$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nerak73
Family
Brampton, ON
May 22, 2012

Prime Location!!

This hotel is in the PERFECT location if you have never been to Chicago. A short walk in any direction and you are where you want to go. Navy Pier, CloudGate, and the Water Tower district are all just minutes away. There are excellent breakfast locations just minutes from the door. Dinner in the loop is a nice evening walk. The area is extremely safe (and we were there during NATO). The architecture of the area is beautiful. If I were to go back to Chicago I wouldn't look at other hotels, I'd reserve with Marriott again without thinking about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggsperience for breakfast is a must!!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magichour
Couples
Schoolcraft, MI
Aug 29, 2012

Great people

It's always a little weird going in wondering if you'll get a king or a double. I requested a king bed and got it and I requested a higher floor and got 28 out of 45. That was alright, but I should have asked for a city view room. They gave us a lake view and I thought, "wow, cool, romantic", but it was not much of a view and the buildings you did look at were junky. I also noticed everyone going to higher floors than us, which erked me. So for that it wasn't worth the money. Great location and wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dougie baseball
Couples
Wheaton, MN
Sep 3, 2012

we had a great time.

we had a wonderful experience at the Marriot. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

the Navey pier was a good time. We seen some good entertainment.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeniorGal
Friends
Dubuque,Iowa
Oct 31, 2012

Michigan Avenue perfect!

The location was perfect for a girls' shopping trip. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewYorkerinChicago
Business
NY
Dec 9, 2012

Nice enough conference center

The Marriott Downtown is a great big conference center. The bed was especially comfortable, the location was great, the common space downstairs with the bar is fun. The shower was not sufficiently hot. The room lacked an electrical outlet by the bed. The phones cannot be hung up without putting the receive back on the phone itself. But, apart from those issues, it was a comfortable room with a great view in a fun big hotel located in the center of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pennsy girl
Couples
Jenkintown, PA
Dec 17, 2012

Quick weekend getaway

Was in walking distance to great shopping, restaurants, parks, entertainment. The room walls, however, are very thin and had an issue with the room next door being very loud late at night. We brought the issue to the front desk's attention and they immediately sent security to the room to diffuse the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoot 597
Family
Spring Valley, Illinois
Dec 17, 2012

Marriott Mag Mile

Wonderful motel, great location and even better staff. My family and I totally enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gino's east awesome pizza, ask concerie for perferred seating, and you get right in.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
terrific teachers
Friends
michigan
Dec 17, 2012

holiday vacation

The staff was great! Very nice and helpful! Super breakfast buffet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Fun74
Family
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2013

Great Location

Awesome views, great location, and great value !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma' bunch
Family
Milwaukee
Dec 30, 2012

Holiday weekend

We had one problem upon arrival - the room we received only had one king bed and their were 4 of us. When we called the desk - the staff bent over backwards to find us a room that accomodated all 4 of us. They were at 92% capacity - but did find us a room! I cannot say enough about the staff. They really bent over backwards. We had a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top