$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duluth Traveler
Business
Duluth, MN
Jan 18, 2012

Christmas Wonderland

Staying on the Magnificent Mile at Christmas was always a dream for my wife. She absolutely loved the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Leave your car at home! Everything is walking distance or through public transportation.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HeyBOY
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 8, 2012

Great Hotel-BUT

A very nice hotel-but why does a Quality property like this have to resort to "nickel & diming" guests. To pay for internet in room after paying TOP DOLLAR for Hotel Room just doesn't make cents. In addition, two (2) local calls to order a pizza added another couple of bucks onto the room tab. I'm a "Marriott" fan-but this was just EXCESSIVE. Great Location, but I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great CHICAGO Deep Dish Pizza just one block away @ PIZZARIA UNO.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nan buku
Business
chicago
Jan 7, 2012

Shopping

The the location of hotel was the best the lobby and bar was fun but no free internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mklynch
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Had the Best Stay

The location was perfect and I plan on coming back to this hotel in the near future. It is in the heart of all the shops, restaurants, and bars. I had such a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ktn123
Business
Chicago
Jan 3, 2012

Chicago Get A Way

While the hotel is very nice, our room was adjacent to the elevator shafts making it very noisy 24/7. It was comparable to Harley's driving by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy D.
Business
Lake Villa, IL
Jan 3, 2012

New Year's Eve

Pleasant experience. Friendly staff. The one thing I didn't like was that the lights were not on in the room when we first entered, so it was dark and disorienting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professional Student
Business
Minnesota, USA
Jan 3, 2012

New Years Eve

This Marriott was a comfortable place to stay with a fantastic location. There was some craziness with loud people around 2AM, but that was to be expected on a busy night. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shoppermom
Business
iowa
Dec 20, 2011

good location

hotel was in a great spot for shopping michigan ave., but room was small and bathroom was very small. didn't have hot water in sink...luckily, had hot water in shower. lobby was a fun place to kick back for a drink after shopping. only 1 drink as they were pretty pricey, but that seems to be common place in chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

could walk to lots of shops, then take bags back to hotel & go out again

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Christmas Adventu
Business
Bloomington, IL
Nov 29, 2011

Great Staff Makes for Great Stay

This hotel is in a great location, right beside the Northbridge/Nordstrom Mall and the Magnificent Mile. Check in was great and we got into our room early. The room was very nice, but unfortunately, the room was right below their laundry and across the hall from the elevator. The noise varied all night as the laundry washers and dryers spun, which was worse than a constant noise. We notified the management the next day and they moved us to a much better room so our second night was restful. The great staff work continued when I found I had left my scarf in the first room on our checkout day and they found it immediately and it had been bagged, labeled and cataloged so it could be found. Their main lobby area was large and when rain kept us from touring we settled down with our books and enjoyed our last afternoon waiting for the train back home. Again, great location, great service, and when we had a problem a great effort to resolve it. Still, I think they have very few rooms with problems, but if you get one just identify your problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnnybgame
Business
Michigan
Nov 28, 2011

Great location - great hotel

Upon arrival everything was as expected. Clean comfortable room, proficient staff. The cardio workout room and weight rooms were clean and well stocked. We did not order room service or dine in the hotel, so I can't comment. The lobby bar was always extremely busy, so it must have been good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Paris. Wonderful French Tapas style. Order the meatballs!!

Back to menu Return to top