$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

4 stars
166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
567 reviews
Beautiful Rooms, Excellent Price!

My wife and I stayed here in May 2014, and absolutely loved it. I took several pictures to share... See full review

  • Jared and Jenny Ribic
  • Jun 21, 2014
Long weekend getaway

First time at Milenorth. My wife and I wanted a nice long weekend on the Mag Mile for a few days... See full review

  • DLR0520
  • Jun 11, 2014
This boutique property offers a residential-style retreat that soars above Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Each floor is home to no more than 11 spacious guest rooms and suites, and your evenings would be well spent enjoying appetizers and sipping cocktails at the 52Eighty rooftop club. MileNorth?s accommodations are inspired by neoclassical, Art Deco and classical deco trends with light shades, huge windows, shimmering silver tones, and white glass doors all set against brash colors.
Key facts
  • 213 guestrooms
  • 2 suites
  • 29 floors
  • Restaurant: Ferris & Jack
  • 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Ballroom
  • Banquet facilities
  • 3,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Pet-friendly (refer to company pet policy for further details, fees may apply)
  • Smoke-free property
Neighborhood
Located one block east of famous Michigan Avenue, the excitement of the big city is just outside your door, and Chicago's Magnificent Mile is your boulevard to it all when you stay at the gracious MileNorth Hotel. The shores of Lake Michigan are due east, Neiman Marcus is just down the block, and the John Hancock Center beckons to the north. Live theater and entertainment at Navy Pier brings culture vultures of all stripes. Your favorite shopping fantasies come true up and down the Magnificent Mile, where you'll find the ultimate in luxury retail. Get closer to the stars with a visit to the John Hancock Observatory, and wear comfortable shoes, because the best of Chicago is all within walking distance of your MileNorth front door.
Hints and tips
When you check into the MileNorth, be sure to make a reservation for relaxing in-room spa services.Ask the friendly staff for directions - whether you're organizing a tour of nearby museums, or setting up a business meeting, you can count on the hotel's premier concierge services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8962 -87.6233
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport Midway Airport
Area description
Magnificent Mile

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel Rooms

King Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.
MileNorth Queen
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
MileNorth King
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
MileNorth Double
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
City View King
Urban inspired guestrooms highlight residential design elements including wrought iron, crystal and glass lighting and alcove niches. Each oversized (350-400 sq. ft.) Our signature accommodation features an inviting entryway with steps that lead to a sunken living space. This bi-level floor plan offers expansive Chicago windows with natural light, white crisp linens and splashes of bold tones. Each room includes a small ensuite dressing vanity area, separate workstation, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Rounding out the amenity package are a hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity.
City View Double
Urban inspired guestrooms highlight residential design elements including wrought iron, crystal and glass lighting and alcove niches. Each oversized (350-400 sq. ft.) Our signature accommodation features an inviting entryway with steps that lead to a sunken living space. This bi-level floor plan offers expansive Chicago windows with natural light, white crisp linens and splashes of bold tones. Each room includes a small ensuite dressing vanity area, separate workstation, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Rounding out the amenity package are a hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity.
Tower Queen Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.
Tower City View King Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Dining

Ferris & Jack
Come and explore the Ferris & Jack Marketplace at MileNorth. A new concept in the downtown Chicago hotel scene, Ferris & Jack offers our guests a choice by providing a Barista Bar featuring Starbucks coffee, Gourmet grab & go Marketplace, the Breakfast Table and The Bar at Ferris & Jack items for a quick lunch or late bite to eat in your guestroom. You'll be sure to enjoy the variety of options available in this exciting marketplace. Our blend of soulful style and authentic Chicago hospitality make this a great place to meet up with friends, entertain your family or getaway for an inviting meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (567)

Ratings and reviews for MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
567 out of 567
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alpha Mom
Business
Olympia, WA
Apr 22, 2009

Affinia

Everyone was gracious and the rooms were lovely. Two things: If you want a quiet room ask for one that does not face the alley. The hotel is next to a restaurant that dumps out bottles into the wee hours. Then the garbage trucks rattle through at 5am. Finally, there is no business center. Without your own laptop you are sunk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Dominics, a Whole Foods and a Trader Joe's nearby. Just ask the front desk for directions. At least some of the rooms have refrigerators.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc Nickrent
Bloomington, IL
Jan 17, 2010

