$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom the Granddad
Cincinnati, Ohio
Dec 27, 2012

Just what we needed

The hotel did all we asked of them. Personnel were unfailingly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny South
Business
Tampa Florida
Nov 27, 2011

from the Sunny South

Location is fabulous, on Magnificent Mile. Great shopping and restaurants just steps away. Lobby is attractive, pool large, steam room good. Exercise room great, with TVs. Beds are comfy. Don't get a room adjacent to the elevators because you will hear the elevator mechanism all day and night. Nobody thought about soundproofing the shaft apparently. Kind of a white noise, not terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

North Bridge shopping mall practically adjacent to hotel, with high end stores: Nordstrom, Sephora etc.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creed
Business
Somerset, KY
Oct 27, 2011

Business trip

Everything was good overall. It was a pleasurable business experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1CheckYourSheets
Business
Illinois, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Chicago Marathon Family 2011

The location was very good. The room was average, except, when we turned the sheets back on our bed, closest to the door, there were long black hairs on top of, and under the pillows. I called down, asked for new sheets, it was about 8:30pm. I had to call again, after 10pm. Then, I went down to the desk. I changed the sheets, myself, at 12am. We had to be at Grant Park by 6am. Room needed a fridge, that would have cut down on the trips to get ice. Scott, who supervises the "Bee" program should be commended for his efforts in honey harvesting and natural pollination. Clara from the pool/9th floor areas should be commended for her efforts to make sure everyone had what they needed. Clara also spoke to many of us about the "Bee" program and hives, that are kept on the roof of the 9th floor, here at the Marriott Mag. Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places, just a block or two away. Weber is a bit pricey for the menu items. R & B Grill was also very pricey, with a long wait. Several smaller eateries get you in your seat, between 10-20 minutes. Their menus are varied with numerous items, the food is good, the price is fair, and the service is great!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from Minneapolis
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great time on Magnificent Mile!

Great hotel. Great location. Great service. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier is great.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seeley
Business
Woodhaven, MI, USA
Aug 27, 2011

wanted to stay there forever!

Beautiful! Clean! Friendly staff! Right in the heart of downtown Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monika
Business
La Grange, IL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great stay

Very friendly staff. Room size what you would expect in downtown Chicago. Clean. Very comfortable beds. Quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamon
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Good family getaway experience

we had issues with the check in process when we got to the hotel. It took about one hour. They couldn't find the reservation in the hotel system. After a while they found it using Orbitz reservation code. They said the problem was that the communication between Orbitz and the hotel was corrupted???? Despite these issues they were not able to provide anything to make up for for the bad experience. No free upgrade, breakfast or free parking!! The rest of the stay went well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamon
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Good family getaway experience

we had issues with the check in process when we got to the hotel. It took about one hour. They couldn't find the reservation in the hotel system. After a while they found it using Orbitz reservation code. They said the problem was that the communication between Orbitz and the hotel was corrupted???? Despite these issues they were not able to provide anything to make up for for the bad experience. No free upgrade, breakfast or free parking!! The rest of the stay went well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westland, MI
Jul 5, 2011

Top-Notch Hospitality

Everyone went out of their way to see that our needs were met. Very customer friendly, and courtious. If we had one complaint, it was that the Dining was very expensive. It was almost like they WANT you to go elsewhere. Service was outstanding, but $20 for a breakfast is a bit steep. It was also $20 for a Burger and Fries. The room was clean, and the bed was Very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Joliet, IL
Jun 22, 2011

Nice, friendly place

Walked and rode trolley to Navy Pier. Really great location. City parking is expensive,tho. $107 for 3 days!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top