$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
184 reviews
expensive marothon

Great service, @ a price. Not for your average traveler. Worth it if your on the company dime or... See full review

  • Larry H.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Very pleased

This was our first stay here. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and about the same size as... See full review

  • skal07
  • Sep 2, 2014
From the showpiece color-changing light feature behind the lobby bar, to the Art Deco-inspired lines of the Grand Staircase, the Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile hotel welcomes guests with a splash. Get online anywhere with Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply), while starting or ending your day with American cuisine fresh from the Midwest farm at the Harvest restaurant. There's a Starbucks on-site for those who need that caffeine fix in the morning as well.  Swim across the glassy surface of the indoor pool, or take the gym back to your room with a Fitness Kit, after a long day in the boardroom or out exploring.
Key facts
  • 1,173 guestrooms
  • 25 suites
  • No pets allowed
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Harvest Restaurant
  • Rush Bar & Lounge
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Magnificent Mile neighborhood is home to a section of Michigan Avenue north of the Chicago River - with an impressive line - up of stores, from Bloomingdale's to The Disney Store - reaching south towards the business district and downtown area across the Chicago River. The neighborhood around the Marriott Downtown Hotel Chicago calls out to sporting enthusiasts, offering quick access to sailing and fishing at the nearby shores of Lake Michigan, and fitness trails at Milton Lee Olive Park to the east.
Hints and tips
If you're planning a long stay at the Marriott Downtown, note that some rooms are not equipped with a refrigerator, so you may need to request one.When getting around, most sights and amenities are accessible on foot or by the 'L' or local train network - skip the rental car and get an unlimited ride pass for a few days.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CMArgitK
Business
Traverse City,MI
Nov 25, 2012

Nice stay

Nice location. Perfect for shopping, why does weekend rate have to be twice as much????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call ahead so you don't have to wait for any restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mplstraveler
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 25, 2012

Not good service

We stayed at this exact same hotel last year and booked through this website. We had a great experience with a wonderful room. This year, we were put in a room for one person with only one bed - we were told that if we had booked through Marriot's website, we could request two beds, but through this service we got one bed and pull-out sofa. The sofa was uncomfortable and freezing cold right by the window. Actually, the entire room was cold - the window let a lot of cold air in. Also, when we called to the front desk for extra blankets and pillows for the sofa, we had to call three times and housekeeping still arrived empty-handed wondering what we wanted. The shower was cold both a.m. and p.m. The concierge gave me the wrong directions for the Christkindlemarkt and misinformed me regarding wifi availability. Overall, not good customer service. Maybe they have changed management or were short-staffed or something, but if Marriot is going to treat customers who book through online services like second class citizens, they should not accept any bookings that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeniorGal
Business
Dubuque,Iowa
Oct 31, 2012

Michigan Avenue perfect!

The location was perfect for a girls' shopping trip. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Man 23
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 25, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

The hotel was very convenient to shopping and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile, but our room was nothing special. For the money, I was expecting something bigger and fancier. Yes, our room faced Michigan Avenue, but we couldn't see much but the roof top of the hotel restaurant. I was surprised that we would have to pay $15 for internet service -- something that should be included in this day and age. Several of the satellite TV channels didn't even work. We purchased the pre-paid self-parking deal, but the staff seemed confused about how it worked. We were actually double-charged for the parking and had to ask to get it credited back to our card. A few years ago we stayed at a Hampton Inn nearby and they provided complimentary roses and a neat sign to help celebrate our anniversary. This time I had to pay $34 for a small bowl of fruit. Next time we'll stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dougie baseball
Business
Wheaton, MN
Sep 3, 2012

we had a great time.

we had a wonderful experience at the Marriot. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

the Navey pier was a good time. We seen some good entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magichour
Business
Schoolcraft, MI
Aug 29, 2012

Great people

It's always a little weird going in wondering if you'll get a king or a double. I requested a king bed and got it and I requested a higher floor and got 28 out of 45. That was alright, but I should have asked for a city view room. They gave us a lake view and I thought, "wow, cool, romantic", but it was not much of a view and the buildings you did look at were junky. I also noticed everyone going to higher floors than us, which erked me. So for that it wasn't worth the money. Great location and wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busness traveller
Business
New York
Aug 16, 2012

Just not up to the mark

Toilet was not clean Staff was not friendly Does not live up to the name or brand

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BartuFB
Business
Istanbul
Aug 8, 2012

Great holiday in Chicago

Location is very good. Hotel and rooms was very clean.Concierge team was helpful, there was no limit on the services. Only computer use for internet could be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michael Jordan steak house. It was perfect for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
APGiordano
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2012

Nice!

Beautiful hotel! Everything was clean and the lobby is beautiful. We had a great view of Michigan Ave and has an awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nerak73
Business
Brampton, ON
May 22, 2012

Prime Location!!

This hotel is in the PERFECT location if you have never been to Chicago. A short walk in any direction and you are where you want to go. Navy Pier, CloudGate, and the Water Tower district are all just minutes away. There are excellent breakfast locations just minutes from the door. Dinner in the loop is a nice evening walk. The area is extremely safe (and we were there during NATO). The architecture of the area is beautiful. If I were to go back to Chicago I wouldn't look at other hotels, I'd reserve with Marriott again without thinking about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggsperience for breakfast is a must!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top