Majestic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 528 W. Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
79 reviews
Overall Great

The hotel is in a great location. Close to Boystown, public transportation and a short walk away... See full review

  • DANI
  • Jan 19, 2015
Fantastic Couple's vacation.

The staff was great, the hotel is nice and clean. It was a block away from the bus that takes you... See full review

  • Serge69
  • Sep 1, 2014
One of the most exquisite boutique hotels in Chicago, the property affords the tranquility and dignity of a refined English country estate amidst the bustling, energetic city life of Chicago. Built in the 1920's, the historic Majestic Hotel exudes romance, European charm and comfort. The historic boutique hotel is steps away from Lake Michigan, walking distance to Wrigley Field Stadium, one half mile from Lincoln Park Zoo and just minutes away from downtown's Magnificent Mile. Step into another time with Dickensian touches like poster beds and tapestry furnishings accenting each guestroom. All suites feature butler pantries with refrigerator, microwave and wet bar. The hotel serves an elegant complimentary continental breakfast, coffee and tea service with afternoon cookies in the hotel lobby, luxury robes and complimentary newspapers by the cozy fire place. Business services are available from the 24-hour front desk and wireless Internet access is complimentary throughout the hotel. Guests have complimentary access to Fitness Formula Club . ***This a completely non-smoking property. ***

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Majestic Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$183
4.1 / 5 125 reviews
★★
$90
3.9 / 5 128 reviews
★★
$109
3.0 / 5 111 reviews
★★★
$169
3.9 / 5 78 reviews
★★★
$152
4.0 / 5 34 reviews

Majestic Hotel Rooms

2 Queens, Suite
Suite with two queen beds and a separate sitting area. All rooms at the Majestic include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, afternoon cookies, complimentary coffee & tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Club.
Queen Room
Standard room with one queen bed and work desk. All rooms at the Majestic include: complimentary continental breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, complimentary coffee & tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Club.
Sunroom Suite, King
Suite with king bed, connected to a sunroom sitting area, kitchenette with fridge and microwave. All rooms at the Majestic include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Center.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.9 mi
  • Second City: 2.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 3.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 3.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 3.4 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.9 mi
  • Second City: 2.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 3.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 3.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 3.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.7 mi
  • Gentile Arena: 3.7 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 4.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 4.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 4.2 mi
  • Marina City: 4.2 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 4.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 4.5 mi
  • Macys: 4.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
EXECUTIVE MEETING ROOM Meeting Space Located inside the Majestic Hotel, this intimate meeting area is ideal for board meetings, training sessions and other corporate events for up to 25 attendees. The space is also perfect for bridal or baby showers. For your convenience, we provide complete room set-up and break down for your event. We also provide complimentary beverage services and a projector screen and flip chart are available upon request. Capacity of Seating Styles: Theater 20 Classroom 9 U-Shape 11 Conference 15 Reception 25

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annebumbalough
Business
phoenix
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect place

The Majestic Hotel was cozy friendly and perfect for my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
STLCardsFan
Single
Eagan, MN
May 3, 2014

Closest hotel to Wrigley Field - and a great find

I opted to try the Majestic Hotel when making a last-minute trip to see the 11-time World Champion St. Louis Cardinals play that team that calls Wrigley Field home. After some research, I found this to be the closest hotel to Wrigley -- just a few blocks away and a comfortable walk. Despite the challenges of being a hotel in a crowded, historic neighborhood, the Majestic has done a great job with things such as parking and partnerships with local fitness centers to ensure you have access to amenities standard in most chain hotels. The property, as you may expect, is an older building, but its nicely re-done to modernize. The only down-side was being able to hear people moving around on higher floors and a drab view of an alley from my room window. They have a well-equipped mini-bar with affordable prices, so you can have a Diet Coke without an exorbitant price. But I think the thing that stood out to me most about this hotel was the friendly staff. From the attendant in the morning breakfast room, helping one group find an apartment for their daughter or tourists navigate public transit, to the front desk clerks who aimed to please. I do recommend taking advantage of their loading zone in front to unload is it is about a half block walk from the parking garage, which can be a bit challenging if you have lots of luggage. Definitely will stay here again when I'm in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend the Salt and Pepper Diner near Wrigley. Great burgers and breakfast fare!

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarlosH
Couples
Indiana
Oct 21, 2011

Great hotel

A peaceful hotel just 15 minutes from downtown. Staff was excelent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Peoria, IL
Jun 17, 2010

Great Visit

Went for cubs game. Short walk to Wrigley. Good food in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
Mar 21, 2010

Great stay!

Amazing stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orangejulius
Friends
Canton, IL
May 29, 2009

A great experience

I came to Chicago for a concert at the Aragon Ballroom, and decided to stay the night after the concert. The Majestic Hotel had good reviews and was quite close, so I chose it. I had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, and even recommended locations for me to visit after the concert. I highly recommend the hotel. The parking was $22 a day, which while a bit steep, was very secure and close to the hotel. The location was beautiful and I never felt unsafe. The breakfast was great and a variety of food was offered. I missed the cookies that had in the afternoon, but my friends and I took advantage of the tea and oranges available at all hours in the lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I recommend the Majestic to anyone from out of town going to the Aragon or Riviera theatres. They are north 2 miles, but that should be easily covered in a 1/2 hour with any brisk walk. If you are tired after, just take a cab. It will only be around $10-13 from Lawrence Street.

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Javajoe
Couples
Chicago suburbs
Jan 19, 2010

Greate Hotel, location and room

Hotel is an old Historic hotel. Nice clean room and close to bars, clubs and resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Carmel,IN
Aug 8, 2009

Great hotel in a great location

This hotel was perfect for our purposes with family living near by. The service was great and the room very clean and a very good continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill Frank
Couples
Ventura, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Charming boutique hotel

We were in Chicago to visit our son who lives on the North side. The hotel's location was ideal for our visit. We could walk or use mass transit to get anywhere we needed to go. We had a small suite. It was pleasant and gave us enough space so we didn't feel cramped during our eight night stay. Because we stayed more than a week, we got a good rate on the room. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We will plan to stay at the Majestic Hotel the next time we go to Chicago to visit our son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 12, 2010

Great Location, Better Service!

Blocks away from everything Lincoln Park / Boystown / Old Town / Wrigleyville, the hotel was very quaint and quiet; the room was clean and inviting. The room had a very convenient and reasonably priced mini bar! The hotel had an excellent continental breakfast and common lounge area with many chairs, couches, and a fireplace! For those who like to check in with work on vacation (guilty), they have free AT&T Wi-Fi that worked well in my room and in the common room. Parking is a bit of a hassle, but at $22/night not bad. You park in an underground garage around the block where they cram cars in, and keep the windows open since they are constantly moving them - I didn't have any issues though. Although we ran into some food poisoning on our trip, the hotel was a wonderful relief - robes to relax in, 32" flat panel TV mounted on the wall with digital cable, and they had playing cards to buy from the mini bar... the staff even let us heat up some soup in their microwave (we didn't get a suite). I would recommend this location to anyone of any age - it will definitely be where I return the next time I visit this area of Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy $6 CTA 24hr Pass

Back to menu Return to top