$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

4 stars
163 Walton Place, 163 Walston Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
217 reviews
Great Hotel

We took a group of friends here and we were very pleased. The staff was very helpful and nice. The... See full review

  • Cbt89
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great locaton an friendlly staff

I was very pleased with the Knickerbocker. At the north end of Michigan Ave and just a block off... See full review

  • Beth8056
  • Jun 14, 2014
Chicago hotel on Magnificent Mile with hip martini bar and restaurant
In 1927, notable architects Rissman & Hirschfield, responsible for many highlights on the Chicago skyline, finished a 14-story, gothic-inspired hotel that is now known as the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Newly-redesigned guest rooms with spa-style bathrooms entice guests to stay at this classic gateway to the Magnificent Mile. Historical architecture charms while the prime location of the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel allows for a short walk to business meetings in the Loop, famed Chicago attractions and Michigan Avenue shopping.
Highlights
  • M Bar serves more than 50 martinis and wines, plus light fare with live entertainment
  • On-site restaurant
  • Historic Magnificent Mile hotel with newly-designed rooms
  • Saturday night Dinner Detective Mystery Show (fees apply)

Rooms

After a complete redesign, the 306 guest rooms and suites at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel show off their new look and enhanced comfort with Sealy pillow-top bedding, Frette linens, down comforters and plush pillows. A quiet, toned down neutral scheme receives a punch of cranberry for style. Slip into the terrycloth robe and slippers, pull the blackout shades and raid the stocked mini-bar or unwind in front of the 40-inch flat-screen TV at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Bathrooms gleam with spa-inspired design and a rain shower. Connect to high-speed wireless Internet at will (fees apply).

Features

Guests start the day at NiX restaurant, a white-tablecloth bistro that serves breakfast and lunch at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. After dark, pop into M Bar for a signature martini and live music. Nearly every Saturday night, the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel hosts the Dinner Detective Murder Mystery, a top Chicago murder mystery event and dinner show. The hotel also offers in-room spa treatments, a palatial ballroom with gold domed ceiling and valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.4 mi/29.6 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile (across the street)
  • Millennium Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (2 mi/3 km)
  • Willis Tower (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • McCormick Place (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 18,500 square feet across 16 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people

Hotel Map

41.9 -87.6232
Nearby airports
Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE; O'hare Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, 100 feet to N Michigan Ave- two blocks to beach and Water Tower

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite 1 King Bed
Superior Room amenities plus sitting area: sleeper sofa (queen-size), lounge chair, work desk and a second flat-screen TV. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Standard King
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, unable to accommodate rollaway
Standard Plus Corner 2 Doubles
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Plus Corner 1 King Bed
Michigan Avenue and Walton Place view. Superior Room amenities plus entry foyer, private dressing area and lounge chair. Rain-head shower and upgraded bathroom amenities. Twice daily maid service.
Superior Room 2 Double Beds
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Superior Room 1 King Bed
40 inch flat-screen TV, down-comforter, rain-head shower, work desk with cordless dual-line speaker-phone, wireless high-speed internet available, coffee-maker, safe, able to accommodate one rollaway
Suite 1 King Bed
Two room Suite separated by sliding door: living room with lounge chair, sleeper sofa (queen), executive work desk and second flat screen TV. Air-jet bathtub plus rainshower. Twice daily maid service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

Martini Bar
Relax and unwind in the hotel's martini bar while enjoying sounds of live Jazz piano and enjoying one of our 50 varieties of Martinis.Lively conversation and creative libations are sure to help ease the stress of a long day. Tues thru Sat 1700 to 2200 hrs
NiX Restaurant
NiX Bistro offers a relaxing ambience/creative cuisine in an intimate setting.The menu features artfully presented cuisine that showcases the talens of the hotel's culinary team.Offering a daily breakfast buffet,gourment salads,sandwiches,classic entees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindylou57
Glasgow
Nov 24, 2013

Great hotel

Had a ball in this hotel only drawback not open for dinner. Deli for breakfast a tad expensive better quality and price in Italian deli in Hancock centre. Staff were fantastic, g Helpful and. Courteous, could not fault them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

C Doc c I think it was called across time hi gan ave and on the right. Fabulous food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
For Business Insights
Business
Midwest
Nov 15, 2013

Perfect

I have no complaints, and the bathroom was nicer than I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4thfan
San Francisco
Nov 3, 2013

Very comfortable digs on the Miracle Mile

Very comfortable, pleasant rooms. Stylish bathroom, excellent bed, perfectly usable desk. Appreciated "environmental" option - i.e. not having maids change linens every day. The free wifi in the lobby (which a helpful clerk pointed out also worked in the mezzanine) was fine for my needs. Pleasant bar that I visited one evening (not cheap). When i visited, the adjoining restaurant was closed; but there are dozens within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RonDoug
Fort Lauderdale, florida
Oct 26, 2013

Great hotel

The Milinnium Knickerbocker is in a great location with a excellent staff and amenities and I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bloomingdale's and Water Tower were excellent for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago shopper
Jersey side, England
Oct 26, 2013

Shopping in Chicago!