Very Affordable Hotel Right in Downtown

My fiance and I decided to run to Chicago from downstate Illinois for the weekend, just for fun. I booked at the Affinia and was very glad I did! Our room came with a gigantic King size bed, well dressed with comfortable covering. We got the "perferred" view room, overlooking Superior Avenue on the 26th floor. Our room looked just like the room on the website, complete with MP3 player alarm clock and LCD TV. We could not have been happier with the location, just minutes from everything worthwhile in Downtown and right across the street from a, albeit pricey, parking garage. All in all, a great hotel with friendly service and probably good amenities, although we did not partake in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have the bellhop at the Affinia get your car from the parking garage across the street. They will charge you around half of your parking garage fee instead of the full amount.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 3, 2009

Excellent Location, Great Rooms

The location of this hotel was perfect. It was in the center of the Magnificent Mile in Chicago, perfect for shopping and dining. The rooms were great. It was a shock, for the price. We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The rooms were very clean, very comfortable, and the decor was impressive. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything, right in the center of the Mile. Wonderful dining places and Navy Pier are all within walking distance as well. Great place to stay.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 16, 2007

Great Location

I was very satisfied with both my room and the hotel staff. My wife and I were in town to see Wicked and attend church at the 4th Presbyterian Church on Michigan Avenue. We stayed in one of the Affinia's remodeled rooms. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was outstanding. It had a large walkin shower with plenty of hot water and water pressure. I also liked the flatscreen T.V. The hotel was half a block from Michigan Avenue, right in the heart of the best shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the Theater District.Plenty of great restaurants.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travlingal 77
Business
Green Bay WI
Apr 22, 2009

Exceptional as always!

I have stayed at the Affinia several times. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. The location is one block off of Michigan Ave, so you are very close to all that the Magnificent Mile has to offer. The room rates have been at least $80 to over $200 cheaper than other hotels nearby. The decor is chic and modern, I would describe it as staying in an upscale Ikea! They have in room massage service available which was also reasonably priced. I ate both in the restaurant and had room service ordered, and the food was excellent. Normally, hotels will add around $5-$10 dollars on the room service menus for the same meal, except luke warm, and this was not the case at the Affinia. If pizza/Italian is what you are craving, there is one of the original famous Chicago pizzeria's right next door. Parking is expensive,(cheaper than other hotels but still a bit high) but the ramp is right across the Street and it used by Northwestern Hospital, so if you do park yourself you can save a few dollars. Even though I am a business traveler, I do see many families staying there as well. I did mention noise being a possible negative. This IS downtown Chicago so if you are expecting chirping birds and a calm breeze outside your window, you might want to go elsewhere, but it is next to Northwestern Hospital so you will hear the occasional ambulance sirens. I stay at the Affinia whenever I have to be downtown, and have never been dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an excellent Thai restaurant called The Silver Spoon, where the prices are inexpensive but the food is super. Walk to Michigan, cross over and walk 1 block to Rush, take a Rt it will be on the lt hand side about 1 block down. The crab rangoons are yummy!

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oak Grove, *
May 11, 2008

Friendly, helpful staff. Appreciated their info and assistance.

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Location was 1/2 block off Michigan Ave & about 3-4 blocks from subway. Even if you were out of the general area at night, when you arrived back on the subway, there were people around. We never were concerned for our safety. There was construction going on in front of the hotel, but it didn't create any problems for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Italian restaurant next door, better to get there early.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakeland
Jul 1, 2008

Great value for your money

The Affinia Chicago was a bargain for our money. Great location (in the Loop). Staff was very friendly. Concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. Bellman gave great suggestions; such as visiting the Du Sable Museum (which was very interesting). I strongly recommend this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Property is in the heart of shopping. Bus stops are nearby.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 1, 2009

Great all around

This was one of the least expensive hotels in the area, and the staff was simply great. The room was clean, really nice, and the fact that they were pet friendly allowed us to bring our small dog on the vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is available around it - one block away from the magnificent mile, so anything you want or need is right there.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 11, 2007

GREAT LOCATION

Staying at the Affinia was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Although the lobby was under renovation, this did not interfere with the level of service. The construction times are very limited, so we were never bothered at all. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were beautifully appointed and comfortable. The hotel is less than a block from Michigan Ave., so we were within walking distance of great shopping and restaurants. I look forward to staying at the Affinia again and would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Ave. very close, great pizza next door at Gino's East.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
agurrutia
Merida, Yuc.
Feb 14, 2014

excelente hotel

Excelente hotel, good location, helpful service, good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top