$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
View map of 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BartuFB
Couples
Istanbul
Aug 8, 2012

Great holiday in Chicago

Location is very good. Hotel and rooms was very clean.Concierge team was helpful, there was no limit on the services. Only computer use for internet could be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michael Jordan steak house. It was perfect for dinner.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phil G.
Friends
Chicago
Aug 9, 2010

Great location, Average rooms

Location was terrific to just about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you park at the hotel valet, be prepared for a long wait if it is busy. We waited 45 minutes for our car. Kiddie corner to the hotel is a public lot which costs less and you'll get in and out alot faster.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Troy, MI
Jul 6, 2010

"Unbeatable location for the price"

You have to stay at this hotel to understand the level of comfort in terms of, convenience to attraction, easy access to any type of food, and the view, especially if you are facing Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a free Navy Pier Trolley service right in front of the hotel; this trolley makes trips in a loop every 15 min from Grand avenue and Navy Pier. Every thing your need food, beverages and shopping you can utilize this trolley, also at navy pier you don't have to shell out $25 for parking.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Illinois
Jun 27, 2010

Not as nice as last few stays here.

Noisy sawing on floor above us at 3:00AM. Gave us the wrong room at checkin. Disappointed with this hotel this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Park Rapids AN
Jun 20, 2010

Happy Traveler

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The service was great, staff friendly and everything we needed was right there. We always enjoy staying at a Marriott when we travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chop House - excellent steaks and service.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Freddy's
Family
Denver
Jun 18, 2010

Great Walking Chicago Tour

The Hotel was a fantastic deal. We stayed 5 nights and and the location was perfect. We had great views, easy access to trains, buses, and taxi's. We also walked all over with no problem. Rooms were very clean, Staff was very friendly. The room was just right, since we spent very little time in the room. If you go to Chicago to spend lots of time in the room with room service etc., this may not be your best pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We have eaten at Giordano's, UNO and Gino's East, and would recommend Giordano's. Pizza was better and eventhough it was very crowded and took about 45 min to get a seat, experience was far more enjoyable. We were also surprised that Gino's was more expensive.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
boston ma
Jun 15, 2010

fun in chicago

great location can walk to many great bars and restaraunts also buses and subway close by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Naples, Fl.
Jun 1, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Sightseeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Texas
May 31, 2010

Great getaway

The housekeepers and doormen were so friendly! Everyone else seemed friendly enough. Just not as helpful as the housekeepers and doormen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The doormen helped with getting cabs at a set price. Otherwise, they try to take you all over town for a 2 mile trip and charge a crazy amount.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Alabama
May 31, 2010

Family Vacation

Good experience. Really nice staff and very accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Maryland
May 31, 2010

Nice hotel in a great location

Clean, comfortable and convenient. The room was not large, but had plenty of room for a king bed and was quiet and comfortable. The staff was courteous. The location is very convenient to shopping, the lake, dining, transit and most attractions in the central area of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I were traveling with only one bag each so taking the "L" from the airport was easy, not much longer than a cab ride and many times less expensive. We did take a cab during the trip and I have no complaints, but we also took the "L" (subway) a few times and probably saved over a hundred dollars during the trip. The transit system was clean and efficient and seems to be used by just about everyone.

Back to menu Return to top