$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

4 stars
166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
565 reviews
Beautiful Rooms, Excellent Price!

My wife and I stayed here in May 2014, and absolutely loved it. I took several pictures to share... See full review

  • Jared and Jenny Ribic
  • Jun 21, 2014
Long weekend getaway

First time at Milenorth. My wife and I wanted a nice long weekend on the Mag Mile for a few days... See full review

  • DLR0520
  • Jun 11, 2014
This boutique property offers a residential-style retreat that soars above Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Each floor is home to no more than 11 spacious guest rooms and suites, and your evenings would be well spent enjoying appetizers and sipping cocktails at the 52Eighty rooftop club. MileNorth?s accommodations are inspired by neoclassical, Art Deco and classical deco trends with light shades, huge windows, shimmering silver tones, and white glass doors all set against brash colors.
Key facts
  • 213 guestrooms
  • 2 suites
  • 29 floors
  • Restaurant: Ferris & Jack
  • 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Ballroom
  • Banquet facilities
  • 3,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Pet-friendly (refer to company pet policy for further details, fees may apply)
  • Smoke-free property
Neighborhood
Located one block east of famous Michigan Avenue, the excitement of the big city is just outside your door, and Chicago's Magnificent Mile is your boulevard to it all when you stay at the gracious MileNorth Hotel. The shores of Lake Michigan are due east, Neiman Marcus is just down the block, and the John Hancock Center beckons to the north. Live theater and entertainment at Navy Pier brings culture vultures of all stripes. Your favorite shopping fantasies come true up and down the Magnificent Mile, where you'll find the ultimate in luxury retail. Get closer to the stars with a visit to the John Hancock Observatory, and wear comfortable shoes, because the best of Chicago is all within walking distance of your MileNorth front door.
Hints and tips
When you check into the MileNorth, be sure to make a reservation for relaxing in-room spa services.Ask the friendly staff for directions - whether you're organizing a tour of nearby museums, or setting up a business meeting, you can count on the hotel's premier concierge services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8962 -87.6233
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport Midway Airport
Area description
Magnificent Mile

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel Rooms

King Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.
MileNorth Queen
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
MileNorth King
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
MileNorth Double
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
City View King
Urban inspired guestrooms highlight residential design elements including wrought iron, crystal and glass lighting and alcove niches. Each oversized (350-400 sq. ft.) Our signature accommodation features an inviting entryway with steps that lead to a sunken living space. This bi-level floor plan offers expansive Chicago windows with natural light, white crisp linens and splashes of bold tones. Each room includes a small ensuite dressing vanity area, separate workstation, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Rounding out the amenity package are a hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity.
City View Double
Urban inspired guestrooms highlight residential design elements including wrought iron, crystal and glass lighting and alcove niches. Each oversized (350-400 sq. ft.) Our signature accommodation features an inviting entryway with steps that lead to a sunken living space. This bi-level floor plan offers expansive Chicago windows with natural light, white crisp linens and splashes of bold tones. Each room includes a small ensuite dressing vanity area, separate workstation, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Rounding out the amenity package are a hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity.
Tower Queen Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.
Tower City View King Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Dining

Ferris & Jack
Come and explore the Ferris & Jack Marketplace at MileNorth. A new concept in the downtown Chicago hotel scene, Ferris & Jack offers our guests a choice by providing a Barista Bar featuring Starbucks coffee, Gourmet grab & go Marketplace, the Breakfast Table and The Bar at Ferris & Jack items for a quick lunch or late bite to eat in your guestroom. You'll be sure to enjoy the variety of options available in this exciting marketplace. Our blend of soulful style and authentic Chicago hospitality make this a great place to meet up with friends, entertain your family or getaway for an inviting meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (565)

Ratings and reviews for MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
565 out of 565
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dr.rick
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Hidden Gem

while my first room had a problem with the lock, they quickly upgraded my room, moved my luggage and worked to insure my stay was great. I found the location to be wonderful and the added comfort items were a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bangkok, Thailand
May 9, 2009

Affinia Chicago

I was impressed by the Pillow Menu...one could choose from 7 different types of bed pillow type and degree of softness. It was impossible to decide which one I preferred. Breakfasts included several healthy choices. Centrally located in downtown, a half-block off Michigan Ave. (the Miracle Mile) which was decorated with thousands of tulips in May.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the designer top shops, boutiques, and department stores are just a half block away on Michigan Avenue. Large choice of restaurants near-by.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Em V
Waukee, Iowa
Jul 6, 2014

Perfect Location!

