$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

4 stars
View map of 166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zodiac665
Business
Macomb mi
Aug 8, 2014

Would stay again for sure

Great location right off mich ave. great hotel, clean friendly staff. Parking garage right around the corner. Reserved parking online thru another company. Definetly will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bloody Foot
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 25, 2014

Room Cleanliness Horrible!

Got this hotel for my girlfriend and I for a nice night downtown. We were getting ready for dinner and she stepped on a piece of glass on the floor by the bathroom and cut her foot pretty bad. After looking at the floor there was a lot of glass everywhere on our hotel room. We asked the front desk to clean it up. After they had "cleaned it up" there was still broken pieces of glass on the floor. For compensation we got one free drink at the bar, a couple small band aids and $7 back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Girl 1488
Business
Illinois
Jul 21, 2014

Nice for a night

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was pretty good if you don't mind walking for 20 minutes or so to everything. When we did take a cab, the hotel staff flagged one down for us immediately. The room was clean, but didn't look as nice, bright, big, or colorful as the pictures implied. The rooftop bar was really fun but overpriced. There were no vending machines which we thought was a bit odd? And no microwaves in the room... Overall, it was a good last-minute booking, and decent value (once I applied a 15% off promo code). Next time we'll probably try to book a hotel earlier and find one a bit closer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try XOCO!! It was delicious!

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goagain
Business
Portugal
Jul 18, 2014

Great location

To visit Chicago this is the perfect place. The atmosphere is lively and the staff very helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chicago cut

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rolelm
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jul 9, 2014

The Location-Location-Location

When I arrived the staff was quick and efficient in checking me in. The lobby looks great, comfy and modern. There are four elevators available to customers. We were on the 24th and 25th floor, from these floors we had great views without street noises, however we could hear everything going on in the hallways, even when it wasn't loud. The hallway carpeting looks old and grimy as does the carpeting in the rooms. The rooftop lounge is wonderful with great views, and a relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is located right off of the Magnificent Mile. It is also near the John Hankock building and the beach. We were able to walk to all the city sites, double decker/cruise tours. Overall, I feel I got my money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nice Cake
Business
Covington, KY
Jul 8, 2014

Perfect Location for a Weekend Trip to the City

My fiancee and I stayed at the hotel in December of 2013. For the price that we were able to book the hotel, it can't be beat. The location is very nice - super convenient to the Magnificent Mile shopping and just a short walk to the metro and some of our favorite restaurants. We were also able to find a very decent deal on parking in a garage not too far from the hotel. The staff was nice, the room was clean, and the hotel has a nice Chicago "boutique" hotel vibe. Overall, we had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We found a garage with a very decent rate for parking just west of the hotel where Huron meets Lake Shore!

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Em V
Business
Waukee, Iowa
Jul 6, 2014

Perfect Location!

My boyfriend and I decided on a last minute trip to Chicago for the 4th of July. We wanted to be close to the Magnificent Mile (Michigan Ave) & Navy Pier to watch the fireworks. The hotel was only a couple short blocks away from both. Also, short taxi ride away from all of the other great downtown sites. The staff was very friendly and were able to give good suggestions on restaurants close by. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough for our one night stay. If you want a view of the city, just ask to be placed on the highest floor at check-in. The staff were more than happy to accommodate our request. Overall it was a great choice in hotel for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

two great places to check out are Gino's (right next door to the hotel) for their pizza! Known for their Chicago deep dish, but we opted for the thin crust and it was still great! Also, Jake Melnick's Corner Tap is a fun bar/restaurant perfect for grabbing lunch. You have to try their Firecracker wings! So tasty! A lot of great craft beer choices as well.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foodiepie
Business
irvine, ca
Jun 25, 2014

great location, average hotel

This is a nicely located hotel with an 'average' (not great) four-star feel. You know how some nice three-star hotels can have that four-star vibe? Well this was the opposite-ish. On the bright side, this place is priced lower than many four-star hotels. I've stayed here several times over the past few years. You're right next to Gino's east and two blocks from Michigan Avenue, so the location is great. Pros: - floors are on the smaller side - no need to hike down to your room if it happens to be at the end of the hall. - location! - clean rooms Cons: - they claim to be eco friendly (and thanks for the full sized bath products - far less wasteful than the common mini sized ones). however, no recycle bins in the rooms... - parking in the area sucks, and self-park is $52. - beds were not super comfortable for me; I suppose I've been spoiled by Westin beds. - linens were not of four-star hotel quality. but still clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jared and Jenny Ribic
Business
Seattle
Jun 21, 2014

Beautiful Rooms, Excellent Price!

My wife and I stayed here in May 2014, and absolutely loved it. I took several pictures to share with our friends back in Seattle. They were jealous, and thought we were royalty or something, because of how nice and large the room was (700+ square feet)! Our first room was very nice (pictures below), but there was an issue with the air conditioning. We could have dealt with it if the windows opened, but they didn't so we asked for some help. The staff was VERY accommodating, and offered to upgrade us to their 2nd largest room! Having complimentary WiFi was great, but even better (for me) was the actual ethernet port. I was able to get crazy-fast speeds, which helped for uploading images. OUTLETS EVERYWHERE!!! This was so nice, compared to other places we've stayed. With photo equipment to charge, laptops, etc, we were never short on places to plug things in. I wish more hotels had plentiful outlets like this place! My only possible negative comment? This is completely nit-picking, but the TVs do not have HDMI input. So we were unable to plug in our Google Chromecast and stream Pandora or watch Netflix, etc. Again, it's only a very minor issue, as we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room. LOCATION - was excellent. We were directly on the Magnificent Mile, and within a couple blocks of the John Hancock Center. Theres a Walgreens right on the opposite corner of the block, where we were able to pick up a case of bottled water, and other supplies (sunscreen, etc). Right next to the hotel is Gino's East. A great place for Italian food, and there's always a huge line. But thanks to the good folks at MileNorth, they gave us a pass that let us get to the front of the line, and we were seated and enjoying a delicious dinner in no time! On our last day, we ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel, and it was great. There's also a STARBUCKS in the hotel lobby. We couldn't have been happier. Next time we go to Chicago, we're definitely staying here again, unless we bring our kids. It's a 21+ hotel, so no kids at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DLR0520
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jun 11, 2014

Long weekend getaway

First time at Milenorth. My wife and I wanted a nice long weekend on the Mag Mile for a few days following a meeting. Greeted by excellent front desk staff who were very helpful and friendly. Set up the architectural cruise for us. Lobby was very clean. Room was very clean. All staff was exceptional. Location was perfect. About 1-1/2 blocks from Michigan Ave but felt like you were in a quiet downtown neighborhood. The only problem was the family who decided to have a yelling and door slamming fight in the hall at 4:00 am. A lot of "I hate you" and "He's MY BOYFRIEND". Oh...the teen angst HAHA. But of course...that was not the hotel's fault. Overall the stay met all of our expectations and we will, definitely, be back. Oh yea...the lobby bar had a good draft beer selection too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the architectural boat tours. The guide was a recent grad of the U of Chicago School of Architecture. He was a wealth of knowledge and made the 90 minute trip seem like 5 minutes. Chicago architecture (even if you're not buff) is fascinating.

Back to menu Return to top