$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kentucky
Jul 18, 2009

Great location!

This is the second time that I have enjoyed this hotel. The location is great! It's within walking distance to great shopping(Michigan Ave)as well as great art(The Art Institute of Chicago, The Museum of Contemporary Art). The staff is extremely helpful, especially the concierge staff. They will give you wonderful city maps to get you to your desired destination. The hotel is very nice. However, the rooms are small but still well appointed. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
michigan
Jul 13, 2009

good location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Louis, MO
Jul 12, 2009

DLD

You can't beat the location for walking. The staff was also more than helpful. Some say the rooms were a bit small, but I did not think so. They are comparable to other hotel rooms, unless you are used to a suite. I marked a little noisy because you are downtown & hear sirens. It really did not bother me, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to Wrigley Field, the Red Line is really close to hop to the game. We took that to the game & took a cab back. The cab was $15.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Michigan
Jul 10, 2009

Great location

Great location. Near many restaurants and shopping. Slow elevators in morning when people where checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Hampshire
Jul 9, 2009

Great view, great location

The hotel was located right on the Magnificent Mile giving us access to most of Chicago's must see places and restaurants. The people were happy to help and very nice. They even gave us our room for an extra hour at checkout and held our luggage for a couple hours so we did not have to lug it around while waiting for our flight out. I would definitely stay there again, no question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the free trolley to Navy Pier at the corner of Rush and Grand, almost right outside the door of the Marriott Mag mile.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
Jul 6, 2009

Lively atmosphere, friendly staff

Beautiful hotel. Breakfast was pricey but otherwise wonderful with large selection. The lobby, bar and restaurant were very inviting, comfortable and well decorated. The bed (mattress) was sooo comfortable. Floor-to-ceiling window provided great view from room. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kcnp
Family
Kansas City
Jul 5, 2009

Nice stay

Great location with view of Mag Mile and the lake. Good food in hotel restaurant. Down side was noisy people in hall and sirens on street below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

American girl place

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travling in style
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 5, 2009

The good and the bad

The hotel was very clean, staff friendly, and location fantastic! If you are looking for a hotel with a real antique feel, then this is the place for you. The only main complaint was that I was already paying a hefty price just to stay there, and when I wanted to use the gym, I only realized then that I had to pay an additional $18/day for gym access. Other than that, no complains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

walk along the river to the Navy Pier, beautiful!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plastics
Business
NY
Jun 27, 2009

Chicago Marriott

Great location, quiet room, and good facility as an old downtown hotel. Good for business travellers, but not great for family with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
EHT, NJ
Jun 24, 2009

Great hotel for price,service, location

This hotel was very clean, located close to shopping and restaurants, and had really nice accommodations. The price through Orbitz was very good. The restaurant was a little expensive but the food and service were good. No complaints. Would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top