$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
207 reviews
Bachelorette party weekend

Great location and had a very spacious room. Would stay here again. See full review

  • barth w.
  • Jun 10, 2015
Fantastic weekend in Chicago

This was our first trip to Chicago and it was perfect. The hotel,was very comfortable and our room... See full review

  • sharon w.
  • May 14, 2015

From the showpiece color-changing light feature behind the lobby bar, to the Art Deco-inspired lines of the Grand Staircase, the Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile hotel welcomes guests with a splash. Get online anywhere with Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply), while starting or ending your day with American cuisine fresh from the Midwest farm at the Harvest restaurant. There's a Starbucks on-site for those who need that caffeine fix in the morning as well.  Swim across the glassy surface of the indoor pool, or take the gym back to your room with a Fitness Kit, after a long day in the boardroom or out exploring.

Location

The Magnificent Mile neighborhood is home to a section of Michigan Avenue north of the Chicago River - with an impressive line - up of stores, from Bloomingdale's to The Disney Store - reaching south towards the business district and downtown area across the Chicago River. The neighborhood around the Marriott Downtown Hotel Chicago calls out to sporting enthusiasts, offering quick access to sailing and fishing at the nearby shores of Lake Michigan, and fitness trails at Milton Lee Olive Park to the east.

Highlights
  • 1,173 guestrooms
  • 25 suites
  • No pets allowed
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Harvest Restaurant
  • Rush Bar & Lounge
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour front desk
Fees
  • The weights room and pool are undergoing renovation works. The pool is having transition to state-of-the-art 9,000 square feet health club, which will open by fall 2015. Also, the cardio room will be available from 08 Jun to 31 Oct 2015.
Policies

If you're planning a long stay at the Marriott Downtown, note that some rooms are not equipped with a refrigerator, so you may need to request one.When getting around, most sights and amenities are accessible on foot or by the 'L' or local train network - skip the rental car and get an unlimited ride pass for a few days.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 207
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Regina, SK Canada
Jun 14, 2010

Big noisy hotel

We booked a king room, and were put into a small room with two standard beds. The hotel moved us the next day (with a bunch of hassle) to a king bed. The lobby was noisy, and the streets outside were constant sirens. We think a hotel of this calibre should have had a minibar/fridge, and even an in-room safe, but it had neither.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you make it to Buddy Guy's Legends nightclub. The new location is great. Take a cab for under $10, or walk if you have the time and energy.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Man 23
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 25, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

The hotel was very convenient to shopping and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile, but our room was nothing special. For the money, I was expecting something bigger and fancier. Yes, our room faced Michigan Avenue, but we couldn't see much but the roof top of the hotel restaurant. I was surprised that we would have to pay $15 for internet service -- something that should be included in this day and age. Several of the satellite TV channels didn't even work. We purchased the pre-paid self-parking deal, but the staff seemed confused about how it worked. We were actually double-charged for the parking and had to ask to get it credited back to our card. A few years ago we stayed at a Hampton Inn nearby and they provided complimentary roses and a neat sign to help celebrate our anniversary. This time I had to pay $34 for a small bowl of fruit. Next time we'll stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shayna
Business
St Charles, IL
Nov 26, 2012

Just OK

Our room was very small and the bed was not very comfortable. The hotel itself was a good location for all that we had planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scotty from new york
Business
Pomona, new york
Aug 31, 2010

not that magnificant at marriott

Vacation in Chicago. Firefighters convention in town. Marriott would not accomodate my girlfriend and I with King size bed which made for very uncomfortable nights. Great looking bar which was difficult to get to because of the convention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in immediate area. Concierge very helpful.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
medford ma
Sep 8, 2009

great location

very crowded, bed very uncomfortable, small bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

joes stone crab , great dining

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 25, 2009

wellll.................

Great location, extraordinary parking fees, small rooms and tiny bathrooms~ Saving grace is that Chicago is a first rate, fun city and the location of this hotel was the primary determinant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc, n
Mar 22, 2010

Chicago Marriott Dntwn Magnificant Mile

Housekeeping was overwhelmed. Restaurant was overwhelmed and blah. Concierge was helpful and quick to respond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If bad weather, go to one of the malls attached to the larger stores (Nordstroms or Macys)

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jun 27, 2010

Not as nice as last few stays here.

Noisy sawing on floor above us at 3:00AM. Gave us the wrong room at checkin. Disappointed with this hotel this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Regina, SK Canada
Jun 14, 2010

Big noisy hotel

We booked a king room, and were put into a small room with two standard beds. The hotel moved us the next day (with a bunch of hassle) to a king bed. The lobby was noisy, and the streets outside were constant sirens. We think a hotel of this calibre should have had a minibar/fridge, and even an in-room safe, but it had neither.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you make it to Buddy Guy's Legends nightclub. The new location is great. Take a cab for under $10, or walk if you have the time and energy.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborahble
Business
Plymouth Meeting Pa 19462
Aug 18, 2009

vacation in chicago

We did not realize that we really didn't need a rental car & we were not aware that it was $33.00 a night for parking. We could have stayed longer if we did not rent a car & have to pay for parking.other wise our trip was wonderful . Your staff was very friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I really loved having a starbucks right in the hotel

Back to menu Return to top