$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

4 stars
View map of 166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
477 reviews
Quick Stay

Beautiful hotel great location. I only gave the wifi a 3 because I didn't use it and couldn't tell... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 16, 2015
Great accommodations, AMAZING location!

This hotel brings the urban chic feel of a New York apartment to the awesomeness that is Chicago.... See full review

  • DrP
  • Apr 6, 2015
This boutique property offers a residential-style retreat that soars above Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Each floor is home to no more than 11 spacious guest rooms and suites, and your evenings would be well spent enjoying appetizers and sipping cocktails at the 52EIGHTY rooftop lounge. MileNorth's accommodations are inspired by neoclassical, Art Deco and classical deco trends with light shades, huge windows, shimmering silver tones, and white glass doors all set against brash colors.
Key facts
  • 215 guestrooms
  • 2 suites
  • 29 floors
  • Barista Bar
  • 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Ballroom
  • Banquet facilities
  • 3,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Pet-friendly (refer to company pet policy for further details, fees may apply)
  • Smoke-free property
Neighborhood
Located one block east of famous Michigan Avenue, the excitement of the big city is just outside your door, and Chicago's Magnificent Mile is your boulevard to it all when you stay at the gracious MileNorth Hotel. The shores of Lake Michigan are due east, Neiman Marcus is just down the block, and the John Hancock Center beckons to the north. Live theater and entertainment at Navy Pier brings culture vultures of all stripes. Your favorite shopping fantasies come true up and down the Magnificent Mile, where you'll find the ultimate in luxury retail. Get closer to the stars with a visit to the John Hancock Observatory, and wear comfortable shoes, because the best of Chicago is all within walking distance of your MileNorth front door.
Hints and tips
Ask the friendly staff for directions - whether you're organizing a tour of nearby museums, or setting up a business meeting, you can count on the hotel's premier concierge services.
Policies and Fees
  • Effective 1 Mar 2015, valet parking fee will be $62 per night.
  • Guests must at least 21 years of age to check-in, and should present a valid photo ID.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel Rooms

MileNorth Standard
The MileNorth Standard (350-450 square feet) showcases one queen-size or one king-size custom-designed bed. The rooms feature a neutral palette, octagonal-shaped mirrors, and large windows offering great natural light into the room. Each Chicago hotel room includes an executive desk and ergonomic chair, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, bath products and a private bathroom all standard. Technology includes: telephone with voicemail, data port, in-room safe, clock radio with MP3 capability, a 32' flat screen TV, and pay-per-view movies.
MileNorth Two Doubles
The MileNorth Two Doubles (350-450 square feet) showcase two double-size custom-designed beds. The rooms feature a neutral palette, octagonal-shaped mirrors, and large windows offering great natural light into the room. Each Chicago hotel room includes an executive desk and ergonomic chair, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, bath products and a private bathroom all standard. Technology includes: telephone with voicemail, data port, in-room safe, clock radio with MP3 capability, a 32' flat screen TV, and pay-per-view movies.
MileNorth Queen Suite
The MileNorth Queen Suite (450-468 square feet) showcases one queen-size bed and a separate living area with a queen-size sleeper sofa. Enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance and steps leading down to a sunken living and sleeping area. This suite offers a soft furniture palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors on crisp white linens. All suites include an executive desk and ergonomic chair, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, bath products and a private bathroom all standard. Technology includes: telephone with voicemail, data port, in-room safe, clock radio with MP3 capability, a 32' flat screen TV, and pay-per-view movies.
Superior King Suite
The Superior King Suite (468-568 square feet) showcases a luxurious king-size bed with triple sheets, down comforter and separate living area with sleeper sofa and coffee table. The room features large windows offering great city views and natural light into the room. All suites include an executive desk and ergonomic chair, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, bath products and a private bathroom all standard. Technology includes: telephone with voicemail, data port, in-room safe, clock radio with MP3 capability, a 32' flat screen TV, and pay-per-view movies.
St. Clair Suite
The St. Clair Suite (600 - 650 square feet) showcases one king-size bed with incredible views down St. Clair Street. The oversized room features a living area with sleeper sofa and dining table with four chairs. All suites include an executive desk and ergonomic chair, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, bath products and a private bathroom all standard. Technology includes: telephone with voicemail, data port, in-room safe, clock radio with MP3 capability, a 32' flat screen TV, and pay-per-view movies.
MileNorth Standard Accessible
The MileNorth Standard (350-450 square feet) showcases one queen-size or one king-size custom-designed bed. The rooms feature a neutral palette, octagonal-shaped mirrors, and large windows offering great natural light into the room. Each Chicago hotel room includes an executive desk and ergonomic chair, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, bath products and a private bathroom all standard. Technology includes: telephone with voicemail, data port, in-room safe, clock radio with MP3 capability, a 32' flat screen TV, and pay-per-view movies.
MileNorth Two Doubles Accessible
The MileNorth Two Doubles (350-450 square feet) showcase two double-size custom-designed beds. The rooms feature a neutral palette, octagonal-shaped mirrors, and large windows offering great natural light into the room. Each Chicago hotel room includes an executive desk and ergonomic chair, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, bath products and a private bathroom all standard. Technology includes: telephone with voicemail, data port, in-room safe, clock radio with MP3 capability, a 32' flat screen TV, and pay-per-view movies.
St. Clair Suite
The St. Clair Suite (600 - 650 square feet) showcases one king-size bed with incredible views down St. Clair Street. The oversized room features a living area with sleeper sofa and dining table with four chairs. All suites include an executive desk and ergonomic chair, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, an iron and ironing board, hairdryer, bath products and a private bathroom all standard. Technology includes: telephone with voicemail, data port, in-room safe, clock radio with MP3 capability, a 32' flat screen TV, and pay-per-view movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Dining

