$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy D.
Business
Lake Villa, IL
Jan 3, 2012

New Year's Eve

Pleasant experience. Friendly staff. The one thing I didn't like was that the lights were not on in the room when we first entered, so it was dark and disorienting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professional Student
Business
Minnesota, USA
Jan 3, 2012

New Years Eve

This Marriott was a comfortable place to stay with a fantastic location. There was some craziness with loud people around 2AM, but that was to be expected on a busy night. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE Weekend Guest
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Location, Great Price

The location of our hotel was amazing. Literally right next to the downtown Forever 21 on Michicgan Ave, and within walking distance of pretty much everything. I travel down to Chicago a lot of leisure and for the price I got it at, I thought it was great. If you are seeking something a little more luxurious, i would recommend something better, but for comfort for a leisure weekend in Chicago, this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shoppermom
Business
iowa
Dec 20, 2011

good location

hotel was in a great spot for shopping michigan ave., but room was small and bathroom was very small. didn't have hot water in sink...luckily, had hot water in shower. lobby was a fun place to kick back for a drink after shopping. only 1 drink as they were pretty pricey, but that seems to be common place in chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

could walk to lots of shops, then take bags back to hotel & go out again

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Christmas Adventu
Business
Bloomington, IL
Nov 29, 2011

Great Staff Makes for Great Stay

This hotel is in a great location, right beside the Northbridge/Nordstrom Mall and the Magnificent Mile. Check in was great and we got into our room early. The room was very nice, but unfortunately, the room was right below their laundry and across the hall from the elevator. The noise varied all night as the laundry washers and dryers spun, which was worse than a constant noise. We notified the management the next day and they moved us to a much better room so our second night was restful. The great staff work continued when I found I had left my scarf in the first room on our checkout day and they found it immediately and it had been bagged, labeled and cataloged so it could be found. Their main lobby area was large and when rain kept us from touring we settled down with our books and enjoyed our last afternoon waiting for the train back home. Again, great location, great service, and when we had a problem a great effort to resolve it. Still, I think they have very few rooms with problems, but if you get one just identify your problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuzieQ1220
Business
Warrenville, IL, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Place to Drop after shopping!

My two daughters and I always spend the day after Thanksgiving shopping downtown. This was the perfect place to stay. Close to shopping. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnnybgame
Business
Michigan
Nov 28, 2011

Great location - great hotel

Upon arrival everything was as expected. Clean comfortable room, proficient staff. The cardio workout room and weight rooms were clean and well stocked. We did not order room service or dine in the hotel, so I can't comment. The lobby bar was always extremely busy, so it must have been good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Paris. Wonderful French Tapas style. Order the meatballs!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny South
Business
Tampa Florida
Nov 27, 2011

from the Sunny South

Location is fabulous, on Magnificent Mile. Great shopping and restaurants just steps away. Lobby is attractive, pool large, steam room good. Exercise room great, with TVs. Beds are comfy. Don't get a room adjacent to the elevators because you will hear the elevator mechanism all day and night. Nobody thought about soundproofing the shaft apparently. Kind of a white noise, not terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

North Bridge shopping mall practically adjacent to hotel, with high end stores: Nordstrom, Sephora etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creed
Business
Somerset, KY
Oct 27, 2011

Business trip

Everything was good overall. It was a pleasurable business experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1CheckYourSheets
Business
Illinois, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Chicago Marathon Family 2011

The location was very good. The room was average, except, when we turned the sheets back on our bed, closest to the door, there were long black hairs on top of, and under the pillows. I called down, asked for new sheets, it was about 8:30pm. I had to call again, after 10pm. Then, I went down to the desk. I changed the sheets, myself, at 12am. We had to be at Grant Park by 6am. Room needed a fridge, that would have cut down on the trips to get ice. Scott, who supervises the "Bee" program should be commended for his efforts in honey harvesting and natural pollination. Clara from the pool/9th floor areas should be commended for her efforts to make sure everyone had what they needed. Clara also spoke to many of us about the "Bee" program and hives, that are kept on the roof of the 9th floor, here at the Marriott Mag. Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places, just a block or two away. Weber is a bit pricey for the menu items. R & B Grill was also very pricey, with a long wait. Several smaller eateries get you in your seat, between 10-20 minutes. Their menus are varied with numerous items, the food is good, the price is fair, and the service is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top