This was my first visit to Chicago - I loved it! The hotel was perfectly located right at the start of the magnificent mile. The beds were soo comfy. You get complimentary tea & coffee. The only thing was that this was laid out for 2 when there were 4 of us sharing a 4 occupancy room. The room was very spacious. The view out the window wasn't great but that wasn't a problem as we didn't stay in the room during the day. Chicagoans take pride in their city - it's clean and tidy. They are also lovely people. In the main there is respect and order between cars and pedestrians and although this is a major city, there is a calm on the streets unlike the hustle and bustle of city's like London or New York. There are plenty of places to eat as well as shop - as my mum said - I shopped until the rest of my family dropped! It was my birthday whilst there and we celebrated at the Cheesecake Factory - cheesecake as not experienced before - s'mores or peanut butter to just name 2 - oh decisions decisions!!! The city is lovely enhanced by the architecture. The river tours are definitely a must and well recommended to get a great view and understanding of the history from knowledgable guides. The view from John Hancock building was absolutely fabulous. The Chicago skyline is beautiful and the lake - Amazing - like looking out to sea. There are beggars on the streets but you find them anywhere in any country. If you go to water tower place there are sales assistants on stalls pushing mostly hand products - just be careful and don't make the mistake that I did - if you're not prepared to engage with them and seriously consider purchasing their products - don't accept the free offer of a sample! I had the feeling of absolute safety. In the evenings police officers are out and around on the streets. For travelling around, the alternative to walking is also to use the transport system which includes the bus and the El (elevated train). For $33 I got a travel card which also doubles as a MasterCard debit card (US use only) and unlimited 1 weeks use - and for those of you who are "while you were sleeping" fans there is the joy of visiting warbash street and Randolph/warbash el station to reenact all those scenes! I would love to go back again. Chicago is definitely a must City to add to your list of places to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Uninspired Californian
Orange County, CA
Oct 23, 2013

Inhospitable staff ruin a descent hotel

Location-great Amenities-so so Staff-extremely unfriendly This is a cute hotel, relatively clean well kept, good charm but the inhospitable staff made the experience not worth it. Our room was close to 80 degrees upon arrival so we turned on the AC/fan in the room to cool it down only to have heat come out. When we checked with the staff they told us the building didn't have AC because it was old. Fine. I get that but then offer some options- they brought up a fan that had "hskping" written in black marker. Windows were covered with plastic due to construction so we couldn't open the windows. Staff had an attitude of "too bad" that's all we can do for you. Our room was extremely uncomfortable for 4 days straight. Despite the 3-5 doormen outside not one said hello or welcome back despite our multiple trips in and out over the 4 day period. Even the concierge and bell staff inside didn't greet or say anything upon entering/exiting. Construction went all night from 9pm to 6am - of course they didn't mention this when we booked or when checking in. We got a paper delivered free on Friday morning but not Saturday or Sunday- rooms are tiny- they have huge furniture in the rooms which makes moving around next to impossible. There wasn't even enough room to put our luggage! Wifi which should be free is $10 a day, parking be us $67 a day, in room movies were $18. They charged for everything and the service was some of the worst I've ever had. Unfortunate as a little customer service and friendliness an make up for imperfections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exploring Adventurer
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 11, 2013

Just Good

The location and service is just perfect, but the rooms in this hotel are very small and not comfortable because of bulky furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located at the beginning of Magnificent Mile, so you can walk from there up to Millennium Park exploring all shopping, dining and entertainment places of N Michigan Ave. Also John Hancock Observatory is just around the corner, from there you can take a tour on hip on hip off bus or double-decker.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BussiTraveler
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 7, 2013

All-around Outstanding!

Great location, nice size room! All-around wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly cycler
grafton,ohio
Oct 6, 2013

great location

this is a very nice hotel with a great location. It's right off michigan ave and also close to the exercise path on lakeshore dr

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobinP
London
Oct 1, 2013

Great location

Great hotel, in a great location for all downtown and all sightseeing. Friendly staff and a nice room, although we did book a superior king so I have no idea what a regular king would be like - probably small. The hotel is currently having a small facelift so the beautiful facade is covered which was a shame but will be unveiled soon I believe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

head into the old town/towards lincoln park for some good eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search