$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of One South Franklin, One South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
syzw
Champaign-Urbana
Nov 5, 2012

comfort place for short stay

I only stay there for a night but I found there is a great location with comfortable room. I'll definitely book the same place next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ckb127
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Sep 12, 2012

Great downtown location.

Can't really beat the location. Just a block walk to the Loop (Washington & Wells station). That was a prime consideration for us. One of our party had never been to Chicago, so we appreciated the walkable distance to Grant and Millenium Parks, Art Institute, Michigan Ave., and trains. We were there primarily for a concert at Wrigley Field, and the red line station was just a few blocks walk. Positives include the aforementioned location, a clean room, helpful- enough staff (many of whom were very friendly and helpful when we needed directions or help getting around), very comfortable bed, nice, big, glass-walled shower, nice towels, and a really nice free breakfast. Negatives are, well, it's definitely not a luxury hotel. The king-bed room is smallish. The only toiletries are a bar of soap and a tiny bottle of shampoo (no brand I recognize). No lotion or fancy extras. Breakfast is generous and has a good selection: eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy on weekends, oatmeal, cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, make-your-own waffles, juice, coffee, bagels, muffins, etc. But pay attention to the time. They serve until 9 on weekdays, and by 9:00 they've pretty much cleared it away--fast! It's very much a motel-like, serve-yourself arrangement with styrofoam plates and cups and plastic utensils. Not fancy, but a nice breakfast. That's a money-saver for those of us who would otherwise be eating out every morning. Speaking of eating out, bear in mind this is the downtown business district, not a good restaurant area. There are places to eat close by, but the best restaurants, especially for dinner are going to be outside of this area. Many of the casual restaurants close by don't stay open in the evening. But we had no problem walking several blocks or taking a train to other areas for eating out. I'd stay here again for the location and the breakfast, but kept having the feeling I was paying more luxury hotel prices and not getting much luxury. As long as you go well aware this is a La Quinta and not a fancy hotel, despite Chicago prices, you'll likely be satisfied with what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Walgreens a block away sells train passes. That can be a convenient way to bypass the bustle of trying to sort out options at the station.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elk1282
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2012

overall great stay

I stayed here with my family (3 adults) for 3 nights/4 days over August 2012. This hotel was perfect for us - great size room (small, but clean and not too compact), perfect location and helpful staff. the price was fair, especially for the location and value of the hotel. We walked everywhere and felt safe in the neighborhood at night. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever in the Chicago area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
designingdiane
Business
upstate NY
Aug 13, 2012

Staff and Breakfast are outstanding!

The staff were more than professional; they were friendly and inviting. Thanks! The breakfast was outstanding and the ladies charged with keeping up the supplies and cleanliness of the area did a superb job. There was a Keurig and refrig in the room was definitely a plus. But I had just changed hotels from another at a comparable price and by comparison the decor and bed was lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Dean aka Mom
Business
Omaha, NE
Aug 5, 2012

good value, helpful staff, great location

Just stayed one night, but found staff very helpful and the location--walking distance to the Riverwalk, theatres and the L was great. Room had good workdesk, free internet, etc. Mine had no view and no place to hang clothing, but not a problem for a short stay. Free Breakfast was open for long hours, had fine variety and was served in spacious and pleasant dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk straight north about 3 blocks to the Chicago Riverwalk--turn right (east) on Wacker Drive's top level or go down stairs closer to river level. Tour boats dock there, flotillas of kayaks and canoes pass by and many outdoor restaurants are available.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel Warrior99
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2012

A so-so stay

The hotel service was nice and helpful, the room was just not in a good location (across from the elevators). The room was air conditioned, but still a bit too humid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There is a continental breakfast on the second floor, with it there is also waffle makers, sausage patties and biscuits. For a budget, it's not a bad place to stay. If you're with your spouse, I'd spring for something a little better next time.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Q
Business
New Jersey
Jun 22, 2012

Great deal

Great deal for traveling business man. I would highly recommend to anyone. Great location to see Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
from mke
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 16, 2012

Smoking Room

Booked a non-smoking room, got a smoking room. Boo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sato2010
Business
Melbourne, Florida
May 7, 2012

Trip w/ my girlfriend

The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. I loved the breakfast, very delicious. Most importantly, the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guto
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Apr 25, 2012

Good quality for a good price

The hotel personnel is very gentle. The room and the bathroom were clean and comfortable enough for the price compared to other hotels nearby. One of the best things is that you can walk to several nice spots from hotel, that is also close to subway. The only thing that should be improved is the breakfast room: it is too small to fit everyone when hotel is full. People were struggling to find a place even though food was good enough compared to other hotels in USA (that usually has bad breakfast offer compared to other countries in the world).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
queentrumpet
Business
Sacramento, CA
Mar 23, 2012

Perfect Central Location

I loved my two night stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and professional, and went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. The continental breakfast was above and beyond anything I could have hoped for. With a great view of downtown and an amazing selection of breakfast options from waffles to cereal, fresh fruit and an array of beverages I was amazed by the spread. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was beautiful. I could not have imagined a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top