$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
175 reviews
Very pleased

This was our first stay here. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and about the same size as... See full review

  • skal07
  • Sep 2, 2014
staycation fun

This hotel was perfect. The beds were very comfortable; the workout area was great; the view... See full review

  • kosmom
  • Jul 5, 2014
From the showpiece color-changing light feature behind the lobby bar, to the Art Deco-inspired lines of the Grand Staircase, the Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile hotel welcomes guests with a splash. Get online anywhere with Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply), while starting or ending your day with American cuisine fresh from the Midwest farm at the Harvest restaurant. There's a Starbucks on-site for those who need that caffeine fix in the morning as well.  Swim across the glassy surface of the indoor pool, or take the gym back to your room with a Fitness Kit, after a long day in the boardroom or out exploring.
Key facts
  • 1,173 guestrooms
  • 25 suites
  • No pets allowed
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Harvest Restaurant
  • Rush Bar & Lounge
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Magnificent Mile neighborhood is home to a section of Michigan Avenue north of the Chicago River - with an impressive line - up of stores, from Bloomingdale's to The Disney Store - reaching south towards the business district and downtown area across the Chicago River. The neighborhood around the Marriott Downtown Hotel Chicago calls out to sporting enthusiasts, offering quick access to sailing and fishing at the nearby shores of Lake Michigan, and fitness trails at Milton Lee Olive Park to the east.
Hints and tips
If you're planning a long stay at the Marriott Downtown, note that some rooms are not equipped with a refrigerator, so you may need to request one.When getting around, most sights and amenities are accessible on foot or by the 'L' or local train network - skip the rental car and get an unlimited ride pass for a few days.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8919 -87.6254
Area served
Magnificent Mile, Chicago
Nearby airports
Chicago/OHare, (ORD), 15.00, SE, Mile; Chicago/Midway, (MDW), 12.00, NE, Mile
Area description
City - Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shoppermom
iowa
Dec 20, 2011

good location

hotel was in a great spot for shopping michigan ave., but room was small and bathroom was very small. didn't have hot water in sink...luckily, had hot water in shower. lobby was a fun place to kick back for a drink after shopping. only 1 drink as they were pretty pricey, but that seems to be common place in chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

could walk to lots of shops, then take bags back to hotel & go out again

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1CheckYourSheets
Illinois, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Chicago Marathon Family 2011

The location was very good. The room was average, except, when we turned the sheets back on our bed, closest to the door, there were long black hairs on top of, and under the pillows. I called down, asked for new sheets, it was about 8:30pm. I had to call again, after 10pm. Then, I went down to the desk. I changed the sheets, myself, at 12am. We had to be at Grant Park by 6am. Room needed a fridge, that would have cut down on the trips to get ice. Scott, who supervises the "Bee" program should be commended for his efforts in honey harvesting and natural pollination. Clara from the pool/9th floor areas should be commended for her efforts to make sure everyone had what they needed. Clara also spoke to many of us about the "Bee" program and hives, that are kept on the roof of the 9th floor, here at the Marriott Mag. Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places, just a block or two away. Weber is a bit pricey for the menu items. R & B Grill was also very pricey, with a long wait. Several smaller eateries get you in your seat, between 10-20 minutes. Their menus are varied with numerous items, the food is good, the price is fair, and the service is great!

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc, n
Mar 22, 2010

Chicago Marriott Dntwn Magnificant Mile

Housekeeping was overwhelmed. Restaurant was overwhelmed and blah. Concierge was helpful and quick to respond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If bad weather, go to one of the malls attached to the larger stores (Nordstroms or Macys)

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HeyBOY
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 8, 2012

Great Hotel-BUT

A very nice hotel-but why does a Quality property like this have to resort to "nickel & diming" guests. To pay for internet in room after paying TOP DOLLAR for Hotel Room just doesn't make cents. In addition, two (2) local calls to order a pizza added another couple of bucks onto the room tab. I'm a "Marriott" fan-but this was just EXCESSIVE. Great Location, but I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great CHICAGO Deep Dish Pizza just one block away @ PIZZARIA UNO.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scotty from new york
Pomona, new york
Aug 31, 2010

not that magnificant at marriott

Vacation in Chicago. Firefighters convention in town. Marriott would not accomodate my girlfriend and I with King size bed which made for very uncomfortable nights. Great looking bar which was difficult to get to because of the convention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in immediate area. Concierge very helpful.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phil G.
Chicago
Aug 9, 2010

Great location, Average rooms

Location was terrific to just about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you park at the hotel valet, be prepared for a long wait if it is busy. We waited 45 minutes for our car. Kiddie corner to the hotel is a public lot which costs less and you'll get in and out alot faster.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amb85
Chicago
Jul 28, 2014

Girls' weekend

The location was great, in the middle of it all. Since we were out and about all weekend, we just needed a place to crash at night and this fit the bill. Nothing fancy, but it was clean and everything was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busness traveller
Business
New York
Aug 16, 2012

Just not up to the mark

Toilet was not clean Staff was not friendly Does not live up to the name or brand

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Man 23
Chicago, IL
Sep 25, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

The hotel was very convenient to shopping and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile, but our room was nothing special. For the money, I was expecting something bigger and fancier. Yes, our room faced Michigan Avenue, but we couldn't see much but the roof top of the hotel restaurant. I was surprised that we would have to pay $15 for internet service -- something that should be included in this day and age. Several of the satellite TV channels didn't even work. We purchased the pre-paid self-parking deal, but the staff seemed confused about how it worked. We were actually double-charged for the parking and had to ask to get it credited back to our card. A few years ago we stayed at a Hampton Inn nearby and they provided complimentary roses and a neat sign to help celebrate our anniversary. This time I had to pay $34 for a small bowl of fruit. Next time we'll stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ktn123
Chicago
Jan 3, 2012

Chicago Get A Way

While the hotel is very nice, our room was adjacent to the elevator shafts making it very noisy 24/7. It was comparable to Harley's driving by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search