Barista Bar
Come and explore the Barista Bar at MileNorth. A new concept in the downtown Chicago hotel scene, offers our guests a choice by providing a Barista Bar featuring Starbucks coffee, Gourmet grab & go Marketplace, the Breakfast Table and The Bar items for a quick lunch or late bite to eat in your guestroom.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 477
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badger couple
Business
Southeastern Wisconsin
Mar 3, 2013

needs work, all the way around

The room smelled musty, probably because there was not a fan in the bathroom. When we pulled the Roman shade, we noticed a large stain on the shade and reported it to the staff. They said that housekeeping would take care of it, well not right away apparently. Staff was friendly, but not accomodating. Great locatioon for walking and shopping the mag mile. We are in Chicago about once a month and come back to some favorite hotels and like try different ones. We probably wouldn't come back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LeColonial Restaurant is a wonderful place with a cute little bar and a very nice menu.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badger couple
Business
Southeastern Wisconsin
Mar 11, 2013

unremarkable

Great location, unremarkable staff. Room was small and not as clean as it should have been. We brought this to the attention of the staff and nothing was done. There are many good choices in Chicago. I'm glad we tried it, but would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super mom getaway
Business
Tinley Park, Il
Apr 17, 2013

Birthday getaway

This was a couple getaway (40th Birthday celebration) The price was too high for the value. This hotel is under renovation the pictures in the website are not good. This hotel is next to Northwestern Hospital and even thouh we were on the 17th floor you can hear sirens all night long. The bathroom floor needed cleaning. On the bright side check-out time is 12:00 instead of your usual 11:00am & location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Branderson
Business
Chicago
May 5, 2013

Staff needs a little polish

I'm a Chicago resident and decided to spend the night downtown with my girlfriend to go out and explore. The staff took one look at the address on my id and made an off hand comment. They seemed a little snooty and informal after that which kind of put a damper on the whole experience, I was expecting a little more professionalism. Too bad. Overall nice hotel with great location, unfortunately wouldn't recommend there are more complete establishments nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Gino's east for great deep dish pizza right next door.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gypsy 1952
Business
NYC
Oct 30, 2013

bicead serv

When we checked in the hotel was oversold and the only rooms available had curtains that did not work, or one with no curtains at all. The hotel refused to refund our money or put us up in another hotel. Given the late time of the night, we stayed in the room with the broken curtains. The front desk person was rude and the night manager was of no help. I will not stay again...even though the hotel itself is nice looking, the help is incompetent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
better luck next time
Business
chicago
Sep 5, 2011

Chicago Trip

The rooftop lounge was what attracted us, and it turned out that it was closed two of our days for private parties, whiche the desk never told us about. And then we finally got up there it did not open until 5:00, it was so nice up there I wish we could have gone up there anytime. Elevators were VERY SLOW and if you needed ice you had to call for it, which took 30 min., service was not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

No entertainment near this hotel

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Babyjane
Business
Chesapeake
Feb 18, 2010

The location was great.

Great location for walking to many attractions. The hotel was generally fine, room was a good size and clean. However, it is the first time my husband and I have ever been turned away from seats in a bar (C-view) because the people who were sitting there, and had left, were coming back later!!! I guess our faces didn't fit. Also we were woken up by a domestic on our floor in the early hours of the morning which continued for an hour or so! Not so much fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast, recommended by the hotel, at West Egg a 5 minute walk from the Affinia. Excellent!

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Honey MOOn Couple
Business
Windsor Ontario
May 19, 2012

Not worth the Money

This was my first trip to Chicago and My wife and I were very exited to be in chicago. We stay 3 days and two nights and during my stay here I called front Desk 4 times to request Internet service and no one gave me a straight answer in regards to the issue. ( there is a problem with AT&T will call you back, Never a called back or an apologie in regards to the great inconvinience that it was for me). Staff sometimes greeted you other times they ignore you ( depending on how much you tip them) Don't get me wrong I believe in tipping staff when is earned BUT NOT TO GREET AND BE POLITE TO HOTEL GUEST. Pretty pathetic if u ask me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would strongly suggest to Eat at the Cheesecake Factory. It is Great Desserts and Fantastic Meals. I would Also Recommend to SHOP at XXII Store or Anywhere near the Mellenium Park. stores seem to have cheaper prices in the Direction. Hope this helps.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen I.
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 22, 2012

2nd Visit to Chicago

We were able to drop off our bags around 9am. Our room was not ready yet so we went to breakfast and site seeing. We came back around 230 and our room was ready. The room was very clean and spacious. We did not have a great view but since we faced other buildings, I think this helped cutdown on the city noise. We stayed for 3 nights. We did not visit the restaurant - we didn't see much on the dinner menu we would have liked. Overall, the hotel was good. We did pay more for this hotel than we did for our last visit to Chicago. I personally don't feel this hotel offered anything more than the other hotel we paid less for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arubasaurs
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Good location, but needs some work

Just before going to bed the first night, we discovered the blinds wouldn't pull down. The front desk politely explained our room had a "blind problem" and we should have been told when we checked in. They moved us to a slightly bigger room and gave us breakfast tickets, but having to pack up and move rooms in the middle of the night was a bummer when it should have been easy to fix the blinds or just not give it out. The new room had a few dead gnats in the shower and an alarm clock that was crazy bright which we had to unplug to sleep. We could also hear our neighbors doing it through the bathroom wall. The halls were crazy hot. The lobby is being completely renovated, but the temporary lobby is fine. Great location, but clearly an older building with older-building problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top