$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Majestic Hotel

3 stars
528 W. Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
128 reviews
Closest hotel to Wrigley Field - and a great find

I opted to try the Majestic Hotel when making a last-minute trip to see the 11-time World Champion... See full review

  • STLCardsFan
  • May 3, 2014
Perfect place

The Majestic Hotel was cozy friendly and perfect for my stay See full review

  • annebumbalough
  • Jan 24, 2014
One of the most exquisite boutique hotels in Chicago, the property affords the tranquility and dignity of a refined English country estate amidst the bustling, energetic city life of Chicago. Built in the 1920's, the historic Majestic Hotel exudes romance, European charm and comfort. The historic boutique hotel is steps away from Lake Michigan, walking distance to Wrigley Field Stadium, one half mile from Lincoln Park Zoo and just minutes away from downtown's Magnificent Mile. Step into another time with Dickensian touches like poster beds and tapestry furnishings accenting each guestroom. All suites feature butler pantries with refrigerator, microwave and wet bar. The hotel serves an elegant complimentary continental breakfast, coffee and tea service with afternoon cookies in the hotel lobby, luxury robes and complimentary newspapers by the cozy fire place. Business services are available from the 24-hour front desk and wireless Internet access is complimentary throughout the hotel. Guests have complimentary access to Fitness Formula Club . ***This a completely non-smoking property. ***

Majestic Hotel Rooms

2 Queens, Suite
Suite with two queen beds and a separate sitting area. All rooms at the Majestic include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, afternoon cookies, complimentary coffee & tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Club.
Queen Room
Standard room with one queen bed and work desk. All rooms at the Majestic include: complimentary continental breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, complimentary coffee & tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Club.
Sunroom Suite, King
Suite with king bed, connected to a sunroom sitting area, kitchenette with fridge and microwave. All rooms at the Majestic include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Center.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Majestic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9476 -87.6442
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway International Airports
Area description
Accessible to both Lincoln Park and Wrigley Ville neighborhoods; with attractions including: Lincoln Park Zoo, Wrigley Field, walking and biking path next to Lake Michigan, Magnificent Mile, Depaul University, Loyola University, local theater district and plenty of restaurants and shopping.

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.9 mi
  • Second City: 2.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 3.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 3.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3.4 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.9 mi
  • Second City: 2.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 3.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 3.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 3.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.7 mi
  • Gentile Arena: 3.7 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 4.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 4.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 4.2 mi
  • Marina City: 4.2 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 4.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 4.5 mi
  • Macys: 4.5 mi
  • Opera House: 4.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
EXECUTIVE MEETING ROOM Meeting Space Located inside the Majestic Hotel, this intimate meeting area is ideal for board meetings, training sessions and other corporate events for up to 25 attendees. The space is also perfect for bridal or baby showers. For your convenience, we provide complete room set-up and break down for your event. We also provide complimentary beverage services and a projector screen and flip chart are available upon request. Capacity of Seating Styles: Theater 20 Classroom 9 U-Shape 11 Conference 15 Reception 25

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shaggy27
Minnesota
Nov 12, 2013

Not Up To The Star Rating

Hotel is a converted condo and only 3 floors tall. Our room was right next to the elevator which "dinged" constantly - might as well have set an alarm clock for every 10 minutes. Parking garage isn't attached to the building so you have to go around the block to access the front of the hotel after parking your car - not convenient if you are carrying bags and/or dealing with some weather. Our room was very small. Decor and updates were fine. Heater was an old school radiator which kicked in noisily in the morning. Staff was helpful and the continental breakfast was diverse and good - definitely the highlight of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 8, 2008

small room

The room at the Majestic was by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Barely enough space to turn around. For my $ I expect a bit more square footage. We asked the housekeepers about the size, and this particular room is by far the smallest in the hotel. The air conditioner was held in place by plywood, and the sun came in the room early, but the curtains couldn't be closed because of the air conditioning unit. I will say that the room was very clean, and the staff was quite good. No problems there. But they need to take room 108 out of commission or charge a cut-rate for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Wrigley Field

