$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2015 Check-out: Feb 12, 2015

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

4 stars
163 Walton Place, 163 Walston Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
221 reviews
Millenium Knickerbocker

We stayed during the thanksgivig break and were really impressed by the hospitality of the staff... See full review

  • Meg the lady.
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great Hotel

We took a group of friends here and we were very pleased. The staff was very helpful and nice. The... See full review

  • Cbt89
  • Sep 2, 2014
Chicago hotel on Magnificent Mile with hip martini bar and restaurant
In 1927, notable architects Rissman & Hirschfield, responsible for many highlights on the Chicago skyline, finished a 14-story, gothic-inspired hotel that is now known as the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Newly-redesigned guest rooms with spa-style bathrooms entice guests to stay at this classic gateway to the Magnificent Mile. Historical architecture charms while the prime location of the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel allows for a short walk to business meetings in the Loop, famed Chicago attractions and Michigan Avenue shopping.
Highlights
  • M Bar serves more than 50 martinis and wines, plus light fare with live entertainment
  • On-site restaurant
  • Historic Magnificent Mile hotel with newly-designed rooms
  • Saturday night Dinner Detective Mystery Show (fees apply)

Rooms

After a complete redesign, the 306 guest rooms and suites at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel show off their new look and enhanced comfort with Sealy pillow-top bedding, Frette linens, down comforters and plush pillows. A quiet, toned down neutral scheme receives a punch of cranberry for style. Slip into the terrycloth robe and slippers, pull the blackout shades and raid the stocked mini-bar or unwind in front of the 40-inch flat-screen TV at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Bathrooms gleam with spa-inspired design and a rain shower. Connect to high-speed wireless Internet at will (fees apply).

Features

Guests start the day at NiX restaurant, a white-tablecloth bistro that serves breakfast and lunch at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. After dark, pop into M Bar for a signature martini and live music. Nearly every Saturday night, the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel hosts the Dinner Detective Murder Mystery, a top Chicago murder mystery event and dinner show. The hotel also offers in-room spa treatments, a palatial ballroom with gold domed ceiling and valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.4 mi/29.6 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile (across the street)
  • Millennium Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (2 mi/3 km)
  • Willis Tower (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • McCormick Place (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 18,500 square feet across 16 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite 1 King Bed
Superior Room amenities plus sitting area: sleeper sofa (queen-size), lounge chair, work desk and a second flat-screen TV. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Standard King
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, unable to accommodate rollaway
Standard Plus Corner 2 Doubles
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Plus Corner 1 King Bed
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Room 2 Double Beds
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Superior Room 1 King Bed
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Suite 1 King Bed
Two room Suite separated by sliding door: living room with lounge chair, sleeper sofa (queen), executive work desk and second flat screen TV. Air-jet bathtub plus rainshower. Twice daily maid service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

Martini Bar
Relax and unwind in the hotel's martini bar while enjoying sounds of live Jazz piano and enjoying one of our 50 varieties of Martinis.Lively conversation and creative libations are sure to help ease the stress of a long day. Tues thru Sat 1700 to 2200 hrs
NiX Restaurant
NiX Bistro offers a relaxing ambience/creative cuisine in an intimate setting.The menu features artfully presented cuisine that showcases the talens of the hotel's culinary team.Offering a daily breakfast buffet,gourment salads,sandwiches,classic entees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CuquiWilson
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 8, 2009

Amazing Hotel- Wonderful Location

Was in Chicago for one day for a soccer game. The hotel was amazing, one of the best ones around. The location is top notch! we were so close to everything- just a short walk to shopping, dinning and night life. I wished I had stayed for longer because the room was fabulous ! I felt like a star. The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice if they had a complementary shuttle to the airport or one that is not so expensive. The cost was $27 per person so we opted to take the Metro instead. I am definitely staying here again, budget permitting, if I come to Chicago again. It was by far the best hotel I have stayed in for the price. Absolutely 5 stars for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aussie gal
Business
Tennessee
Jun 12, 2011

Excellent

Beautiful rooms and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get an all day bus pass and shop everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marcia
Business
Central, IL, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Close to Watertower Theatre and Northwestern Hospital

Clean room; great, comfortable king-size bed; and a fantastic shower! Who cares if the room is small -- you're in Chicago to enjoy the city! Small, well-appointed hotel. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In hotel, across the street, next door. All around you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CBKS1982
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Oct 15, 2011

So relaxing, great location

After staying at one of the worst hotels ever in Mackinaw City, what a pleasure to stay in this hotel. Plush, clean, modern yet old world. Great location to the lake for an early morning walk, we found a great little Farmer's Market at the steps of the Contemporary Museum around the corner, and on a Tuesday, so we had breakfast there. This hotel is close to shopping and wonderful restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Farmer's Market on the steps of the Contemporary Art Museum. There was a small booth where they were making fresh to order crepes. Other vendors had pastries, beautiful flowers and fruits and vegetables. It was a real photo opportunity as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Plaugh
Business
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Brilliantly Exceeds Five Stars!!

My wife and I just spent our first anniversary in Chicago and invested a good ammount of time researching hotels for our stay. The Millennium Knickerbocker stood out to us from the beginning because of the price and location, but some of the reviews were less than desireable. Let me be the first to say that those people who left negative reviews must be the type of people that simply can not be satisfied!!!...Seriously, you can not ask for anything more from a hotel room in Chicago...the buildings are old so the rooms are usually going to be smaller than that of a Hampton Inn in Branson!!! The hotel is beautiful, the service was fantastic, The beds were comfortable, and the rooms were clean!!!...Take if from me, and I have a champagne appitite...The Millennium Knickerbocker is a perfect choice of hotels in Chicago...We'll definitely stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Benny's Chophouse hosted our annivesary dinner. We spent exactly $200 on a fantastic meal, that was worth every penny. I chose a dry aged new york strip that was by far one of the best steaks I've ever eaten. Great wine list. Chocolate cake was big enough for 3!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annabelleannie
Business
Aurora, IL, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Great buy

It was honestly a really great buy. The room was perfect and the shower is lovely. They supply drinks already in the room. :) I would go there again all the time if I could!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teamfun
Business
United States
Apr 27, 2012

Fantastic

Great room great staff great location and great bar highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meshuggah Fan
Business
Ohio
May 17, 2012

Good Value for Chicago

Nice comfortable bed. Good pillows. Clean updated bathroom. Close to everything. The shower was the best one I've ever seen in a hotel. And it still had the charm of an old hotel. Nicest hotel experience I've had in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
21 Candles
Business
Northbrook, IL
Jul 2, 2012

Perfect location, beautiful hotel!

Beautiful, well maintained hotel in the heart of the Gold Coast! Walking distance to the incredible Oak Street Beach too! Awesome shopping on Michigan Ave. and lots of Boutiques. The hotel service was fabulous and I would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eddie l96
Business
Ridgefield Park, NJ, USA
Jul 10, 2012

millennium hotel

this is a wonderful old hotel, located at the beginning of the magnificent mile. it makes you feel welcome when you step into the lobby. the staff are very friendly and helpful. we had a very nice room looking out at the famous drake hotel across the street, also from our window we could see the lake only a block away. this hotel is convenent to everything, the finest stores are just around the corner, we had more grate restaurants near than we could visit in a month. the water tower was close and the beach at lake shore drive was perfect for an evening walk to watch the sun go down. no need for a car as all transportation is easy walkind distance. we will be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

leave the car home, parking in the city is tough and expensive, transportation system is very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top