$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amb85
Friends
Chicago
Jul 28, 2014

Girls' weekend

The location was great, in the middle of it all. Since we were out and about all weekend, we just needed a place to crash at night and this fit the bill. Nothing fancy, but it was clean and everything was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Chicago Tourist
Family
Seattle, WA
Dec 9, 2014

Awesome Family Trip

It was my first visit to Chicago with my family, so we didn't really know what we were going to do yet. Luckily this hotel's location couldn't be more perfect. It was very easy for us to get to the heart of the city. However, we were a bit disappointed with the size of the room. It looks so much bigger on the picture, and the bathroom could use a little touch of new design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bulldog Mom18
Friends
Elida OH
Feb 14, 2014

Shopping Getaway

We picked this hotel because of the location and we weren't disappointed. And it turned out to be a great hotel within walking distance to all the places we wanted to see in a short period of time. While the rooms were on the small side I didn't plan on staying inside my room so it didn't really matter. With that being said, there were 4 of us in our room and it was extremely hot. There was no way to turn the temperature down to make it any cooler. We had it on 48 and it never got cooler. On top of that there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom so between showering you had to let it cool off just so the next person could get in. All in all I would stay here again because it was a good hotel with a competent staff and an ideal location. We took advantage of the self park to save us some shopping money and it was close to the hotel so it worked out great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rockit Bar & Grill is located at 22 W Hubbard. This is a great place to sit and watch a game or just dine on not your typical bar food. The DJ is pretty good too!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamon
Family
Madison, WI, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Good family getaway experience

we had issues with the check in process when we got to the hotel. It took about one hour. They couldn't find the reservation in the hotel system. After a while they found it using Orbitz reservation code. They said the problem was that the communication between Orbitz and the hotel was corrupted???? Despite these issues they were not able to provide anything to make up for for the bad experience. No free upgrade, breakfast or free parking!! The rest of the stay went well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creed
Business
Somerset, KY
Oct 27, 2011

Business trip

Everything was good overall. It was a pleasurable business experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny South
Single
Tampa Florida
Nov 27, 2011

from the Sunny South

Location is fabulous, on Magnificent Mile. Great shopping and restaurants just steps away. Lobby is attractive, pool large, steam room good. Exercise room great, with TVs. Beds are comfy. Don't get a room adjacent to the elevators because you will hear the elevator mechanism all day and night. Nobody thought about soundproofing the shaft apparently. Kind of a white noise, not terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

North Bridge shopping mall practically adjacent to hotel, with high end stores: Nordstrom, Sephora etc.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnnybgame
Family
Michigan
Nov 28, 2011

Great location - great hotel

Upon arrival everything was as expected. Clean comfortable room, proficient staff. The cardio workout room and weight rooms were clean and well stocked. We did not order room service or dine in the hotel, so I can't comment. The lobby bar was always extremely busy, so it must have been good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Paris. Wonderful French Tapas style. Order the meatballs!!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy D.
Couples
Lake Villa, IL
Jan 3, 2012

New Year's Eve

Pleasant experience. Friendly staff. The one thing I didn't like was that the lights were not on in the room when we first entered, so it was dark and disorienting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professional Student
Couples
Minnesota, USA
Jan 3, 2012

New Years Eve

This Marriott was a comfortable place to stay with a fantastic location. There was some craziness with loud people around 2AM, but that was to be expected on a busy night. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nan buku
Friends
chicago
Jan 7, 2012

Shopping

The the location of hotel was the best the lobby and bar was fun but no free internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top