite 1 King Bed
Superior Room amenities plus sitting area: sleeper sofa (queen-size), lounge chair, work desk and a second flat-screen TV. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Standard King
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, unable to accommodate rollaway
Standard Plus Corner 2 Doubles
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Plus Corner 1 King Bed
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Room 2 Double Beds
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Superior Room 1 King Bed
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Suite 1 King Bed
Two room Suite separated by sliding door: living room with lounge chair, sleeper sofa (queen), executive work desk and second flat screen TV. Air-jet bathtub plus rainshower. Twice daily maid service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9 -87.6232
Nearby airports
Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE; O'hare Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, 100 feet to N Michigan Ave- two blocks to beach and Water Tower

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

Martini Bar
Relax and unwind in the hotel's martini bar while enjoying sounds of live Jazz piano and enjoying one of our 50 varieties of Martinis.Lively conversation and creative libations are sure to help ease the stress of a long day. Tues thru Sat 1700 to 2200 hrs
NiX Restaurant
NiX Bistro offers a relaxing ambience/creative cuisine in an intimate setting.The menu features artfully presented cuisine that showcases the talens of the hotel's culinary team.Offering a daily breakfast buffet,gourment salads,sandwiches,classic entees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (258)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saver sleuth
New Jersey
Sep 4, 2013

Hotel has a humidity and ventiliation problem

We stayed 2 nights in a suite. There is no inroom dining even though a screen in the room's touch screen display suggests there is. Also, room and common areas have a horrible damp smell to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phx mom
phx, az
Jul 5, 2012

Rude staff

Would not stay here again. The staff is rude, the rooms super small and only a few people fit on the elevator at a time. Choose the drake

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
father2014
chicago, il
Apr 20, 2014

high price / low value

very small room, tripped over luggage. very noisy ac/ vent unit. stiff price for valet 65 per night garages at 14-15 per night doorman intrusive, wouldnt help after learning we werent valeting the car. sheets and floor of room dirty. no pool, no spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kjordan26
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 8, 2013

Dirty, small & not for kids!

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect! Close to the beach and the Magnificent Mile and many restaurants. Room was not the cleanest, mold in shower. Room was very small for price. For a family that was staying 7 days we had no microwave, no place to put drinks, refridgerator was full of alcholic beverages (I don't drink due to small children) of all types that were extremely over priced. Nothing at the hotel was reasonably priced a can of soda was $3.75 (12oz). Food was insanely priced. We were out in the city most of the time which was great due to the extremely small size of the room!!! Not enough room for 4 ppl with a suitcase each, we were piled on each other. NOT A 4 STAR hotel by any means! I would say 2.5 at best. The city was Perfect I recommend Gus's, Potbelly's, and anywhere on the Mile but not the hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, Navy Pier, the Cloud

Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 21, 2009

Nice but need better Air Conditioning

Hotel was in an excellent location. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that our air conditioner was broken and weren't given a new room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Uninspired Californian
Orange County, CA
Oct 23, 2013

Inhospitable staff ruin a descent hotel

Location-great Amenities-so so Staff-extremely unfriendly This is a cute hotel, relatively clean well kept, good charm but the inhospitable staff made the experience not worth it. Our room was close to 80 degrees upon arrival so we turned on the AC/fan in the room to cool it down only to have heat come out. When we checked with the staff they told us the building didn't have AC because it was old. Fine. I get that but then offer some options- they brought up a fan that had "hskping" written in black marker. Windows were covered with plastic due to construction so we couldn't open the windows. Staff had an attitude of "too bad" that's all we can do for you. Our room was extremely uncomfortable for 4 days straight. Despite the 3-5 doormen outside not one said hello or welcome back despite our multiple trips in and out over the 4 day period. Even the concierge and bell staff inside didn't greet or say anything upon entering/exiting. Construction went all night from 9pm to 6am - of course they didn't mention this when we booked or when checking in. We got a paper delivered free on Friday morning but not Saturday or Sunday- rooms are tiny- they have huge furniture in the rooms which makes moving around next to impossible. There wasn't even enough room to put our luggage! Wifi which should be free is $10 a day, parking be us $67 a day, in room movies were $18. They charged for everything and the service was some of the worst I've ever had. Unfortunate as a little customer service and friendliness an make up for imperfections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Des Moines, IA
Oct 14, 2010

Nothing Magnificent

My wife and I went for a long weekend in downtown Chicago. This hotel is in a great location for shopping/eating. Everything is walking distance from the hotel. A little too far away from the theatre district so expect to pay $9 for the cab ride there. The hotel was decent. It has a lot of charm with the old architecture but everything is a little small (King Room, Elevators). Rooms are rather noisy. If people are talking in the hallway you will be able to hear them quite clearly. There is no bathtub in the King-Size Room. When they say "rainshower", that is all there is (no tub). Lastly, make sure your door locks when you're leaving the room. We were there 3 days before we realized that the electronic door lock was broken. Anyone was free to roam through our room everytime we left. We're lucky nothing was stolen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Des Moines, IA
Oct 14, 2010

Nothing Magnificent

My wife and I went for a long weekend in downtown Chicago. This hotel is in a great location for shopping/eating. Everything is walking distance from the hotel. A little too far away from the theatre district so expect to pay $9 for the cab ride there. The hotel was decent. It has a lot of charm with the old architecture but everything is a little small (King Room, Elevators). Rooms are rather noisy. If people are talking in the hallway you will be able to hear them quite clearly. There is no bathtub in the King-Size Room. When they say "rainshower", that is all there is (no tub). Lastly, make sure your door locks when you're leaving the room. We were there 3 days before we realized that the electronic door lock was broken. Anyone was free to roam through our room everytime we left. We're lucky nothing was stolen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 21, 2009

Nice but need better Air Conditioning

Hotel was in an excellent location. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that our air conditioner was broken and weren't given a new room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Jan
AZ
Sep 24, 2013

millenium

Room was so small, almost could turn around in it. bad need of renovation, cleaning of carpets. no tub, only a shower. no restaurant past 2 PM so dinner was out and about. no shop/boutique in hotel. very basic and won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

it's Chicago~!

Back to menu Return to top