$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Majestic Hotel

3 stars
528 W. Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Closest hotel to Wrigley Field - and a great find

I opted to try the Majestic Hotel when making a last-minute trip to see the 11-time World Champion... See full review

  • STLCardsFan
  • May 3, 2014
Perfect place

The Majestic Hotel was cozy friendly and perfect for my stay See full review

  • annebumbalough
  • Jan 24, 2014
One of the most exquisite boutique hotels in Chicago, the property affords the tranquility and dignity of a refined English country estate amidst the bustling, energetic city life of Chicago. Built in the 1920's, the historic Majestic Hotel exudes romance, European charm and comfort. The historic boutique hotel is steps away from Lake Michigan, walking distance to Wrigley Field Stadium, one half mile from Lincoln Park Zoo and just minutes away from downtown's Magnificent Mile. Step into another time with Dickensian touches like poster beds and tapestry furnishings accenting each guestroom. All suites feature butler pantries with refrigerator, microwave and wet bar. The hotel serves an elegant complimentary continental breakfast, coffee and tea service with afternoon cookies in the hotel lobby, luxury robes and complimentary newspapers by the cozy fire place. Business services are available from the 24-hour front desk and wireless Internet access is complimentary throughout the hotel. Guests have complimentary access to Fitness Formula Club . ***This a completely non-smoking property. ***

Hotel Map

41.9476 -87.6442
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway International Airports
Area description
Accessible to both Lincoln Park and Wrigley Ville neighborhoods; with attractions including: Lincoln Park Zoo, Wrigley Field, walking and biking path next to Lake Michigan, Magnificent Mile, Depaul University, Loyola University, local theater district and plenty of restaurants and shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Majestic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Majestic Hotel Rooms

2 Queens, Suite
Suite with two queen beds and a separate sitting area. All rooms at the Majestic include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, afternoon cookies, complimentary coffee & tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Club.
Queen Room
Standard room with one queen bed and work desk. All rooms at the Majestic include: complimentary continental breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, complimentary coffee & tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Club.
Sunroom Suite, King
Suite with king bed, connected to a sunroom sitting area, kitchenette with fridge and microwave. All rooms at the Majestic include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Center.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.9 mi
  • Second City: 2.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 3.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 3.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3.4 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.9 mi
  • Second City: 2.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 3.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 3.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 3.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.7 mi
  • Gentile Arena: 3.7 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 4.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 4.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 4.2 mi
  • Marina City: 4.2 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 4.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 4.5 mi
  • Macys: 4.5 mi
  • Opera House: 4.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
EXECUTIVE MEETING ROOM Meeting Space Located inside the Majestic Hotel, this intimate meeting area is ideal for board meetings, training sessions and other corporate events for up to 25 attendees. The space is also perfect for bridal or baby showers. For your convenience, we provide complete room set-up and break down for your event. We also provide complimentary beverage services and a projector screen and flip chart are available upon request. Capacity of Seating Styles: Theater 20 Classroom 9 U-Shape 11 Conference 15 Reception 25

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 78
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
STLCardsFan
Eagan, MN
May 3, 2014

Closest hotel to Wrigley Field - and a great find

I opted to try the Majestic Hotel when making a last-minute trip to see the 11-time World Champion St. Louis Cardinals play that team that calls Wrigley Field home. After some research, I found this to be the closest hotel to Wrigley -- just a few blocks away and a comfortable walk. Despite the challenges of being a hotel in a crowded, historic neighborhood, the Majestic has done a great job with things such as parking and partnerships with local fitness centers to ensure you have access to amenities standard in most chain hotels. The property, as you may expect, is an older building, but its nicely re-done to modernize. The only down-side was being able to hear people moving around on higher floors and a drab view of an alley from my room window. They have a well-equipped mini-bar with affordable prices, so you can have a Diet Coke without an exorbitant price. But I think the thing that stood out to me most about this hotel was the friendly staff. From the attendant in the morning breakfast room, helping one group find an apartment for their daughter or tourists navigate public transit, to the front desk clerks who aimed to please. I do recommend taking advantage of their loading zone in front to unload is it is about a half block walk from the parking garage, which can be a bit challenging if you have lots of luggage. Definitely will stay here again when I'm in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend the Salt and Pepper Diner near Wrigley. Great burgers and breakfast fare!

