$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

4 stars
163 Walton Place, 163 Walston Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
218 reviews
Great Hotel

We took a group of friends here and we were very pleased. The staff was very helpful and nice. The... See full review

  • Cbt89
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great locaton an friendlly staff

I was very pleased with the Knickerbocker. At the north end of Michigan Ave and just a block off... See full review

  • Beth8056
  • Jun 14, 2014
Chicago hotel on Magnificent Mile with hip martini bar and restaurant
In 1927, notable architects Rissman & Hirschfield, responsible for many highlights on the Chicago skyline, finished a 14-story, gothic-inspired hotel that is now known as the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Newly-redesigned guest rooms with spa-style bathrooms entice guests to stay at this classic gateway to the Magnificent Mile. Historical architecture charms while the prime location of the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel allows for a short walk to business meetings in the Loop, famed Chicago attractions and Michigan Avenue shopping.
Highlights
  • M Bar serves more than 50 martinis and wines, plus light fare with live entertainment
  • On-site restaurant
  • Historic Magnificent Mile hotel with newly-designed rooms
  • Saturday night Dinner Detective Mystery Show (fees apply)

Rooms

After a complete redesign, the 306 guest rooms and suites at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel show off their new look and enhanced comfort with Sealy pillow-top bedding, Frette linens, down comforters and plush pillows. A quiet, toned down neutral scheme receives a punch of cranberry for style. Slip into the terrycloth robe and slippers, pull the blackout shades and raid the stocked mini-bar or unwind in front of the 40-inch flat-screen TV at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Bathrooms gleam with spa-inspired design and a rain shower. Connect to high-speed wireless Internet at will (fees apply).

Features

Guests start the day at NiX restaurant, a white-tablecloth bistro that serves breakfast and lunch at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. After dark, pop into M Bar for a signature martini and live music. Nearly every Saturday night, the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel hosts the Dinner Detective Murder Mystery, a top Chicago murder mystery event and dinner show. The hotel also offers in-room spa treatments, a palatial ballroom with gold domed ceiling and valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.4 mi/29.6 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile (across the street)
  • Millennium Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (2 mi/3 km)
  • Willis Tower (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • McCormick Place (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 18,500 square feet across 16 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people

Hotel Map

41.9 -87.6232
Nearby airports
Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE; O'hare Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, 100 feet to N Michigan Ave- two blocks to beach and Water Tower

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite 1 King Bed
Superior Room amenities plus sitting area: sleeper sofa (queen-size), lounge chair, work desk and a second flat-screen TV. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Standard King
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, unable to accommodate rollaway
Standard Plus Corner 2 Doubles
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Plus Corner 1 King Bed
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Room 2 Double Beds
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Superior Room 1 King Bed
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Suite 1 King Bed
Two room Suite separated by sliding door: living room with lounge chair, sleeper sofa (queen), executive work desk and second flat screen TV. Air-jet bathtub plus rainshower. Twice daily maid service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

Martini Bar
Relax and unwind in the hotel's martini bar while enjoying sounds of live Jazz piano and enjoying one of our 50 varieties of Martinis.Lively conversation and creative libations are sure to help ease the stress of a long day. Tues thru Sat 1700 to 2200 hrs
NiX Restaurant
NiX Bistro offers a relaxing ambience/creative cuisine in an intimate setting.The menu features artfully presented cuisine that showcases the talens of the hotel's culinary team.Offering a daily breakfast buffet,gourment salads,sandwiches,classic entees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobinP
Business
London
Oct 1, 2013

Great location

Great hotel, in a great location for all downtown and all sightseeing. Friendly staff and a nice room, although we did book a superior king so I have no idea what a regular king would be like - probably small. The hotel is currently having a small facelift so the beautiful facade is covered which was a shame but will be unveiled soon I believe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

head into the old town/towards lincoln park for some good eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soobaroo227
Business
Atlanta
Sep 24, 2013

