$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

3 stars
View map of 166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
443 reviews
Great short visit

Shockingly cheap for the location and the quality of the hotel. The only downside was the TV was of... See full review

  • Alex B.
  • Jul 26, 2015
Awesome family trip

every thing nice location staff are very nice the help me to get two rooms in the same floor and... See full review

  • abdhr
  • Jul 19, 2015
Embracing a casual chic vibe MileNorth is where the excitement of the city and warmth of home collide in the heart of Chicago. Situated just steps from the Magnificent Mile the hotel is perfectly positioned between both bustling businesses and the beautiful shores of Lake Michigan. Minutes from world class shopping museums architecture theaters and attractions such as the citys beloved Navy Pier MileNorth offers easy access to the best of Chicago from right outside its doors The 215 stylish sophisticated and spacious guestrooms at MileNorth are perfect for those who need a good nights rest before tackling the next days adventures. Rooms range from MileNorth Doubles to City View Executive King Suites and offer refined furnishings and plenty of space for work or play. Thanks to our prime location guests know that they dont have far to go when they feel like coming back to their homebase to recover from the day. ADA accessible rooms are available to guests upon request. From craft beer to cocktails- carnitas to the signature Superior Street Burger- MileNorth Chicago has dining options to please every palate. The Barista Bar located in the lobby is the ideal place to cozy up in a corner with a cup of coffee or enjoy a glass of wine while people watching. While there are grab-and-go options the bar boasts a menu that has equally great picks for power lunches or leisurely dinners. Perched above the city on the 29th floor 52Eighty Rooftop Lounge is a chic laid-back indoor/outdoor spot perfect for toasting with signature cocktails sharing light bites and soaking in a brilliant sunset. Thanks to its panoramic views of Chicagos skyline guests can expect an overwhelming reminder that they are truly in the heart of it all.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel Rooms

MileNorth Standard
350-450 square feet, One Bed
St. Clair Suite
600-650 square feet, Dining table and chairs, King-Size Bed, Queen Size Sleeper Sofa
Superior King Suite
450-500 square feet, King Bed, Queen Size Sleeper Sofa
MileNorth Two Doubles Accessible
Accessible room, Two double beds, 350-450 square feet
MileNorth Queen Suite
450-468 square feet, Queen Bed, Queen-Size Sleeper Sofa
MileNorth Standard Accessible
Accessible room, Single Bed 350-450 square feet
MileNorth Two Doubles
350-450 square feet, Two double beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Jean
Boston,MA
Aug 16, 2012

Location,Location and Location

Access to shopping, dining and sights is excellent. Maid and front desk service was superior. Room's view of Hancock was a fortunate and nice touch. There is no hotel airport shuttle but plenty of contract limo service available at a "reasonable " price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elephant and Castle

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't stay at Affinia Chicago!
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 14, 2009

Beware of this Hotel!

[...] I travel to Chicago weekly and usually stay at the Intercontinental. Because I like the location of this hotel, I decided to give it a try. Two days ago, I was sitting at the gate for my flight from Atlanta to O'Hare when I received a call from my two year old's day care. She had fallen down and hurt herself pretty badly and needed to be taken to the emergency room. I immediately went to the Delta counter and explained. They issued full ticket refund on the spot. I then called the Affinia Chicago and they initially said (front counter woman) that I could get a refund given the circumstances (which is what most trusted, respected and business oriented hotels would do - particularly for a customer who travels to Chicago weekly). But then they realized that since it was booked thru [...] that I would need to request the refund thru them. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Jul 6, 2008

Be Aware of Bed Bugs

I was bitten by Bed Bugs while staying at the hotel. The Hotels only comment was to say that no one else had complained. Nothing was done to address my issues other than to say they will spray the room. I feel as if I should be compensated for the inconvenice of having to see a doctor and purchase medication to address the issue of bed bug bites that I received while staying at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 1, 2009

Overrated!

My stay at the Affinia was not good at all. While the staff was friendly, the building itself was less than satisfactory. First, there are only two elevators that go above the 7th floor. These two elevators are small and slow, causing significant wait times. Additionally, during my stay one of the elevators was not operating, making wait times 15 minutes plus. Secondly, the air conditioner in my room would not adequately cool the room. No matter how low the thermostat was set the room would not get below 80 degrees. This made it very unpleasant to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend in Chicago
Business
Illinois
Sep 2, 2014

Don't stay at this hotel

We arrived at the hotel and our room was not ready. We waited 30 minutes to check into the hotel and several hours for the room to be cleaned. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel the food was terrible. I prepaid for my rooms and got a receipt when I left. The next day I looked at my checking account and saw that they charged me a second time for my room. I called and they could not tell me why this happened but would reverse the charges and it would take up to 10 days for the money to be back in my account. I asked to have the manager call me on two occasions and I am still waiting for a phone call. Don't say at this hotel they have no idea what they are doing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ASNtraveler
Business
libertyville
Jun 2, 2015

great hotel-location-price

This is a nice hotel close to Michigan Ave shopping, at an excellent price. Nice coffee/wine/snack bar in lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JMom4
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 13, 2013

Not terribly impressed

The hotel is under construction - this would have been nice to know before we arrived. The first room we were sent to was very nice but one of the beds was covered in a strange coating of grainy dirt. The second room we were given had horrible acoustics - we heard everything that was said in the hallway all night long. You could not get ice or a drink after ten at night, if you came in late you were out of luck or they suggested you could walk to the drug store two blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badger couple
Business
Southeastern Wisconsin
Mar 3, 2013

needs work, all the way around

The room smelled musty, probably because there was not a fan in the bathroom. When we pulled the Roman shade, we noticed a large stain on the shade and reported it to the staff. They said that housekeeping would take care of it, well not right away apparently. Staff was friendly, but not accomodating. Great locatioon for walking and shopping the mag mile. We are in Chicago about once a month and come back to some favorite hotels and like try different ones. We probably wouldn't come back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LeColonial Restaurant is a wonderful place with a cute little bar and a very nice menu.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badger couple
Business
Southeastern Wisconsin
Mar 11, 2013

unremarkable

Great location, unremarkable staff. Room was small and not as clean as it should have been. We brought this to the attention of the staff and nothing was done. There are many good choices in Chicago. I'm glad we tried it, but would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super mom getaway
Business
Tinley Park, Il
Apr 17, 2013

Birthday getaway

This was a couple getaway (40th Birthday celebration) The price was too high for the value. This hotel is under renovation the pictures in the website are not good. This hotel is next to Northwestern Hospital and even thouh we were on the 17th floor you can hear sirens all night long. The bathroom floor needed cleaning. On the bright side check-out time is 12:00 instead of your usual 11:00am & location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Branderson
Business
Chicago
May 5, 2013

Staff needs a little polish

I'm a Chicago resident and decided to spend the night downtown with my girlfriend to go out and explore. The staff took one look at the address on my id and made an off hand comment. They seemed a little snooty and informal after that which kind of put a damper on the whole experience, I was expecting a little more professionalism. Too bad. Overall nice hotel with great location, unfortunately wouldn't recommend there are more complete establishments nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Gino's east for great deep dish pizza right next door.

Back to menu Return to top