$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
176 reviews
Very pleased

This was our first stay here. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and about the same size as... See full review

  • skal07
  • Sep 2, 2014
staycation fun

This hotel was perfect. The beds were very comfortable; the workout area was great; the view... See full review

  • kosmom
  • Jul 5, 2014
From the showpiece color-changing light feature behind the lobby bar, to the Art Deco-inspired lines of the Grand Staircase, the Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile hotel welcomes guests with a splash. Get online anywhere with Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply), while starting or ending your day with American cuisine fresh from the Midwest farm at the Harvest restaurant. There's a Starbucks on-site for those who need that caffeine fix in the morning as well.  Swim across the glassy surface of the indoor pool, or take the gym back to your room with a Fitness Kit, after a long day in the boardroom or out exploring.
Key facts
  • 1,173 guestrooms
  • 25 suites
  • No pets allowed
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Harvest Restaurant
  • Rush Bar & Lounge
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Magnificent Mile neighborhood is home to a section of Michigan Avenue north of the Chicago River - with an impressive line - up of stores, from Bloomingdale's to The Disney Store - reaching south towards the business district and downtown area across the Chicago River. The neighborhood around the Marriott Downtown Hotel Chicago calls out to sporting enthusiasts, offering quick access to sailing and fishing at the nearby shores of Lake Michigan, and fitness trails at Milton Lee Olive Park to the east.
Hints and tips
If you're planning a long stay at the Marriott Downtown, note that some rooms are not equipped with a refrigerator, so you may need to request one.When getting around, most sights and amenities are accessible on foot or by the 'L' or local train network - skip the rental car and get an unlimited ride pass for a few days.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8919 -87.6254
Area served
Magnificent Mile, Chicago
Nearby airports
Chicago/OHare, (ORD), 15.00, SE, Mile; Chicago/Midway, (MDW), 12.00, NE, Mile
Area description
City - Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborahble
Plymouth Meeting Pa 19462
Aug 18, 2009

vacation in chicago

We did not realize that we really didn't need a rental car & we were not aware that it was $33.00 a night for parking. We could have stayed longer if we did not rent a car & have to pay for parking.other wise our trip was wonderful . Your staff was very friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I really loved having a starbucks right in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples, Fl.
Jun 1, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Sightseeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Jul 12, 2009

DLD

You can't beat the location for walking. The staff was also more than helpful. Some say the rooms were a bit small, but I did not think so. They are comparable to other hotel rooms, unless you are used to a suite. I marked a little noisy because you are downtown & hear sirens. It really did not bother me, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to Wrigley Field, the Red Line is really close to hop to the game. We took that to the game & took a cab back. The cab was $15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Group of 14
Central Illinois
Jun 21, 2011

Good price, Wonderful Stay

We were very happy with our stay. We parked our car at the hotel and took the elevated train to Wrigley field and Shedd Aquarium. The hotel was within walking distance from nice restaurants and shopping. It was an enjoyable stay for everyone in our group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Jun 22, 2009

Location, Location, Location!

We are frequent visitors to Chicago and have stayed in a few different hotels. The Marriott's excellent location to restaurants, shopping, attractions and transportation make it a terrific place to stay. It is geared towards business travelers or folks who are in and out. I didn't get the sense that there was a lot of hands on interaction with the staff and the guests. The hotel is huge (well over 1,000 rooms), but the service was mostly good. We ordered room service breakfast our first morning. It came a few minutes late, was expensive, but very good (we ordered fruit, oatmeal, coffee, toast etc.). There is a bar in the lobby with six TVs, excellent choice of beers, wines and top shelf liquors. Typical city prices apply. We rented a car at O'Hare and used the valet parking services which quite convenient are also very expensive. You do have the option to self park across the street from the hotel. In all I would stay at the Marriott again. The location was absolutely perfect and it served my needs well. If I were looking for an intimate getaway, or a family friendly get away to Chicago, this would not be my first choice of hotels--it's not meant to be. Go and enjoy Chicago! The Marriott makes it easy for you to do so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't look for good, affordable restaurants on Michigan Ave. Instead, explore Ohio, Ontario, and the other streets all within a 10 minute walk of the hotel for options. Really good, lots of familiar places (like Big Bowl, California Pizza Kitchen etc.) and some neat Chicago icons like Weber, Lowrey's etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewYorkerinChicago
Business
NY
Dec 9, 2012

Nice enough conference center

The Marriott Downtown is a great big conference center. The bed was especially comfortable, the location was great, the common space downstairs with the bar is fun. The shower was not sufficiently hot. The room lacked an electrical outlet by the bed. The phones cannot be hung up without putting the receive back on the phone itself. But, apart from those issues, it was a comfortable room with a great view in a fun big hotel located in the center of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SF, CA
Mar 27, 2010

nice hotel

nice location, but nothing to do at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE Weekend Guest
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Location, Great Price

The location of our hotel was amazing. Literally right next to the downtown Forever 21 on Michicgan Ave, and within walking distance of pretty much everything. I travel down to Chicago a lot of leisure and for the price I got it at, I thought it was great. If you are seeking something a little more luxurious, i would recommend something better, but for comfort for a leisure weekend in Chicago, this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeniorGal
Dubuque,Iowa
Oct 31, 2012

Michigan Avenue perfect!

The location was perfect for a girls' shopping trip. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
EHT, NJ
Jun 24, 2009

Great hotel for price,service, location

This hotel was very clean, located close to shopping and restaurants, and had really nice accommodations. The price through Orbitz was very good. The restaurant was a little expensive but the food and service were good. No complaints. Would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search