Great Time in Chicago

I had a lovely time in Chicago. The staff at the Knickerbocker was incredible. We were always greeted with smiles, and they made sure we were happy with everything, without doing so in the annoying intrusive way that people can sometimes manage to do. I highly recommend this hotel. It was incredibly convenient to everywhere we wanted to go as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Jan
Business
AZ
Sep 24, 2013

millenium

Room was so small, almost could turn around in it. bad need of renovation, cleaning of carpets. no tub, only a shower. no restaurant past 2 PM so dinner was out and about. no shop/boutique in hotel. very basic and won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

it's Chicago~!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Castle Choices
Business
St Joseph Mi
Sep 22, 2013

Birthday retreat

First thing we noticed was the scaffolding outside which is always questionable...leads you to wonder about noise. Inside we were greeted pleasantly by all staff members. Our room was small but the bed was comfortable as were the pillows. We were also located at the end of a hallway making it very quiet and secluded from the elevators. The shower has a rain shower head which makes it difficult to get soap out of long hair also not a space for shampoo. No ledge to assist shaving legs. For the amount of money you spend I was hoping for a better experience but with that said our stay in Chicago was and always is memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful Italian restaurant North of the hotel and a few blocks West...called Mario's. Hint always ask your favorite bartender!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Cherry
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Sep 20, 2013

Fabulous trip!

Spent the weekends with my friends there and the service was really good. Also the hotel has a perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KAYBEE55
Business
Bristol - UK
Sep 20, 2013

Good Value Hotel - Shame about the scaffolding !

We booked the hotel for 6 nights as part of a package through Virgin It was a good hotel in what for us was a very good location (Just off of the North end of the ''Magnificent Mile'' so close to shops / restaurants etc . Around the corner from the John Hancock building -- and a short walk to Oak Street Beach.#. We arrived to find the front of the hotel covered in scaffolding #which we weren't made aware of - and would have appreciated knowing as it impacted directly on the window of our room.# Our room #304# was at the front of the hotel and was clean, comfortable and quiet. We did have a couple of issues with housekeeping #Toiletries not replenished #until we asked !# Coffee making items not replaced on one day and a dirty duster left in the room#. However, these were minor issues and did not impact on our stay. The staff were all very personable and helpful and the bar was good although often very busy and - for us - spoiled by the fact that there are bar stools along the whole length of the bar so when they were occupied #most nights# it was very difficult to get to the bar. We liked the free internet in the hotel business centre and had a very nice breakfast in the restaurant on our last day #and received excellent service there as well#. Overall we would recommend the hotel for value, comfort and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The "Magnificent Mile" by the hotel is home to the higher end designer shops. For more 'normal shopping take a trip downtown to the shops around State Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saver sleuth
Business
New Jersey
Sep 4, 2013

Hotel has a humidity and ventiliation problem

We stayed 2 nights in a suite. There is no inroom dining even though a screen in the room's touch screen display suggests there is. Also, room and common areas have a horrible damp smell to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RandyKatie
Business
Fairview Park Ohio
Sep 3, 2013

Greatest Hotel experience

This hotel is in the best part of chicago for walking,close to everything you need to experience in Chicago. Me and my wife had a blast our room was very clean,quiet,confortable. we got the superior king with rainforest shower. The rainforest shower is so relaxing! The staff is very polite and professional,if you ever need a taxi there is always one they can get you outside.It was just a excellent time all around i can't wait to come back to this hotel again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

it is less than 3 minute walk for awesome dining,shopping,anything you can think of!! this was a needed vacation for me and my wife next time were bringing our kids it would be so fun for any kid great experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NastyNate
Business
San Francisco
Aug 26, 2013

Great stay!

Enjoyed the stay! It was a convenient location and clean/nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn travelers
Business
Brooklyn
Aug 24, 2013

Nice hotel

Good staff, good location, clean rooms. Close to Magnificent Mile and John Hancock tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice italian deli at the base of the Hancock Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top