My boyfriend and I decided on a last minute trip to Chicago for the 4th of July. We wanted to be close to the Magnificent Mile (Michigan Ave) & Navy Pier to watch the fireworks. The hotel was only a couple short blocks away from both. Also, short taxi ride away from all of the other great downtown sites. The staff was very friendly and were able to give good suggestions on restaurants close by. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough for our one night stay. If you want a view of the city, just ask to be placed on the highest floor at check-in. The staff were more than happy to accommodate our request. Overall it was a great choice in hotel for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

two great places to check out are Gino's (right next door to the hotel) for their pizza! Known for their Chicago deep dish, but we opted for the thin crust and it was still great! Also, Jake Melnick's Corner Tap is a fun bar/restaurant perfect for grabbing lunch. You have to try their Firecracker wings! So tasty! A lot of great craft beer choices as well.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artaddict
N.Y., N.Y.
Apr 5, 2010

Super friendly and very comfortable

The Only complaint I have about the Affinia is that the window in our room should have been double-glazed; there is too much street noise, like sirens, trucks rumbling, and general ambient buzz and woosh. I loved the hotel, and could make it a home in Chicago, except for this. All they need is an extra pane of glass to make it a 5 star experience for me. The pullout sofa my son used could be more padded, and the blanket provided for his use was very artificial and light. It would be nice if a real duvet was provided for the extra person when booking for three as a family. I liked the comforts provided in general though; excellent toiletries, good television and work area in our junior suite, good noise insulation within the hotel (though the window as I already mentioned needs to be double-glazed).The gym was comfortable and clean, with good equipment. The restaurant and bar are very cozy and elegant at once, in keeping with the hotel as a whole. I like the extra touch of good art books scattered around the lobby and restaurant. (Even more of those would be nice!) The staff were some of the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across.It added a lot to the pleasant experience of staying there.I would definitely stay there again if in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The architectural river tour, weather allowing, should not be missed. It is a 15 or 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland
Jun 28, 2008

Decent (not great) hotel

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel after reading the reviews from others and hearing about the remodel. I was eager to stay in my Studio Suite. First impressions were good. The minimalist feel in the lobby and room felt very modern. The bathroom was small but very clean. My sister and I shared this room and flipped a coin to see who would sleep in the bed and who would sleep on the sofa pull-out bed. She won. I slept on the sofa bed and the next morning could barely move. I wouldn't recommend you consider this sleeping accomodation under any circumstances, it felt like sleeping on the foam in car seats. Other drawbacks to our room included a very loud air conditioning unit (which we had to leave on due to current weather conditions), an outdated hotel information guide, and tiny closet. We rented a movie through the hotel but the sound quality of our flat screen TV was so poor, we had to rewind the movie during several scenes. They did refund us but it wasn't without a little bit of attitude at the front desk. The help (concierge, doorman, housekeeper) were all very sweet and did their best. The hotel restaurant was disappointing, skip it and head to the next door pizza place (go early to avoid long lines).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Affinia's location is ideal for shopping. We loved the convenience of walking down Michigan Ave., being close to The Museum of Contemporary Art, and having our choice of what restaurant to dine at without having to take a cab.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
May 22, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was in a great location for restaurants and sightseeing. We did hear several sirens due to the hospital being located downtown. The hotel is sleek and modern and all the staff was very friendly and helpful with directions to different things we wanted to do while in Chicago. Aside from the sirens it was a great get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Jul 1, 2009

Nice, if you like boutique hotels

Rooms where large for the price, location was good, service was fair. We had a junior suite the first few nights and it was huge for the price. The restaurant (C-House) was bad. We had brunch there and it was a not good. Go elsewhere. Overall, good place to stay if you like boutique/smaller hotels. It doesn't have the frills of a large chain but still nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

eat at fronterra grill. the best mexican food in the city. about a 10 minute walk.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Sep 11, 2010

Great Stay

Very friendly desk staff. First class restaurant on site. Located one block off Magnificent Mile. Transportation within minutes of front door. Would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the pizza at Gino's East. It is right outside the hotel. Best Chicago Style pizza in the city. (That is what the locals say too!)

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artaddict
N.Y., N.Y.
Apr 5, 2010

Super friendly and very comfortable

The Only complaint I have about the Affinia is that the window in our room should have been double-glazed; there is too much street noise, like sirens, trucks rumbling, and general ambient buzz and woosh. I loved the hotel, and could make it a home in Chicago, except for this. All they need is an extra pane of glass to make it a 5 star experience for me. The pullout sofa my son used could be more padded, and the blanket provided for his use was very artificial and light. It would be nice if a real duvet was provided for the extra person when booking for three as a family. I liked the comforts provided in general though; excellent toiletries, good television and work area in our junior suite, good noise insulation within the hotel (though the window as I already mentioned needs to be double-glazed).The gym was comfortable and clean, with good equipment. The restaurant and bar are very cozy and elegant at once, in keeping with the hotel as a whole. I like the extra touch of good art books scattered around the lobby and restaurant. (Even more of those would be nice!) The staff were some of the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across.It added a lot to the pleasant experience of staying there.I would definitely stay there again if in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The architectural river tour, weather allowing, should not be missed. It is a 15 or 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RudyA
Lake Forest, CA
May 28, 2009

Affinia Chicago

Very nice hotel and a great location. Walking distance to all the great attractions in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top