$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northern MN travelers.
Business
Cotton, MN
Jun 15, 2009

Chicago! What a great place!

It's is a great town. We were impressed by how everyone was friendly, and helpful. We asked a lot of people where to go, and how to get there (both the hotel staff and locals on the street). Everyone was able and willing to answer our questions. The downtown area was safe and easy to walk to almost everything. We attended the Cubs/Twins game on Saturday so we rode the L-train to Wrigleyville. It was easy and we didn't have to worry about where to park or if we would be stuck in traffic. The Marriott was right in the middle of everything, and only 2 blocks from where to board the L-train. Our only regret is that we didn't stay another day. Allow yourselves at least an hour to get into the downtown area (traffic). Be patient, it is worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat early to avoid the waiting. The best Pizza places have about an hour or two waiting list. We ate at 5:00 pm the first night and got in right away, and 6:00 pm the second night and had to wait 1 hour. By the time we were done eating the waiting list was 2 hours. Go online to get a map of Chicago's downtown area, and what is available to you. You will find the best restaurants that range from inexpensive to high end dining to keep you in budget. It also tells you the dress code required for each. Do your homework ahead of time to save time and make sure you don't miss out on anything that is available. The only downside is that the restaurants serving liquor (which was many of the ones we wanted to go to) did not allow anyone under 21 inside after 8 pm. Our son is 20, which limited us to where we could go. We should've waited one more year to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico
Jun 13, 2011

chicago

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashland, OR
Sep 14, 2009

Great hotel, excellent location!

The hotel is located on the Magnificant Mile. Right in the middle of shopping and great food. I was able to walk to all the major sites (Hancock tower, Millinium Park, Navy Pier, Lake Shore Drive, Art Inst of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium) from this hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff were receptive and helpful. I could hear the street noise from the room (mainly sirens and honking), but nothing more than I expect from a big city. I was very happy with my hotel stay and would highly recommend this hotel for business or leisure travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Volare italian resturant is within 2 blocks east of the hotel. The food is authentically italian. Book a reservation or go early as it was very busy but worth the wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westland, MI
Jul 5, 2011

Top-Notch Hospitality

Everyone went out of their way to see that our needs were met. Very customer friendly, and courtious. If we had one complaint, it was that the Dining was very expensive. It was almost like they WANT you to go elsewhere. Service was outstanding, but $20 for a breakfast is a bit steep. It was also $20 for a Burger and Fries. The room was clean, and the bed was Very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeley
Business
Woodhaven, MI, USA
Aug 27, 2011

wanted to stay there forever!

Beautiful! Clean! Friendly staff! Right in the heart of downtown Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Jun 15, 2010

fun in chicago

great location can walk to many great bars and restaraunts also buses and subway close by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kosmom
Business
Libertyville, IL
Jul 5, 2014

staycation fun

This hotel was perfect. The beds were very comfortable; the workout area was great; the view fantastic and the location ideal. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skal07
Business
Illinois
Sep 2, 2014

Very pleased

This was our first stay here. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and about the same size as other hotels we've stayed in before. Great location right on michigan ave. Price was one of the lowest I found which is why I tried a new place and I definitely was not disappointed. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry H.
Business
Joplin
Jan 12, 2015

expensive marothon

Great service, @ a price. Not for your average traveler. Worth it if your on the company dime or looking for some tax write off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carl A.
Business
Carson
Feb 12, 2015

Great Couples Getaway

Everything was as advertised and more. The biggest quality was the helpful and always pleasant staff. Definitely will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top