$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wholeo
Forest park, IL
Jan 3, 2013

New Years getaway

I love this hotel! It was elegant, fun & exciting. The staff was great, they met all my request down to the T. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mitynice restaurant @ the water tower, excellent food.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Aug 13, 2009

Hotel with a great location.

Slow bellman, need more people available during check-out period. Great location, great beds and everyone was courtious and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the hotel staff for hints, great places all around and close to the hotel.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CityofChampions
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 12, 2009

Great Experience overall

I think this was a wonderful hotel with friendly staff, and a really good fitness center and pool. I really enjoyed working out here, bring your own headphones to the gym - each treadmill has a music player attached. We even got to check out at 3 pm, so really appreciated the courtesies. The location cannot get more central than this - you step out of the hotel, and find the Michigan Avenue shopping district. The only complaint I have is the long wait time for the elevators, sometimes exceeding 3-5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 12, 2009

Excellent Trip

The hotel was very clean and was in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best part of the hotel was the great central location that it was in. Shopping, restaurants and the subway station are all right there.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Aug 11, 2009

Excelent location

The hotel location is excellent. Is in the Chicago Downtown, there is a bus stop 1/4 block from the hotel entrance on Michigan Avenue and the red train stop at two blocks in Grand Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Aug 2, 2009

Hotel Lobby is beautiful

Previously I've booked straight through Marriott as a Marriott rewards member and (I feel) have been given my preferences of a high floor, type of bed, etc. Booking through Orbitz with a flight was cheaper, but my rewards number wasn't given ahead of time and because of that my room preferences weren't available. All in all a minor flaw and just good to know that I should call ahead of time to give the hotel my rewards number. Hotel was beautiful though and within walking distance to great food, excellent shopping, and Chicago landmarks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizzeria Uno is a short walk up Ohio for authentic chicago style pizza--go for lunch if you want to avoid a long wait at night! Also, Brazaaz Brazilian Steak House is sure to fill up even the largest of appetites. Lunch at Brazaaz is half price ($25) and still offers plenty of meat options to try.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gahanna, Ohio
Jul 30, 2009

Chicago getaway review

Lovely room, excellent room service, but downtown Chicago is very noisy! Concierge service is outstanding; received maps, coupons, and expert directions. Enjoyed my stay immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SD
Jul 29, 2009

Nice room--bad service.

Very rude staff--otherwise uneventful and unremarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ljm
Business
chicago, IL
Jul 29, 2009

great place to stay

We toured the city, and it was an awesome experience and a great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GIno's East Pizza......The best pizza ever

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2009

VERY NOISY

I would not recommend this hotel. For an elite room it was VERY noisy. The room was very noisy and you could hear other guests throughout the night.The view of the lake was decent from the room. The concierge staff were not helpful and gave wrong directions to a main attraction sight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was good for walking to the Navy Pier and around the local shopping area.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, MN
Jul 18, 2009

great fun

Near an ambulance station. Lots of sirens at all times of the day and night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Had a $50 dining certificate, but most the restaurants listed were of no use because of the restrictions.

Back to menu Return to top