$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shoppermom
Business
iowa
Dec 20, 2011

good location

hotel was in a great spot for shopping michigan ave., but room was small and bathroom was very small. didn't have hot water in sink...luckily, had hot water in shower. lobby was a fun place to kick back for a drink after shopping. only 1 drink as they were pretty pricey, but that seems to be common place in chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

could walk to lots of shops, then take bags back to hotel & go out again

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ktn123
Business
Chicago
Jan 3, 2012

Chicago Get A Way

While the hotel is very nice, our room was adjacent to the elevator shafts making it very noisy 24/7. It was comparable to Harley's driving by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HeyBOY
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 8, 2012

Great Hotel-BUT

A very nice hotel-but why does a Quality property like this have to resort to "nickel & diming" guests. To pay for internet in room after paying TOP DOLLAR for Hotel Room just doesn't make cents. In addition, two (2) local calls to order a pizza added another couple of bucks onto the room tab. I'm a "Marriott" fan-but this was just EXCESSIVE. Great Location, but I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great CHICAGO Deep Dish Pizza just one block away @ PIZZARIA UNO.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob122
Business
Austin TX
Apr 3, 2012

Good vibes, atmosphere, but no creature comforts

Great bar, good staff, fair food. Great pool and exercise area.. But the bed was one of the worst I have ever slept (or not slept) on. The bar was very pricey, altho staff was great. All in all, ok if you're on an expense account and can get a good massage when you get home. On the whole the advantages and disadvantages pretty much cancelled each other out, would depend on the traveler type:if young, tough, and rich, go for it. If you have a greater need for comfort and economy, then skip it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busness traveller
Business
New York
Aug 16, 2012

Just not up to the mark

Toilet was not clean Staff was not friendly Does not live up to the name or brand

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Man 23
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 25, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

The hotel was very convenient to shopping and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile, but our room was nothing special. For the money, I was expecting something bigger and fancier. Yes, our room faced Michigan Avenue, but we couldn't see much but the roof top of the hotel restaurant. I was surprised that we would have to pay $15 for internet service -- something that should be included in this day and age. Several of the satellite TV channels didn't even work. We purchased the pre-paid self-parking deal, but the staff seemed confused about how it worked. We were actually double-charged for the parking and had to ask to get it credited back to our card. A few years ago we stayed at a Hampton Inn nearby and they provided complimentary roses and a neat sign to help celebrate our anniversary. This time I had to pay $34 for a small bowl of fruit. Next time we'll stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CMArgitK
Business
Traverse City,MI
Nov 25, 2012

Nice stay

Nice location. Perfect for shopping, why does weekend rate have to be twice as much????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call ahead so you don't have to wait for any restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shayna
Business
St Charles, IL
Nov 26, 2012

Just OK

Our room was very small and the bed was not very comfortable. The hotel itself was a good location for all that we had planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chiefl
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 6, 2013

Weekend in Chicago

The hotel was in a perfect location but the room was mediocre. It was the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept in and one of the smallest bathrooms. Since we were sharing this room with our adult daughter the bathroom size was a major issue. It would have been too small for just the two of us. Also the pillows were the size of postage stamps and the lobby area was really loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scotty from new york
Business
Pomona, new york
Aug 31, 2010

not that magnificant at marriott

Vacation in Chicago. Firefighters convention in town. Marriott would not accomodate my girlfriend and I with King size bed which made for very uncomfortable nights. Great looking bar which was difficult to get to because of the convention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in immediate area. Concierge very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top