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 8, 2008

small room

The room at the Majestic was by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Barely enough space to turn around. For my $ I expect a bit more square footage. We asked the housekeepers about the size, and this particular room is by far the smallest in the hotel. The air conditioner was held in place by plywood, and the sun came in the room early, but the curtains couldn't be closed because of the air conditioning unit. I will say that the room was very clean, and the staff was quite good. No problems there. But they need to take room 108 out of commission or charge a cut-rate for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Wrigley Field

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cubs Fan12
VA
Jul 16, 2012

Disappointed Guest

I made reservations for the hotel in February; however, after a long flight, I had to wait three hours to get a room. I had enjoyed staying there the past times,but I can no longer support that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minden, LA
Sep 2, 2009

Quaint neighborhood hotel

Easy in & out...they did assign my room to another party causing somewhat of a problem. The noise came from late-night Cubs fans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wrigley Field...Cubs game

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Patty
Nonesuch, KY
Jul 24, 2011

Started bad, but got better

First night was a nightmare. Walked into the room and it smelled like mildew and mold. Couch was soaking wet, food in the frig. There were no other rooms so they offered to drive me to another hotel. I was so exhausted I opted to stay and switch to a clean room in the morning. After a stinky night I was moved to a CLEAN room. I felt like I was walking into heaven compared to the first miserable night. Rest of the stay was very good until checkout when they didn't want to compensate me for the first night. I finally got them to at least spare me the $40.00 I'd spent out of the mini bar. They should have at minimum comped the first night in it's entirety. They had a sour attitude about the $40.00. Would I go back? Definately. Once I got to a clean room I was very comfortable and the hotel is comfortable and convenient. Surely that was a one time problem. Still think they shouldn't have charged me for staying in that mildewy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

set your phone navigator to WALK and it will take you thru neighborhood streets instead of hot busy main thourofares. Everything is within a mile or two of the hotel.

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zyxx
Madison WI
Mar 6, 2012

Nice location

Besides from the nice location and cheap parking for Chicago($24/day), an average hotel. Room was closet size w/ only one small dresser - we had stuff strewn everywhere. Our room was next to elevator so if your a sensitive sleeper might not like the ding ding of the elevator arriving on your floor. Nice common area w/ gas burning fireplace. If you don't plan on spending much time in the room this is the place for you. However, the bed was comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Diner nearby on Halstead. Great vegan/veggie food w/ great cocktails.

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STGuy
Tampa, FL
Jun 10, 2014

Nice Time in Chicago

I had been to this hotel a few years ago and remembered it was a nice, clean and a convenient place to stay. Rate was a little high for the two nights but the location proved to be worth it in the long run versus other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minden, LA
Sep 2, 2009

Quaint neighborhood hotel

Easy in & out...they did assign my room to another party causing somewhat of a problem. The noise came from late-night Cubs fans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wrigley Field...Cubs game

Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Patty
Nonesuch, KY
Jul 24, 2011

Started bad, but got better

First night was a nightmare. Walked into the room and it smelled like mildew and mold. Couch was soaking wet, food in the frig. There were no other rooms so they offered to drive me to another hotel. I was so exhausted I opted to stay and switch to a clean room in the morning. After a stinky night I was moved to a CLEAN room. I felt like I was walking into heaven compared to the first miserable night. Rest of the stay was very good until checkout when they didn't want to compensate me for the first night. I finally got them to at least spare me the $40.00 I'd spent out of the mini bar. They should have at minimum comped the first night in it's entirety. They had a sour attitude about the $40.00. Would I go back? Definately. Once I got to a clean room I was very comfortable and the hotel is comfortable and convenient. Surely that was a one time problem. Still think they shouldn't have charged me for staying in that mildewy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

set your phone navigator to WALK and it will take you thru neighborhood streets instead of hot busy main thourofares. Everything is within a mile or two of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top