$101 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Majestic Hotel

3 stars
View map of 528 W. Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quirky Brooklynite
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 14, 2014

Full of Character and Charm

My husband and I stayed at the Majestic Hotel recently, and it was a lovely experience. The hotel is located on a quiet street, and our room was absolutely beautiful with everything we needed. Though we did not indulge in the mini-bar, everything provided was reasonably priced ($1 for snacks, $15 for a bottle of wine, etc), which I think is a good sign. There were also cookies in the lobby, along with coffee and tea (a nice touch :) My husband had forgotten his phone charger and the staff was nice enough to let us borrow one. Between the comfortable stay, the charm and historic feel of the hotel, and location, we would definitely be happy to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STGuy
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 10, 2014

Nice Time in Chicago

I had been to this hotel a few years ago and remembered it was a nice, clean and a convenient place to stay. Rate was a little high for the two nights but the location proved to be worth it in the long run versus other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
STLCardsFan
Business
Eagan, MN
May 3, 2014

Closest hotel to Wrigley Field - and a great find

I opted to try the Majestic Hotel when making a last-minute trip to see the 11-time World Champion St. Louis Cardinals play that team that calls Wrigley Field home. After some research, I found this to be the closest hotel to Wrigley -- just a few blocks away and a comfortable walk. Despite the challenges of being a hotel in a crowded, historic neighborhood, the Majestic has done a great job with things such as parking and partnerships with local fitness centers to ensure you have access to amenities standard in most chain hotels. The property, as you may expect, is an older building, but its nicely re-done to modernize. The only down-side was being able to hear people moving around on higher floors and a drab view of an alley from my room window. They have a well-equipped mini-bar with affordable prices, so you can have a Diet Coke without an exorbitant price. But I think the thing that stood out to me most about this hotel was the friendly staff. From the attendant in the morning breakfast room, helping one group find an apartment for their daughter or tourists navigate public transit, to the front desk clerks who aimed to please. I do recommend taking advantage of their loading zone in front to unload is it is about a half block walk from the parking garage, which can be a bit challenging if you have lots of luggage. Definitely will stay here again when I'm in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend the Salt and Pepper Diner near Wrigley. Great burgers and breakfast fare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
francboos
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 29, 2014

Quiet haven in metropolis

Everything went smoothly from the time we arrived. We got there before check in and asked them to hold our luggage about which they were totally accommodating. The rooms are pretty small but quiet and comfortable. The biggest plus about this place is the location. Most hotels in Chicago are in the loop and close to Michigan Ave. If you want to spend time on the North Side in a quiet neighborhood this is ideal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lot to do in Lakeview where this hotel is located. You don't have to be in the loop or on Michigan Ave to enjoy yourself. There is an abundance of restaurants, bars, coffeehouses, retail and even theater in this area. Go north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annebumbalough
Business
phoenix
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect place

The Majestic Hotel was cozy friendly and perfect for my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shaggy27
Business
Minnesota
Nov 12, 2013

Not Up To The Star Rating

Hotel is a converted condo and only 3 floors tall. Our room was right next to the elevator which "dinged" constantly - might as well have set an alarm clock for every 10 minutes. Parking garage isn't attached to the building so you have to go around the block to access the front of the hotel after parking your car - not convenient if you are carrying bags and/or dealing with some weather. Our room was very small. Decor and updates were fine. Heater was an old school radiator which kicked in noisily in the morning. Staff was helpful and the continental breakfast was diverse and good - definitely the highlight of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Treesh
Business
Vancouver, WA
Aug 24, 2013

A very special stay

The hotel was superb; the staff was knowledgeable and helpful and the room was old charm mixed with modern amenities such as the flat screen TV, curved shower rod, etc. I had always wanted to visit Wrigley Field to see the Cubs; the short walk from the Majestic was so convenient. We especially enjoyed the 24 hour coffee, the afternoon cookies and the ambiance of the "great room". The breakfast was varied, tasty and a wonderful start to the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Chambers
Business
detroit, mi
Feb 10, 2013

Beautiful with a "Bed and Breakfast" feel

The hotel was beautiful with old world charm and a delightful sitting room with fireplace. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was in Chicago to visit with my first grandchild and this was a great location to get to and from my son and daughter in laws' home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cubs Fan12
Business
VA
Jul 16, 2012

Disappointed Guest

I made reservations for the hotel in February; however, after a long flight, I had to wait three hours to get a room. I had enjoyed staying there the past times,but I can no longer support that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clintprescot
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
May 8, 2012

Great for a Cubs Game

As long as you are ok with a smaller than average room, this is a great place to stay. The staff is great, the building is classic and it's a skip away from Wrigley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top