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Chambers
detroit, mi
Feb 10, 2013

Beautiful with a "Bed and Breakfast" feel

The hotel was beautiful with old world charm and a delightful sitting room with fireplace. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was in Chicago to visit with my first grandchild and this was a great location to get to and from my son and daughter in laws' home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Patty
Nonesuch, KY
Jul 24, 2011

Started bad, but got better

First night was a nightmare. Walked into the room and it smelled like mildew and mold. Couch was soaking wet, food in the frig. There were no other rooms so they offered to drive me to another hotel. I was so exhausted I opted to stay and switch to a clean room in the morning. After a stinky night I was moved to a CLEAN room. I felt like I was walking into heaven compared to the first miserable night. Rest of the stay was very good until checkout when they didn't want to compensate me for the first night. I finally got them to at least spare me the $40.00 I'd spent out of the mini bar. They should have at minimum comped the first night in it's entirety. They had a sour attitude about the $40.00. Would I go back? Definately. Once I got to a clean room I was very comfortable and the hotel is comfortable and convenient. Surely that was a one time problem. Still think they shouldn't have charged me for staying in that mildewy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

set your phone navigator to WALK and it will take you thru neighborhood streets instead of hot busy main thourofares. Everything is within a mile or two of the hotel.

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oshkosh, NE
Jun 1, 2010

Chicago Majestic Hotel

Within walking distance of Wrigley Field and near bustop, train station, and Lake Michigan. The staff goes above and beyond the normal by calling cabs, storing our left over pizza, taking messages, and taking care of anything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Canada
Feb 8, 2010

a great find

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Service was exceptional and personalised as it was my first visit to Chicago. As a gay traveler, it was perfectly situated near to but not on top of Boystown. I noticed many young couples and family there too, and the staff catered well to everyone. O.K. I could hear the room next door, but, all in all, I would and will return there on my next visit. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two good finds about a 10 minute walk from hotel: Buena Vista on N. Broadway for Mexican and The Pie Hole on N. Halsted for pizza beyond deep-dish (try the Caprese)

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PST
Chicago
Jul 15, 2009

Parking is an issue/hotel very nice

The hotel and staff were very nice. The one issue I had was that the loading zone was not open..2 non guest cars were parked there so therefore I could not use it. So I had 4 angry people behind me waiting for me to go find out where the garage was (block and half away) and run back out to go park..then walk through some building to get back to the hotel. It was aggravation that is not needed when traveling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

call to find out about the parking setup prior to booking. Downtown is a short cab or bus ride away..

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Eddie
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 14, 2009

Comfortable with an Accomodating Staff

The hotel is beautiful with a warm welcoming character. The hotel staff was eager to please and was very kind and professional. The night shift front desk attendant was quick to arrange for a change of rooms due to a maintenance issue. It is a great hotel in a great location. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lakeview area is beautiful with well kept old neighborhood homes. Shopping is just a few blocks away. Wrigley Field is only five blocks away.

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Jun 3, 2009

quiet, tasteful, reasonably priced

good. tasteful place, quiet rooms, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
USA
Dec 31, 2008

Pleasant Neighborhood Inn

The Majestic Hotel is 4 stars in my book. The staff from the management right down to the cleaning staff are top notch. Very courteous, well mannered and polite. They each perform their duties to the last detail and are always willing to stop and help in any way they can. They make your stay at the Majestic truly a joy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wrigley Field only a short walk from the hotel

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 6, 2008

Great Location

Hotel was in a great location; near the water and great restaurants. Staff was very accomodaitng and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The water and excellent walking paths were close to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search