$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
272 reviews
staycation fun

This hotel was perfect. The beds were very comfortable; the workout area was great; the view... See full review

  • kosmom
  • Jul 5, 2014
Great location

The hotel was the perfect choice in it was easy walking from the theater district and State Street... See full review

  • Joanne2141
  • Dec 23, 2013
From the showpiece color-changing light feature behind the lobby bar, to the Art Deco-inspired lines of the Grand Staircase, the Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile hotel welcomes guests with a splash. Get online anywhere with Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply), while starting or ending your day with American cuisine fresh from the Midwest farm at the Harvest restaurant. There's a Starbucks on-site for those who need that caffeine fix in the morning as well.  Swim across the glassy surface of the indoor pool, or take the gym back to your room with a Fitness Kit, after a long day in the boardroom or out exploring.
Key facts
  • 1,173 guestrooms
  • 25 suites
  • No pets allowed
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Harvest Restaurant
  • Rush Bar & Lounge
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Magnificent Mile neighborhood is home to a section of Michigan Avenue north of the Chicago River - with an impressive line - up of stores, from Bloomingdale's to The Disney Store - reaching south towards the business district and downtown area across the Chicago River. The neighborhood around the Marriott Downtown Hotel Chicago calls out to sporting enthusiasts, offering quick access to sailing and fishing at the nearby shores of Lake Michigan, and fitness trails at Milton Lee Olive Park to the east.
Hints and tips
If you're planning a long stay at the Marriott Downtown, note that some rooms are not equipped with a refrigerator, so you may need to request one.When getting around, most sights and amenities are accessible on foot or by the 'L' or local train network - skip the rental car and get an unlimited ride pass for a few days.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8919 -87.6254
Area served
Magnificent Mile, Chicago
Nearby airports
Chicago/OHare, (ORD), 15.00, SE, Mile; Chicago/Midway, (MDW), 12.00, NE, Mile
Area description
City - Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (272)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
APGiordano
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2012

Nice!

Beautiful hotel! Everything was clean and the lobby is beautiful. We had a great view of Michigan Ave and has an awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE Weekend Guest
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Location, Great Price

The location of our hotel was amazing. Literally right next to the downtown Forever 21 on Michicgan Ave, and within walking distance of pretty much everything. I travel down to Chicago a lot of leisure and for the price I got it at, I thought it was great. If you are seeking something a little more luxurious, i would recommend something better, but for comfort for a leisure weekend in Chicago, this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shoppermom
iowa
Dec 20, 2011

good location

hotel was in a great spot for shopping michigan ave., but room was small and bathroom was very small. didn't have hot water in sink...luckily, had hot water in shower. lobby was a fun place to kick back for a drink after shopping. only 1 drink as they were pretty pricey, but that seems to be common place in chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

could walk to lots of shops, then take bags back to hotel & go out again

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Christmas Adventu
Bloomington, IL
Nov 29, 2011

Great Staff Makes for Great Stay

This hotel is in a great location, right beside the Northbridge/Nordstrom Mall and the Magnificent Mile. Check in was great and we got into our room early. The room was very nice, but unfortunately, the room was right below their laundry and across the hall from the elevator. The noise varied all night as the laundry washers and dryers spun, which was worse than a constant noise. We notified the management the next day and they moved us to a much better room so our second night was restful. The great staff work continued when I found I had left my scarf in the first room on our checkout day and they found it immediately and it had been bagged, labeled and cataloged so it could be found. Their main lobby area was large and when rain kept us from touring we settled down with our books and enjoyed our last afternoon waiting for the train back home. Again, great location, great service, and when we had a problem a great effort to resolve it. Still, I think they have very few rooms with problems, but if you get one just identify your problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnnybgame
Michigan
Nov 28, 2011

Great location - great hotel

Upon arrival everything was as expected. Clean comfortable room, proficient staff. The cardio workout room and weight rooms were clean and well stocked. We did not order room service or dine in the hotel, so I can't comment. The lobby bar was always extremely busy, so it must have been good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Paris. Wonderful French Tapas style. Order the meatballs!!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuzieQ1220
Warrenville, IL, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Place to Drop after shopping!

My two daughters and I always spend the day after Thanksgiving shopping downtown. This was the perfect place to stay. Close to shopping. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny South
Tampa Florida
Nov 27, 2011

from the Sunny South

Location is fabulous, on Magnificent Mile. Great shopping and restaurants just steps away. Lobby is attractive, pool large, steam room good. Exercise room great, with TVs. Beds are comfy. Don't get a room adjacent to the elevators because you will hear the elevator mechanism all day and night. Nobody thought about soundproofing the shaft apparently. Kind of a white noise, not terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

North Bridge shopping mall practically adjacent to hotel, with high end stores: Nordstrom, Sephora etc.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creed
Business
Somerset, KY
Oct 27, 2011

Business trip

Everything was good overall. It was a pleasurable business experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1CheckYourSheets
Illinois, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Chicago Marathon Family 2011

The location was very good. The room was average, except, when we turned the sheets back on our bed, closest to the door, there were long black hairs on top of, and under the pillows. I called down, asked for new sheets, it was about 8:30pm. I had to call again, after 10pm. Then, I went down to the desk. I changed the sheets, myself, at 12am. We had to be at Grant Park by 6am. Room needed a fridge, that would have cut down on the trips to get ice. Scott, who supervises the "Bee" program should be commended for his efforts in honey harvesting and natural pollination. Clara from the pool/9th floor areas should be commended for her efforts to make sure everyone had what they needed. Clara also spoke to many of us about the "Bee" program and hives, that are kept on the roof of the 9th floor, here at the Marriott Mag. Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places, just a block or two away. Weber is a bit pricey for the menu items. R & B Grill was also very pricey, with a long wait. Several smaller eateries get you in your seat, between 10-20 minutes. Their menus are varied with numerous items, the food is good, the price is fair, and the service is great!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from Minneapolis
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great time on Magnificent Mile!

Great hotel. Great location. Great service. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier is great.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from Minneapolis
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great time on Magnificent Mile!

Great hotel. Great location. Great service. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier is great.

Back to menu Return to top