$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Majestic Hotel

3 stars
528 W. Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
82 reviews
Character and Charm...Wonderful Experience!

Great experience. Wonderful staff, comfortable room and a hotel with character and charm in a area... See full review

  • New England Traveler 67
  • Sep 15, 2014
Fantastic Couple's vacation.

The staff was great, the hotel is nice and clean. It was a block away from the bus that takes you... See full review

  • Serge69
  • Sep 1, 2014
One of the most exquisite boutique hotels in Chicago, the property affords the tranquility and dignity of a refined English country estate amidst the bustling, energetic city life of Chicago. Built in the 1920's, the historic Majestic Hotel exudes romance, European charm and comfort. The historic boutique hotel is steps away from Lake Michigan, walking distance to Wrigley Field Stadium, one half mile from Lincoln Park Zoo and just minutes away from downtown's Magnificent Mile. Step into another time with Dickensian touches like poster beds and tapestry furnishings accenting each guestroom. All suites feature butler pantries with refrigerator, microwave and wet bar. The hotel serves an elegant complimentary continental breakfast, coffee and tea service with afternoon cookies in the hotel lobby, luxury robes and complimentary newspapers by the cozy fire place. Business services are available from the 24-hour front desk and wireless Internet access is complimentary throughout the hotel. Guests have complimentary access to Fitness Formula Club . ***This a completely non-smoking property. ***

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Majestic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Majestic Hotel Rooms

2 Queens, Suite
Suite with two queen beds and a separate sitting area. All rooms at the Majestic include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, afternoon cookies, complimentary coffee & tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Club.
Queen Room
Standard room with one queen bed and work desk. All rooms at the Majestic include: complimentary continental breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, complimentary coffee & tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Club.
Sunroom Suite, King
Suite with king bed, connected to a sunroom sitting area, kitchenette with fridge and microwave. All rooms at the Majestic include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, iron & ironing boards and access to Fitness Formula Center.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.9 mi
  • Second City: 2.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 3.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 3.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 3.4 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.9 mi
  • Second City: 2.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 3.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 3.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 3.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 3.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.7 mi
  • Gentile Arena: 3.7 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 4.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 4.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 4.2 mi
  • Marina City: 4.2 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 4.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • City Hall: 4.5 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 4.5 mi
  • Macys: 4.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
EXECUTIVE MEETING ROOM Meeting Space Located inside the Majestic Hotel, this intimate meeting area is ideal for board meetings, training sessions and other corporate events for up to 25 attendees. The space is also perfect for bridal or baby showers. For your convenience, we provide complete room set-up and break down for your event. We also provide complimentary beverage services and a projector screen and flip chart are available upon request. Capacity of Seating Styles: Theater 20 Classroom 9 U-Shape 11 Conference 15 Reception 25

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zyxx
Business
Madison WI
Mar 6, 2012

Nice location

Besides from the nice location and cheap parking for Chicago($24/day), an average hotel. Room was closet size w/ only one small dresser - we had stuff strewn everywhere. Our room was next to elevator so if your a sensitive sleeper might not like the ding ding of the elevator arriving on your floor. Nice common area w/ gas burning fireplace. If you don't plan on spending much time in the room this is the place for you. However, the bed was comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Diner nearby on Halstead. Great vegan/veggie food w/ great cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrellBell
Business
Eden Prairie, MN, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Cute and Cozy

The hotel is very cute place. The staff was beyond helpful with any questions we had. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood which was greatly needed after long days in the city. Close to transportation, food and shopping. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
magifus
Business
Urbana, IL, USA
Oct 22, 2011

overall...excellent

The room was small but very comfortable. The bed and shower were exceptional. The lobby was cozy with a fire going and comfy chairs and couches. The staff was very nice and helpful. The prices for the food and drinks in the mini bar of the room were actually reasonable which is a first for me. The location was great, on a quiet side street with little traffic but near inner Lake Shore Dr. and Addison so it is easy to find. My only complaints were the elevator broke several times during our visit, once with my boyfriend in it and there was a bright yellow stain on one of the towels. But overall really nice and a great deal and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarlosH
Business
Indiana
Oct 21, 2011

Great hotel

A peaceful hotel just 15 minutes from downtown. Staff was excelent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meterman
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Clean and Charming

Stayed at hotel on business. Room was clean and comfortable. Older building with charm. Breakfast was OK. The only disappointment was that parking was an extra $22 per day and not too convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Patty
Business
Nonesuch, KY
Jul 24, 2011

Started bad, but got better

First night was a nightmare. Walked into the room and it smelled like mildew and mold. Couch was soaking wet, food in the frig. There were no other rooms so they offered to drive me to another hotel. I was so exhausted I opted to stay and switch to a clean room in the morning. After a stinky night I was moved to a CLEAN room. I felt like I was walking into heaven compared to the first miserable night. Rest of the stay was very good until checkout when they didn't want to compensate me for the first night. I finally got them to at least spare me the $40.00 I'd spent out of the mini bar. They should have at minimum comped the first night in it's entirety. They had a sour attitude about the $40.00. Would I go back? Definately. Once I got to a clean room I was very comfortable and the hotel is comfortable and convenient. Surely that was a one time problem. Still think they shouldn't have charged me for staying in that mildewy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

set your phone navigator to WALK and it will take you thru neighborhood streets instead of hot busy main thourofares. Everything is within a mile or two of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
May 14, 2011

Location, Location, Location

We chose this hotel specifically for its proximity to Wrigley Field. It is walking distance to the ballpark and half a block from the busline to Union Station. The bed was extremely comfortable, the HDTV/Internet service was great, and the room was very well maintained and clean, but it was absolutely the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. Most new homes have walk-in closets bigger than this entire room was. Apparently, "boutique" is code for tiny rooms, in hotel-speak. Don't count on the "continental breakfast" either. 7-11am? There was nothing at all left by 10:30, when we checked out, and I did not see any other guests, while we were there, so I don't think there was a huge hungry crowd. The only other negative was poor water pressure in the shower. Be sparing with the shampoo or you will never get it rinsed out! The most important thing, the location, is great! The hotel staff was very knowledgeable of the area and helpful with suggestions for places to eat and directions to attractions. All in all a good stay, but rather expensive for such a small room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago has wonderful, convenient mass transit. Use it! The bus is only a half block from the hotel and will take you almost anywhere in the city. MUCH cheaper than a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
Dec 13, 2010

Great Location

We visited our daughter in the Wrigleyville area and this was a perfect location. Walking distance to Wrigley field and many restaurants. The hotel is quaint and comfortable. They had coffee and muffins in the AM which was great. The staff was professional and helpful. We had a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The King
Business
England
Nov 4, 2010

An excellent choice

We've used this hotel before as its location suits us well and there are nearby buses to downtown Chicago. The hotel is charmingly traditional, the rooms are substantial, clean and well-serviced, there's a complimentary breakfast buffet in the lounge and free tea and biscuits in the afternoon. The hotel does not offer amenities such as pool or gym and there are no dining facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CubsfaninVA
Business
Petersburg, VA
Aug 21, 2010

Chicago 2010

I enjoyed the proximity to Wrigley Field.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top