$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

4 stars
540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
272 reviews
staycation fun

This hotel was perfect. The beds were very comfortable; the workout area was great; the view... See full review

  • kosmom
  • Jul 5, 2014
Great location

The hotel was the perfect choice in it was easy walking from the theater district and State Street... See full review

  • Joanne2141
  • Dec 23, 2013
From the showpiece color-changing light feature behind the lobby bar, to the Art Deco-inspired lines of the Grand Staircase, the Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile hotel welcomes guests with a splash. Get online anywhere with Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply), while starting or ending your day with American cuisine fresh from the Midwest farm at the Harvest restaurant. There's a Starbucks on-site for those who need that caffeine fix in the morning as well.  Swim across the glassy surface of the indoor pool, or take the gym back to your room with a Fitness Kit, after a long day in the boardroom or out exploring.
Key facts
  • 1,173 guestrooms
  • 25 suites
  • No pets allowed
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Harvest Restaurant
  • Rush Bar & Lounge
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Magnificent Mile neighborhood is home to a section of Michigan Avenue north of the Chicago River - with an impressive line - up of stores, from Bloomingdale's to The Disney Store - reaching south towards the business district and downtown area across the Chicago River. The neighborhood around the Marriott Downtown Hotel Chicago calls out to sporting enthusiasts, offering quick access to sailing and fishing at the nearby shores of Lake Michigan, and fitness trails at Milton Lee Olive Park to the east.
Hints and tips
If you're planning a long stay at the Marriott Downtown, note that some rooms are not equipped with a refrigerator, so you may need to request one.When getting around, most sights and amenities are accessible on foot or by the 'L' or local train network - skip the rental car and get an unlimited ride pass for a few days.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

41.8919 -87.6254
Area served
Magnificent Mile, Chicago
Nearby airports
Chicago/OHare, (ORD), 15.00, SE, Mile; Chicago/Midway, (MDW), 12.00, NE, Mile
Area description
City - Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (272)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 2, 2008

Great location

Great location, reasonable price, good food. Pool adequate, parking adequate (did not have to valet).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On michigan ave.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Christmas Adventu
Bloomington, IL
Nov 29, 2011

Great Staff Makes for Great Stay

This hotel is in a great location, right beside the Northbridge/Nordstrom Mall and the Magnificent Mile. Check in was great and we got into our room early. The room was very nice, but unfortunately, the room was right below their laundry and across the hall from the elevator. The noise varied all night as the laundry washers and dryers spun, which was worse than a constant noise. We notified the management the next day and they moved us to a much better room so our second night was restful. The great staff work continued when I found I had left my scarf in the first room on our checkout day and they found it immediately and it had been bagged, labeled and cataloged so it could be found. Their main lobby area was large and when rain kept us from touring we settled down with our books and enjoyed our last afternoon waiting for the train back home. Again, great location, great service, and when we had a problem a great effort to resolve it. Still, I think they have very few rooms with problems, but if you get one just identify your problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Norma Jean Always Together
Upper Marlboro, MD
Aug 31, 2009

Delightful and Peaceful!!!

I enjoyed the ambience and serenity of the room. The room service was efficient and food delivered hot and steaming. I received business fax which was delivered immediately upon its arrival. All hotel staff were friendly and helpful in all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
syracuse new york
Sep 1, 2009

Great Hotel great location

We truly enjoyed this hotel and it's location. The view from our room was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We did need to get a gift for a wedding and all we had to do is walk a few blocks for great shopping.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frickinlazer
Boca Raton, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Location. Location, location

At the heart of everything in downtown Chicago. Friendly, helpful staff made it a pleasant place to "come home to".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 2, 2008

Great location

Great location, reasonable price, good food. Pool adequate, parking adequate (did not have to valet).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On michigan ave.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wholeo
Forest park, IL
Jan 3, 2013

New Years getaway

I love this hotel! It was elegant, fun & exciting. The staff was great, they met all my request down to the T. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mitynice restaurant @ the water tower, excellent food.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montrose, CO
Dec 28, 2009

Chicago

Purchased tickets for the Joffrey Ballet and Bulls ahead of time! It was great...my home town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was walking distance, it was awesome.

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veru
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Sep 4, 2009

Excellent hotel in magnificent location

The location could not have been better, we were right in the heart of the magnificent mile. And magnificent it was. The hotel was great, I have no complaints. And the price was right. This is where I'll stay if I return to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canton, MI
Oct 5, 2010

Great getaway weekend

The location on the Magnificent Mile was excellent for walking as well as public transportation to and from museums, etc. It was very clean and nicely decorated. The lobby had a bar and a Starbucks that were hopping all day long. Our package also included a full breakfast which was delicious. We would definitly stay again. Also, we forgot a few things in our room, and the staff was very helpful in recovering and returning those items to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top