$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grandma on the go
Family
Chicago, IL
May 6, 2013

Wonderful weekend on the magnificent mile!

Beautiful room with fantastic views of the city, a very comfortable bed, courteous and helpful staff, Starbucks, great bar, pool, and a delicious brunch. All this plus a great location, within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family of Cubs Fans
Family
Billings, MT
Jun 20, 2009

Great Place for Family Fun

Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel was clean and located in a great place for shopping, food and entertainment. Easy access to the subway. Would stay again! Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda - just turned 50 and loving it!
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 5, 2010

Great weekend getaway!

We came to Chicago to celebrate my 50th birthday on the Magnificent Mile. We shopped at great stores, stocked up on Cubs gear, and ate at fantastic restaurants - Giordannos for pizza and Gibsons for steaks. Because of the great location, we were able to easily walk everywhere. The hotel staff could not have been more accommadating, from check in to check out. The room was fanatastic, the bed was really, really comfy. We ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast on Easter Sunday and the chefs behind the counter were friendly, and personally delivered my crunchy waffles, along with an awesome take home container with Easter cookies and treats!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibson's for steaks - don't forget to make a reservation - within an easy walk of the hotel. Ask for the chef's garlic butter spread on the side - it's awesome on your steak! Giordannos for pizza - a small deep dish is more than enough for two adults who love pizza!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
syracuse new york
Sep 1, 2009

Great Hotel great location

We truly enjoyed this hotel and it's location. The view from our room was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We did need to get a gift for a wedding and all we had to do is walk a few blocks for great shopping.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Norma Jean Always Together
Friends
Upper Marlboro, MD
Aug 31, 2009

Delightful and Peaceful!!!

I enjoyed the ambience and serenity of the room. The room service was efficient and food delivered hot and steaming. I received business fax which was delivered immediately upon its arrival. All hotel staff were friendly and helpful in all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 2, 2008

Great location

Great location, reasonable price, good food. Pool adequate, parking adequate (did not have to valet).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On michigan ave.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Clearwater, FL
May 12, 2009

This is where you want to stay downtown.

Location was great. Shopping was right there around us. If you are going to shop and eat out a lot this is probably the best place to stay for a reasonable price. Starbucks was right downstairs for your morning coffee. Room and bathroom could have been a little bigger but for a couple it should fit just right. Staff was super helpful. Getting a drink in the lounge area was a little timely but the nice atmosphere made it bearable. All in all it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Come out onto the michagan ave entrance and walk to your left.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orlando, FL
Aug 12, 2009

Excellent Trip

The hotel was very clean and was in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best part of the hotel was the great central location that it was in. Shopping, restaurants and the subway station are all right there.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northern MN travelers.
Family
Cotton, MN
Jun 15, 2009

Chicago! What a great place!

It's is a great town. We were impressed by how everyone was friendly, and helpful. We asked a lot of people where to go, and how to get there (both the hotel staff and locals on the street). Everyone was able and willing to answer our questions. The downtown area was safe and easy to walk to almost everything. We attended the Cubs/Twins game on Saturday so we rode the L-train to Wrigleyville. It was easy and we didn't have to worry about where to park or if we would be stuck in traffic. The Marriott was right in the middle of everything, and only 2 blocks from where to board the L-train. Our only regret is that we didn't stay another day. Allow yourselves at least an hour to get into the downtown area (traffic). Be patient, it is worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat early to avoid the waiting. The best Pizza places have about an hour or two waiting list. We ate at 5:00 pm the first night and got in right away, and 6:00 pm the second night and had to wait 1 hour. By the time we were done eating the waiting list was 2 hours. Go online to get a map of Chicago's downtown area, and what is available to you. You will find the best restaurants that range from inexpensive to high end dining to keep you in budget. It also tells you the dress code required for each. Do your homework ahead of time to save time and make sure you don't miss out on anything that is available. The only downside is that the restaurants serving liquor (which was many of the ones we wanted to go to) did not allow anyone under 21 inside after 8 pm. Our son is 20, which limited us to where we could go. We should've waited one more year to go.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
mexico
Jun 13, 2011

chicago

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashland, OR
Sep 14, 2009

Great hotel, excellent location!

The hotel is located on the Magnificant Mile. Right in the middle of shopping and great food. I was able to walk to all the major sites (Hancock tower, Millinium Park, Navy Pier, Lake Shore Drive, Art Inst of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium) from this hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff were receptive and helpful. I could hear the street noise from the room (mainly sirens and honking), but nothing more than I expect from a big city. I was very happy with my hotel stay and would highly recommend this hotel for business or leisure travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Volare italian resturant is within 2 blocks east of the hotel. The food is authentically italian. Book a reservation or go early as it was very busy but worth the wait.

Back to menu Return to top