$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BartuFB
Istanbul
Aug 8, 2012

Great holiday in Chicago

Location is very good. Hotel and rooms was very clean.Concierge team was helpful, there was no limit on the services. Only computer use for internet could be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michael Jordan steak house. It was perfect for dinner.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Man 23
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 25, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

The hotel was very convenient to shopping and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile, but our room was nothing special. For the money, I was expecting something bigger and fancier. Yes, our room faced Michigan Avenue, but we couldn't see much but the roof top of the hotel restaurant. I was surprised that we would have to pay $15 for internet service -- something that should be included in this day and age. Several of the satellite TV channels didn't even work. We purchased the pre-paid self-parking deal, but the staff seemed confused about how it worked. We were actually double-charged for the parking and had to ask to get it credited back to our card. A few years ago we stayed at a Hampton Inn nearby and they provided complimentary roses and a neat sign to help celebrate our anniversary. This time I had to pay $34 for a small bowl of fruit. Next time we'll stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dougie baseball
Business
Wheaton, MN
Sep 3, 2012

we had a great time.

we had a wonderful experience at the Marriot. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

the Navey pier was a good time. We seen some good entertainment.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magichour
Business
Schoolcraft, MI
Aug 29, 2012

Great people

It's always a little weird going in wondering if you'll get a king or a double. I requested a king bed and got it and I requested a higher floor and got 28 out of 45. That was alright, but I should have asked for a city view room. They gave us a lake view and I thought, "wow, cool, romantic", but it was not much of a view and the buildings you did look at were junky. I also noticed everyone going to higher floors than us, which erked me. So for that it wasn't worth the money. Great location and wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busness traveller
Business
New York
Aug 16, 2012

Just not up to the mark

Toilet was not clean Staff was not friendly Does not live up to the name or brand

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
APGiordano
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2012

Nice!

Beautiful hotel! Everything was clean and the lobby is beautiful. We had a great view of Michigan Ave and has an awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nerak73
Business
Brampton, ON
May 22, 2012

Prime Location!!

This hotel is in the PERFECT location if you have never been to Chicago. A short walk in any direction and you are where you want to go. Navy Pier, CloudGate, and the Water Tower district are all just minutes away. There are excellent breakfast locations just minutes from the door. Dinner in the loop is a nice evening walk. The area is extremely safe (and we were there during NATO). The architecture of the area is beautiful. If I were to go back to Chicago I wouldn't look at other hotels, I'd reserve with Marriott again without thinking about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggsperience for breakfast is a must!!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smaturan
Business
Chile
Apr 26, 2012

Good for shopping

Very good hotel, excellent location. Rooms are large and neat. My only complaint is that you can hear conversations from other rooms. It is also a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's Hot Dogs at 100 West Ontario Street, is fun and inexpensive. Great american food.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frickinlazer
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Location. Location, location

At the heart of everything in downtown Chicago. Friendly, helpful staff made it a pleasant place to "come home to".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proffitt
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 15, 2012

Great place to stay during my son's Spring Break!

Overall great experience, although the room was a little small...BUT, I have stayed in much smaller rooms in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The locations was great!

Back to menu Return to top