$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom the Granddad
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Dec 27, 2012

Just what we needed

The hotel did all we asked of them. Personnel were unfailingly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa rose
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Dec 26, 2012

Christmas shopping

This hotel is excellent in every way...should be rated a 5-star!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pennsy girl
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Dec 17, 2012

Quick weekend getaway

Was in walking distance to great shopping, restaurants, parks, entertainment. The room walls, however, are very thin and had an issue with the room next door being very loud late at night. We brought the issue to the front desk's attention and they immediately sent security to the room to diffuse the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoot 597
Business
Spring Valley, Illinois
Dec 17, 2012

Marriott Mag Mile

Wonderful motel, great location and even better staff. My family and I totally enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gino's east awesome pizza, ask concerie for perferred seating, and you get right in.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
terrific teachers
Business
michigan
Dec 17, 2012

holiday vacation

The staff was great! Very nice and helpful! Super breakfast buffet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewYorkerinChicago
Business
NY
Dec 9, 2012

Nice enough conference center

The Marriott Downtown is a great big conference center. The bed was especially comfortable, the location was great, the common space downstairs with the bar is fun. The shower was not sufficiently hot. The room lacked an electrical outlet by the bed. The phones cannot be hung up without putting the receive back on the phone itself. But, apart from those issues, it was a comfortable room with a great view in a fun big hotel located in the center of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shayna
Business
St Charles, IL
Nov 26, 2012

Just OK

Our room was very small and the bed was not very comfortable. The hotel itself was a good location for all that we had planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CMArgitK
Business
Traverse City,MI
Nov 25, 2012

Nice stay

Nice location. Perfect for shopping, why does weekend rate have to be twice as much????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call ahead so you don't have to wait for any restaurant.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mplstraveler
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 25, 2012

Not good service

We stayed at this exact same hotel last year and booked through this website. We had a great experience with a wonderful room. This year, we were put in a room for one person with only one bed - we were told that if we had booked through Marriot's website, we could request two beds, but through this service we got one bed and pull-out sofa. The sofa was uncomfortable and freezing cold right by the window. Actually, the entire room was cold - the window let a lot of cold air in. Also, when we called to the front desk for extra blankets and pillows for the sofa, we had to call three times and housekeeping still arrived empty-handed wondering what we wanted. The shower was cold both a.m. and p.m. The concierge gave me the wrong directions for the Christkindlemarkt and misinformed me regarding wifi availability. Overall, not good customer service. Maybe they have changed management or were short-staffed or something, but if Marriot is going to treat customers who book through online services like second class citizens, they should not accept any bookings that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeniorGal
Business
Dubuque,Iowa
Oct 31, 2012

Michigan Avenue perfect!

The location was perfect for a girls' shopping trip. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top